Thread: Yeppoon Redemtion Trip

Yeppoon Redemtion Trip

Well like many others with this outstanding weather we were itching to get on the water and as always, go on the search for some new ground.. and some fish.
    We set out Wednesday morning, fairly late start but with the plan to stay out overnight and come home Thursday.
    The decision was made to head near Karamea Banks and search that area. My deckie had a few marks as a starter so off we went... To say the fishing was dismal was an understatement. We were home at the ramp by that arvo, tail between legs and not a fish in the esky. The fishing was so poor, that we used 10 Yakkas & about 6 squid all day!! not even annoying rubbish fish....

Not to be kept down we decided to have another go Friday for a quick day run. I picked an area out ENE that I'd never been too and without any marks at all we set off try again.
    The morning was perfect...

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0053.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	64.8 KB 
ID:	91543

Got out to the area that I wanted to search and set the troll lines, almost straight away the sounder showed a step up that was 70m up to 45m almost like a cliff. With shows hanging off it everywhere. The troll line starts screaming and 2 mins after getting to the grounds the first Spano was on board. We got a few more on the ledge mainly jigging with 2 of the biggest spotties i've ever seen. Mind you though we lost more than we boated.
    We kept trolling and marking bottom to come back and sit on. Then dropped the bottom baits. Alot of red throat, a couple of trout and a few other mixed reefies.

Name:	IMG_0055.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	73.7 KB 
ID:	91544

Eventually things slowed so we decided to go for a look elsewhere. we got to the next area, closer in, and started trolling again. No luck though and we were about to call it a day when I got back behind the wheel and noticed a really good show on the sounder. We dropped quickly to see what they were and thats when the action started. 8 Nice Emps with two 10kg, 3 trout with one of the nicest barcheek I've seen, 4 spangleds, and a few more redthoat. all in the space of an hour.

Name:	IMG_0061.jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	74.0 KB 
ID:	91537Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0063.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	73.0 KB 
ID:	91538Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0066.jpg 
Size:	68.6 KB 
ID:	91540

Name:	IMG_0065.jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	67.5 KB 
ID:	91539Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0081.jpg 
Size:	68.1 KB 
ID:	91541

In all a very good day, probably the best days fishing since getting the boat.
    More than made up for Wednesday!! Bring on Swains Trailer Trash Trip!!

Name:	IMG_0090.jpg 
Size:	101.0 KB 
ID:	91542

Re: Yeppoon Redemtion Trip

What an excellent catch!!, was out south of yous but didnt do as well as you did..Onyez..

Maaaaaaaaaate what a trip, some cracking red action there.... Thanks for posting, hopefully we will get out this week sometime

Cheers from boony
    Fishing can be defined as "A jerk on one end of the rod, waiting for a jerk on the other".
    "Fishing was around along time before you darling"

How good is that!! Bloody brilliant by the looks of it! Thanks for the report and the pics.

Awesome Mick Boony leave pass for wednsday thru to wednesday night what ya reckon . Mate top report mick
    Stop sending me pics while i'm at work
    Got to love them reds and trout
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

From what i'm hearing everyone who went got a good feed,looks like you had a cracker of a trip.I have to agree bring on the Swains Trailer Trip.

WOW, that awesome, well done and thanks for sharing.
    Cheers, Doug.
    Love to use Preditek or Kingfisher lures or Viva Lures when I am out fishing.

Nothing better than finding that new spot x especially when you catch quality fish like that mate, great trip

Awesome fishing guys. Jealous as hell, we'll done.

awesome trip mate beautiful conditions and fish to boot, you guys must be stoked with the trip.

roughly how far out looks liek im not going far enough hahahah

well done guys

supa.

awesome trip mate well done

C c c c c c c c c c c c c c

Supa, about 110km was the first area we went to.. And the next was about 100. By the looks of all the lads reports though, they are everywhere at the moment!! Happy Days!

JT has got some pressure on him

Awesome report mate, jeez I like the sond of that big step up, holy hell thats cool!
    Bloody good fish lads!
    Josh
    Yalta Craft 555HC, "BIMINI TWIST", home port Gladstone
    Member of the Yalta Craft Appreciation Society