Thread: Beach Worms and kids

Beach Worms and kids

I took the kids over the beach this morning to use the skim board and get some beach worms with the low morning tide.Well I think I have created a worming monster,my 7yr old son is keen as mustard on catching worms now,his older sister does not mind handling them,she said they feel like boogers ! Lol.He managed to rip the heads off a couple with Alvey pliers ,but he will get it one day,just got to slow him down and not use speed to beat the elastic buggers.I got him addicted to the boat and fishing,now catching worms,gotta love it when a plan comes together.

Re: Beach Worms and kids

C c c c c c c c c c

dammed if I can grab the buggers, too quick for me.

C c c c c c c c c c c c c c

Get rid of the Pliers Giffo. Thats cheating!!! its a fun day thats for sure getting the kids out trying to catch works. This is my daughter a couple of years back

Quote Originally Posted by aus2045 View Post
    So, here's what you do. OK

Worms arch and try pull down there food into the sand.

Hold hr hand like you are pulling a piece of string, finger underneath, thumb in top. Try it now.

As the water drains away get yr fingers into a grab position on their first arch. If you you move yr fingers in towards their body as they make that first arch they wont feel you and they won't pi$$ off. Only move when they move. On the second arch is when you squeeze and lift in one swift motion. When their arch is right at the top, that's the key to squeeze and lift.

I hope this has helped.
    Nicely edited Aus2045. You will never get any info with those sort of comments mate.

Your right Macca,as the pliers tend to injure the worms and they don't live long.Your Daughter looked like she won lotto pulling that worm,well done.

I remember my grandfather teaching me to catch worms at main beach down the coast. We would use whiting frames on a piece of string to burly them up. And every time with out fail we would have someone walk past and ask " are you trying to teach that fish to swim son?"
    Smart arses everywhere

Rob.

I remember one worming trip when my son was very small, I was catching a few (never was all that good at it) and my son was messing about (as kids do) with the small bucket I had the worms in, unbeknown to me, he had eaten every bloody worm I had caught! I dont think he will ever be allowed to forget that day. kids and beachworming are made for each other, nice warm day, kids in cozzies, a bucket and a bit of a fish frame, great fun for all (well I reckon)

Fantastic - my old man taught me how to catch them when I was about 5 or 6 years old.
    Used to love being able to show off catching both left and right handed , could even pull them about 6inches using my toes but never quite got there .
    That really upset some of the older blokes who had no idea how to catch them.
    I must take the time out to thank him for that - its a great skill for any person to pass on.
    Great Stuff
    BeastMaster
    Keep Ya Tip UP
    Beast

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    I remember one worming trip when my son was very small, I was catching a few (never was all that good at it) and my son was messing about (as kids do) with the small bucket I had the worms in, unbeknown to me, he had eaten every bloody worm I had caught! I dont think he will ever be allowed to forget that day.
    Hahahah!! Made my day. Classic kid thing to eat them!!
    I hope my son just catches them and doesn't eat them, when he's old enough.

Ausfish Gold Member ThePinkPanther's Avatar

I'm a third arch man but same principle!

Also, if you are really careful, you can actually touch the sides of the worms without it whipping back down the hole, that way you are unlikely to miss it as your fingas are so close to his body.

Biggest mistake folks make is not going deep enough with the two fingas. You need a least two inches and try to push the woim gently up into a mound of sand - you will be surprised how much you can push them around prior to grabbing 'em!

Keep people from walking in front of you as this will scare them away.

Many years ago I tried teaching myself how to do it on a holiday at Surfers. While I was doing it a bloke came up and gave me a few tips.
    he said when he was a teenager he used to catch them and sell them to the tackle shops. He made anough to buy himself an MG when all his mates were still on push bikes.
    Said it (MG) helped him with the young ladies.

People who come up while you are doing it are usually amazed that the worms are there under the sand where they go swimming.

Great video Lump.

Good to see the little ones having a ball. I tried without success years ago. No worries with bait fish, yabbies, crabs and any freshwater bait ... I'll have to have another crack at it.