Thread: Importers & Customs brokers

Importers & Customs brokers

Best Importer/Customs broker for bringing used boats in from US to Brisbane???

Re: Importers & Customs brokers

No need for one, do your own but you better hurry our $ is on a free fall.

NOT Brisbane Custom Brokers!!!

I agree...do it yourself.

Thanks boys but where to start? I also live overseas (not USA) which scares me a bit because Id prefer to meet and chat to those involved, at least at the Brissie end and considering its my first time. I guess its all part of the calculated risk spoken of in a previous thread on the subject. Ive actually already bought the boat and its sitting in the Caribbean waiting for me to pull finger and get it home. One quote I have got is only for the handling once the ship landed in Brisbane and it was for AUD$8000 ($2950 was GST) Is that normal???

Welcome back Muddy!
    fruit salad is the new Bacon

"One quote I have got is only for the handling once the ship landed in Brisbane and it was for AUD$8000 ($2950 was GST) Is that normal???"

that does not make sense , if the quote is for $8000 then the gst on that would be $800

Maybe he means gst charge for the boat...

Hey pal give Daryl @ DAZMAC a call. He will run through the whole process with and give you costings

Just got back from Canada n had the opportunity to have as quizz at some of their Alloy Boats from the distance of a Bus driving past lol and it made my eyes open a tad!!!! some quallity workmanship fer sure n had i the time i would have been sussing out prices..

Yeah GST on the boat fandtm666. I was just wondering if $5000ish (without GST) was in the ball park just for the handling at the Brisbane end. It seem excessive. Thanks lawrence83 I will do mate

All government costs are price ( cost to you) related, shipping cost is size related.
    Here is a quick breakdown but not knowing all the facts it will only be a rough guide.

Shipping from USA to AU will very much depend on boat size, if boat is small and narrow can go in a container (( what ever you do don't let anyone talk you in to putting a wide boat in a container on it's size, to much risk to crack the hull) container is the cheapest way to ship it . I will assume she is to wide to go in a container. Work out the CBM by multiplying the length of the combo ( from ther tip or the outboard/stern drive to the tip of the trailer coupling) by the width ( the widest part of the combo ) by the height ( the highest part of the combo) you should get about 50-60 CMB for a 21 footer, That will cost about $150 US per CBM , depending where you ship from and the route to AU, via Japan is the cheapest but it will take longer next cheapest is via Africa, most exxy via Panama canal and the shortest quickest time. You have to pay shipping to USA port as well, price depends how far from port and can range from about $200-1500 ( $1500 will have to be from the great lakes).
    When she gets to Brisbane the government will put their hand out for the TAX, 10% GST on all costs up to now that includes purchase price, inland shipping and sea shipping , shrink-wrap, insurance etc.... If the boat made in USA and you do your homework right no import duty, if made elsewhere add 5% import duty. The other cost is port charges , customs entry, quarantine, customs broker ( unless you do it to save $200-300) and tow truck to tow the combo to your workshop to comply the trailer. All that should be around the $2000-3000 depending on how dirty the combo is .
    The last thing you have to do is comply and rego the trailer, cost will depend on the trailer fittings and measurements, you will have to apply to Canberra for an import approval for the trailer only ( not the boat) and pay the $50 fee.

Its a costly exercise but not as hard as it looks on the surface and it has it's risks, like anything else in life.

If you want to know more feel free to pm or email: wrxhoon@yahoo.com