Nice lookin esky jt!
Ok I decided to take a mate from my old job and my new lucky charm out fishing on Wednesday as it was the only day this week that was any good due to the weather going to poo since I got back from work.
Ok now I started collecting Meerkats just recently and my missus hates them so out on an adventure I decided to take one as a lucky charm and Mickey the Meerkat was born.
Mickey helped me beef up some X raps as I had heard there were Spano's about and was keen to get into some.
Kaypee texted me early in the afternoon with the great news of a storm on it's way into us and as the radar looked it wasn t going to be lovely . So in it comes with wind lightning and thunder and rain but moved off quickly after a couple hours thank god.
So up at 12.15 pm and pulls the boat out of shed and load up and away just before 1 am to get to the harbour around 1.15am .
Drives into ramp and I see a bare bummed guy standing at his boat >>>>>> Booney the Homo . Sheeshus scared the hell out of us straight guys I can tell ya
Had a yarn and we both headed off into different directions with thoughts of catching up out wide if the reds were going to play the game .
Out into the bait grounds and nothing so out to a fern spot and dropped anchor and hussar after hussar after hussar were madly on the chew . So we moved for new spots back and forth and come up with 2 reds one 740mm and a 65 cm model was a start followed by couple lippers and more hussars. Only taking the models over 35 cm others for strips.
DAwn came with some large splashes in the distance up anchor and out went the XRaps and not long into it ZZZZZZZZZZZ and into him I went and up and gaffed was our first yellow fin . Out again not 100 metres and bang another one comes in and bleed and into the esky .
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^Video^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
We trolled for another 30 mins and no more so back into the fray we went. Anchored on a beautiful prickle patch and hussar and hussar come aboard . Mate gets dusted and rocked so I grabbed a semi live hussar and whacked him straight down soon as I took the weight off the bottom when it hit there was weight and we had our first trout on board then as I unhooked my mate winds in another then he baits with a trick my dad uses for trout the wings of a hussar and spread wasn t down 2 mins and a nice smaller trout comes onboard 3 straight after another. Next drop matty me mate hooks a nice schoolie and our esky was looking a quite mixed up bag .
We moved and re trolled but no good the current was screaming and we headed to meet up with Booney And Booney Snr . The boons had scored a 740mm red and a 910 mm Red Jew we drifted with the guys but we couldn t get any so we headed for home to puick my young fella up before he fiinished school
Had a good trip and have a video editing in process
VHF CHANNEL 21
CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)
There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot
I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges
Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)
Nice lookin esky jt!
Another cracker trip mate. Arre you trying a new technique by gaffin the fish in the arse?
HE swam away very quickly
VHF CHANNEL 21
There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot
I think you're happy now mate. Silk shorts eh! Nice sushumi for the young bloke too.
you look like the cat that got mums bird, look at the grin on ya face haha
top stuff and nice looking conditions
will do another 40kg of mullet this week but still no slimies around in numbers
cheers Murf
Great haul of fish JT. Those yellowfin are great on the chew cooked medium rare with lemon and salt.
Cheers at this point we are enjoying sashimi the young fella loves it wasabi and soy but will grill some on the bbq
VHF CHANNEL 21
Nice trip out JT. Some great looking trout there. 1.15am at the Ramp!! That's putting in the hard work for sure.
I like your little meerkat with the fish earrings. I reckon if you could find a couple of pearl perch to hang off that meerkat it would look just like ......
VHF CHANNEL 21
Some lovely fish caught there.
Well done JT.
Cheers, Doug.
Love to use Preditek or Kingfisher lures or Viva Lures when I am out fishing.
Nice work buddy.. Like I said, it's when ole Mickey starts talkin back.. That's when u gota worry
Good job, hopefully it'll come good for us next break!
Good job mate, was a nice day for it. I went out about 3:30 the same morning.
Lucky Meerkat you reckon hey, well looks like it might have done the job . Nice haul there JT