Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: 6.2 Fisher build

Re: 6.2 Fisher build

Quote Originally Posted by johncar View Post
    Nice Rig indeed, I think I saw it being built one one very similar at Caboolture. I wanted it!!
    I think both those engine choices will be good and it may boil down to the best deal and who you feel comfortable with to fit them up and service them. Hence in my case to go with Suzuki and Graham of 'Marine Confidence' to service them. Running a DF90 on the 5.0 m CC and DF250 on the 660 maxi.
    My DF90 by the way consumes about 10 L/H at 4000rpm at 19kts. about 12-13 L/H at 4500rpm at 22-23kts. I estimate 5.0 metre boat's weight in the water to be about 1000kg with me and a full tank of fuel. The boat being Origin is a similar design to the Fisher.
    Thanks again jhoncar for them specs, has anyone got any fuel figures on the yamaha 100.

steve

[QUOTE=dunny;1478501]Hi Steve
    I reckon you cant go past twins for reliability. Some say that you need separate fuel and filters and also need to be able to plane on one motor. When you are in the proverbiale and coming home doing 15knots I dont care if Im not planing I am safer than not coming home at all.
    We have twin 115s on our boat (7.4m Riptide) when we return to the ramp if my GPS tells me we have done 300ks for a trip thats 300 liters used. If we had bigger motors this would be less. I would suggest that 90s would be fine but on those occasions when you are loaded (bait ice fuel fish gear) I would be wishing I had gone bigger. I will be looking to upgrade in the next 12 months and will be going to a minimum of twin 150s. Good luck with it and all the best. Cheers Dunny[/QUOTE

Yes dunny i agree i am not concerned about having two seperate fuel tanks as every year i pull my fuel tank out and inspect for water.
    I also fill up my fuel at one of the busy servos and i use a water seperation funnell that u can buy at bcf. I have put a pic up for those that are interested.

steve

mate how do they work??

Quote Originally Posted by wayno60 View Post
    mate how do they work??
    Wayno thay have a stainless steel fillter that prevents water and debris from passing through, after each use i like to pull the fillter out and store it in a plastic sealed container.I have been useing one for about a year now and so far i have had no problems wth it,thay are called mr funnel

steve

cheers.......

Been using a fine mesh diesel funnel ex tractors for all my bulk diesel into the Patrol and ULP for the boat for years. Its amazing the crap and water that comes out of servo ULP tanks.

What could go wrong.......................

How about a picture of the water & crap after a fill Chimo?
    Do you take it back inside and ask them what's going on?

Name & shame the servos who sell water & crap for fuel.

Hi there I'm looking to do something similar to an 5.5m cuddy cab sports fish boat looking to put 2 90hp on the back with a pod anyone got any info or input please feel free to contact me .

Update, well with Ralph down at Compass Boats hard at it, hetold me it would be some time before he could start on it, so I was nearly going to give up on the ideas until I got talking to Jason Norup at OffshoreMarine Master. A quick tour of his boats and aluminium trailers, I could see that the attention to detail and strong welds, that him and his team put together. We talked about extending the transom out to 6.6m but I wasn’t overly keen on this as I’d have to look at putting either twin 115s or 140s and that meant more fuel burn and I was keen on twin 90s. We also looked at putting a small pod extension on the back, but settled for a different approach. The plan was to cut open and extend the splash well, this way the motors would be able to trim up better and the transom would be strengthen. The live bait tank would be moved to the left hand side and twin batteries to the front under the bunks,which would take 55kg off the back.

Hi Redhunter, ive got a Haines 635 with twin bf 90's, dont know how it compares with the Fisher weight wise but the haines is 2100kg's dry on the trailer. It will not plane on one motor, nearly but not quite.

If you can handle the weight i would go for twin 115's, they will not work as hard and will give you a good cruise at about 4000rpms with the added power when required and the ability to plane on a single in the event of. Happy to take you for a run if you would like some first hand info.

Bill

I think the twin 90's will be the best balanced handling setup and those lean burn Suzuki 90's do pack some punch.

This has been covered plenty of times before, planing on one motor is not about the available HP of the still running single, it is about the prop that is fitted is just too big, twins are propped for, well... twins, (twice the HP) and the single is just over propped, it doesn't have the "guts" to get up and go, if you kept a small spare, and some means to change it out on the water, then the single 90/115/whatever will be fine. OH, and where did you get that tall skinny esky in the picture? I looked everywhere for one like that for a seat, and ended up having to make an alloy one.

Sorry guys for the late response.Vitamin sea thanks for the offer , im keen to go 90s as thay will have less weight on the back ,and I think the 90s should have the punch to push her.

noelm the tall skinny esky is a 140l everkool esky ,I run two of them ,plenty of room for big reds.The one on the left is a 110l everkool fridge frezer ,I use that for frozen bait, it keeps all me bait frozen ,that way I do not waste any bait and I can refreeze it, and keep it super fresh.

steve

Couple more pics of the transom, just starting to take shape. Very happy so far.

Starting to look good steve!