Thread: Airlie Beach then south to Hervey Bay

Airlie Beach then south to Hervey Bay

Hi Guys.

I'm doing a trip from around 4th july to 4th August Starting in Airlie Beach for 10 days with old man and my son. After the 10 days, they will fly back to Victoria and the cold, and I will be driving sloooooooooowly back to Hervey bay.

Reason for the Slooooow drive back will be that I will have my gear in my landy, and will surely want to stop for a fish back on the way down south.

So a couple of questions.

Budget accomodation in Airlie beach or nearby?

Decent land based fishing in Airlie? Can't seem to find any boat hire mobs... may do a charter so if anyone has any ideas on that can please comment!?

Best accesible spots in my car, it's raised a bit, but I won't have a boat... giving the dates, basically second half of July.... what fish, where, etc..... anything i shouldn't miss on the drive back to Hervey?

After 19 years of working overseas, i've bit the big one and decided to return to aus, so will start with a bit of fishing.... no plans for work yet, so will have some time on my hands.

Thanks all!

Mick.

Re: Airlie Beach then south to Hervey Bay

nobody fishes north of hervey bay to Airlie then>??????

Hey mate, you can get a reasonably priced cabin at Flame trees caravan park in Airlie Beach. For the best days offshore action, look up Sea Fever Sport fishing Whitsundays. For easy land based fishing, there's a pontoon down at Shute Harbour that sees a few good pelagic landed. I saw a 30 kg gt caught there one day.
    On the trip back to Hervey Bay, stop in at 1770 and do a day out on a charter boat there, always well worth it.
    Good luck and enjoy your adventure.
    fruit salad is the new Bacon

Thanks a lot mate.
    i'll come back and update you on how I go.
    the pontoon sounds good to kill a bit of time with the son, take the esky and chillax!!
    will also do 1770 as last time I was there there were no boats going out because of weather.

anyone else?

G'day mate,

Did a trip to Airlie a few years ago with the missus at about this time of year.

We hired a tinnie from up at Dingo Beach, I think it was called 'Dingo Beach Water Sports'. We looked around and there wasn't a lot on offer in the way of small boat hire. The price was alright from memory and there is a few islands not far from shore.

A good land based option right at Airlie is any of the rock walls you can publicly access. I pulled a nice barra from the wall near the sailing club.

I thought it was a great spot and now that i'm living in QLD plan on towing the boat there for a holiday sometime to explore it a bit further.

All the best with your trip.