Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Offshore red mayhem - Gladstone

Ausfish Platinum Member mustang5's Avatar

Offshore red mayhem - Gladstone

After reading the weather all week wishing we were out there, Haydn (ozynorts), Matt and I were ready to depart Gladstone for a big overnighter.

Left the marina at 4 in the arvo and out the front we were off!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1366541401.018469.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	44.1 KB 
ID:	91632

Pointed the boat north and was cruising at 26knts on our way to the northern grounds.

Made Douglas shoals in great time of 1.5 hours. Considering the conditions we decided to head further north up to Morseby Bank and guthrie shoal and decided to sound around. Roughly 140km there. We reached the fishing grounds at roughly 7 o'clock.

First show we dropped baits and it was quickly realised we were fishing a mass hussar school in about 35m. So we stocked up the live well with hussar and decided to move on. One of the smaller hussar got monstored on the way up, and surfaced pierced and scaleless. This was a sign that we may be in for something big this trip

The next spot we found we quickly realised we were in for a bit of hurt with a big show of predatory fish.

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1366542675.516864.jpg 
Size:	39.7 KB 
ID:	91633

In the space of a few hours, we landed 18 reds (3 went back), a few whopper red throat and a few other species. If we were 3 fit blokes we could have been quicker but we needed rests in between haha!

There were some monsters out there that were unstoppable!

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1366543148.483432.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	26.6 KB 
ID:	91634Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1366543173.117243.jpg 
Size:	31.6 KB 
ID:	91635Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1366543207.849935.jpg 
Size:	62.7 KB 
ID:	91636Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1366543235.383531.jpg 
Size:	41.1 KB 
ID:	91637Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1366543257.833416.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	43.7 KB 
ID:	91638Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1366543282.233084.jpg 
Size:	25.3 KB 
ID:	91639Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1366543321.483163.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	41.3 KB 
ID:	91640Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1366543340.750312.jpg 
Size:	45.4 KB 
ID:	91641Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1366543355.817341.jpg 
Size:	45.8 KB 
ID:	91642Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1366543499.616999.jpg 
Size:	40.9 KB 
ID:	91644

We were buggered and the choice was made to head back early with our catch at around 2am.

So we battened down the hatches and made way. It was forecast that conditions would turn unfavorable and 2 hours into the return trip it sure did.

What was initially close to glass conditions with 0.7m seas at 10 second ended up being close to 2m seas at 3seconds from the south. We were flat out doing 8knts straight into it so the decision was made to track west at 20knts and track around cape capricorn through the narrows in shelter.

Made the ramp at about 6am and home for a sleep!!

Had a great time with all on board achieving pb's and a first!! All up 7 hours travel for 7 hours fishing!

Thanks to Haydn (ozynorts) for filling a spot on short notice!

Plan for next trip is to sound around the closer grounds! And take a gimbal belt!

Re: Offshore red mayhem - Gladstone

Cc c c c c c c c v c c c c

some great fishing there! well done!

Thats insane fishing at its best, you did the miles and got the reward so well done.

No such thing as a fat alcoholic, just fat piss pots...

Ausfish Platinum Member Boat Hog's Avatar

Plenty of top quality fish there lads. What a top effort and a great report too.

I bet Hayden's still grinning!

How did you find going up the Narrows at night?

Ausfish Platinum Member ozynorts's Avatar

I went out hoping to maybe catch a red but really expecting to catch RTE, trout etc. Never had I though that we would bag out on Reds. Awesome night. The last red went 10.4 kg so I was very happy with that. The look on Owen's face as he was working his ass off trying to bring in a double header of reds was very funny. Initially we had intended to try for pelagic's in the morning but we had no room in a 200lt esky.
    Remember to always log on before heading offshore.

Quote Originally Posted by Boat Hog View Post
    Plenty of top quality fish there lads. What a top effort and a great report too.

I bet Hayden's still grinning!

How did you find going up the Narrows at night?

Wasn't easy mate. had 2 gps setup on different zooms. I checked the tide before making the decision and it was high tide thankfully

Well done lads, looks like your workin out the reds mustang.

Nice works boys.. Action like that makes it all worth it!!

Thanks Fellas.

Another thing I failed to mention. The biggest Reds were caught drifting away from the show. Probably a good 100-200m.

3 times I said "We are off the spot lets do another run" only to then see BANG!!!!

Top fishing effort Owen, must have been some high fiving when you 3 were bagging out on Reds....!

Well done.

Great catch fellas. Does the 2601 go as good as the Yalta Haydn ?

Bloody hell boys bagged out on reds!!! That's awesome, by the sounds of that we should have headed a little further out! Nice work!

Josh
    Yalta Craft 555HC, "BIMINI TWIST", home port Gladstone
    Member of the Yalta Craft Appreciation Society

Great report Owen. With that distance you wouldn't have been far off making the Swains from Stanage. What was your fuel use?

Quote Originally Posted by Jarrah Jack View Post
    Great report Owen. With that distance you wouldn't have been far off making the Swains from Stanage. What was your fuel use?
    About 250-300 Liters mate. Fuel flow meter said about 220 Liters but that needs Calibration. Overall Gauge said half a tank (600L tank) so Im splitting the two and saying 250-300L

Did overall 380KM for the trip, including running around and the diversion down the Narrows. Motor running Prime after its service the other week

Still need to do a bit more Balancing and prop suitability but its getting there