Mid week mud Snapper Mission

Thread: Mid week mud Snapper Mission

Ausfish Platinum Member craigie's Avatar

Mid week mud Snapper Mission

Been hearing about Snapper being caught all over Moreton Bay, driving me nuts not being to get amongst some red fever for myself.

With a good forecast for mid week, the plan is hatched for a Monday arvo start and stay as long as the food and bait lasts.

Not much action overnight, just a Bream and Tailor going on ice. The first light morning high tide and things come to life ! 3 or 4 solid runs with rod buckling in half and line screaming from a firm drag, all fish were dropped not long after pulling the rod from the holder...........WTF!!! I thought we'll that is the end of it, blew the hot bite with no Snapper in the esky !! weather is lovely so I persist and boat the next 2 good bites, a couple of 37 cm pinkies. All goes quiet for hours with just bait stealing tiddlers. I move a couple of times with no luck. Just when I start cleaning up and throw my old dried out bait over and tidying up the boat, the rod loads up and a solid fish is bucking away on the line. Crank him in, for a 45 cm Snap into the esky. Well blow me down are they coming on the bite after lunch ? I throw the second rod back out and not long after hooks up to a fish screaming line from the little baitcaster . This one tips 50cm and thank you lord that's my bag !!! Stoked !!
    Great glass out conditions for the run back to Manly Boat harbour, awesome way to finish a fun session on the Snapper .
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	56.3 KB 
ID:	92742   Click image for larger version. 

Size:	85.4 KB 
ID:	92743   Click image for larger version. 

Size:	71.8 KB 
ID:	92744   Click image for larger version. 

Size:	71.4 KB 
ID:	92745   Click image for larger version. 

Views:	4 
Size:	42.6 KB 
ID:	92746  

Ausfish Platinum Member - R.I.P. October 2015 dayoo's Avatar

Re: Mid week mud Snapper Mission

Nice one Craigie. You generally get better quality snapps with plastics around Mud.

Bazza

Might have to get an order in for some of your hot jig heads Barry !
    Keen to give the plastics a good go this season in the bay. Got a stack of the gun plastics ready to "Jig Up" ( along the lines of Wild Turkey "Bird Up" ).
    Will PM you for suggested weights and sizes and availability .

top stuff Craigie with some nice snaps there! what bait did the damage?
    Tangles KFC

Nice work Craigie

Yeah Tangles, caught a couple on fresh mullet fillet and a couple on fresh whole squid.
    3/0 hooks with little or no lead.

Nice work mate, hey mark told me he behaved at Les's party..Doesn't sound like the boy we once knew...lol

Good one Craigie. I was in a similar situation, not getting out to Mud for a couple of years. But now with a new motor and new trailer I am back on the water again. I headed out on Tuesday arvo and bagged 3 similar sized snaps so was pretty happy. Plan to get regular again so may see you out there.

Ausfish Platinum Member netmaker's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Cheech View Post
    Plan to get regular again
    try the all bran 2 week challenge
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Ausfish Platinum Member Aquarius's Avatar

Nice bag of snaps you got Craigie.
    Can't wait to get back out there again soon to nail a few more myself.
    Hope the weather calms down coming into winter.
    Cheers Brent ><>