Thread: 70cm Snapper, yes, yes, yes, noooo!!!

Re: 70cm Snapper, yes, yes, yes, noooo!!!

Hahaha yes, skirts take up a lot of time and money

Don't pass off on the old Morwong. I know you guys down Brissy way get much more glamorous species, but for the average fisher like me in CQ the Morwong or Painted Sweetlip (Plectorhinchus picus) is a much prized and highly sought after species. Honestly bleed them, skin and cook same day, very very good.

Quote Originally Posted by aus2045 View Post
    Don't pass off on the old Morwong. I know you guys down Brissy way get much more glamorous species, but for the average fisher like me in CQ the Morwong or Painted Sweetlip (Plectorhinchus picus) is a much prized and highly sought after species. Honestly bleed them, skin and cook same day, very very good.
    Seriously, are you a real person or not???

Very real and very serious. And I stand by my remarks. Just try it. You will be very surprised.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1000893.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	22.7 KB 
ID:	92832Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1000890.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	15.6 KB 
ID:	92831A couple of pics of what the others were catching. Col(never done this type of fishing) with a nice trio of pearlies to 55cm and dad with a 62cm. I think it was about this point when tony said i think i'll change to a rigs.

Quote Originally Posted by aus2045 View Post
    Very real and very serious. And I stand by my remarks. Just try it. You will be very surprised.
    mate ive bleed them and eaten them on the same day and they still taste crap, me and my dad gave a blubber lips to a guy that would eat almost anything and he absolutely hated it.

Craig Tompkinson (Tonk) the skipper out of Noosa rates the slateys. I don't get any complaints from customers. Bled and iced and looked after they are fine. Most fish are. Good firm flesh suitable for sweet and sour or curries too.

Gav,

heard you guys talking to Harmony. How they been going? Dunno if you know Ken with Yaluk the big KC that is similar but with leg drives, he was up there with Catapult the 3100NC. They did pretty well. Good mixed bag and a lot of banana fish in their catch. I am getting quite a few fusies this year as well for some reason.

Quote Originally Posted by hookinin View Post
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1000893.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	22.7 KB 
ID:	92832Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1000890.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	15.6 KB 
ID:	92831A couple of pics of what the others were catching. Col(never done this type of fishing) with a nice trio of pearlies to 55cm and dad with a 62cm. I think it was about this point when tony said i think i'll change to a rigs.
    I had to change rigs Gav, I just got sick of you blokes bringing up multiple fish on each drop. Hows Col's form- never done it before & he cleaned up!!

Hey Rob,
    We just shot out for a arvo session and back at 8pm nice little mixed bag. It's been six month since i've had a chance to get outside so just good to get back on the water. I let them down on the snapper, we only brought home 8 snapper i was telling them no put back we'll get plenty more. yeah i tried raising Kev( Harmony) when we first got out and again latter when we could se him but he didn't here me.

Tony,
    I think Col is still smiling and will be for days. I would have loved to have got him onto a ambo or big snapper that would have got him going.

arent there different species in these morwong / slatey bream / painted sweetlip? Maybe some taste like crap and some dont. Why do they have so many names, is it all the same fish??
    i know them as slateys, but i see 'morwong' at morgans seafood and its a different fish to the slateys we get. I have bled skinned filleted crumbed the smaller slateys and there is nothing wrong with them. Dont know about the morwong though but they stink when you pull them in the boat!
    Dad reckons fishing is 10% brains and 95% muscle, the rest is just good luck.

Hey Rob,
    We just shot out for a arvo session and back at 8pm nice little mixed bag. It's been six month since i've had a chance to get outside so just good to get back on the water. I let them down on the snapper, we only brought home 8 snapper i was telling them no put back we'll get plenty more. yeah i tried raising Kev( Harmony) when we first got out and again latter when we could se him but he didn't here me.

Tony,
    I think Col is still smiling and will be for days. I would have loved to have got him onto a ambo or big snapper that would have got him going.
    "Just chuck the snapper back boys, we"ll get onto the big ones further out"- famous last words!

Now that would ave been funny, Col winding up a pearlie nice & gentle, & then getting smashed by an AJ, he wouldn't know what just hit him.

I must admit I enjoyed coming back into Mooloolaba of a night time, lights everywhere, lit up channel markers, no surf to contend with & some depth under you. Unlike Noosa where they dont even have a damn light on the end of the rock wall!!

Those words are going to be repeated to me a few more times i would imagine

They are going to ring in your ears like a busted record mate!!