Thread: If you're going away for 1 or 2 nights. Fishing & camping. What do u catch and eat?

If you're going away for 1 or 2 nights. Fishing & camping. What do u catch and eat?

Hi guys, just wondering what it is that you plan to catch for a feed when you're overnighting for a night or more and wanna eat what you've caught?

I'm interested in any responses - impoundment, estuary, beach-based etc. Just curious as to what it is you're trying to catch for dinner when camping as opposed to pure 'fun'!

If you can give me an idea of the general area / type of fishing, how you fish for it, what it is you end up eating, and how you like to prepare it, would be great info.

I'm in Central Queensland, but no need to limit answers to this region.

Thanks in advance,

Smokey
    Geez, I hope this thing floats!

Re: If you're going away for 1 or 2 nights. Fishing & camping. What do u catch and ea

If I'm going to eat something it will be whatever I catch, I dont change targets specifically because I might want to eat it.

Re: If you're going away for 1 or 2 nights. Fishing & camping. What do u catch and ea

If going away i never plan on eating what i catch as i might not catch any. Better to be full than hungry.

Saying that if we get on em we will always have second course.

a bag of limes and some garlic and onions , chilli and fresh coriander and coconut cream always comes on a trip with me to make ceviche/ kokoda. Just dice fish add the rest put in plastic container in the esky and eat the next day

Quote Originally Posted by Feral View Post
    If I'm going to eat something it will be whatever I catch, I dont change targets specifically because I might want to eat it.
    OK, so what do you often end up eating? There's nothing of a legal size that you catch that you won't eat?

Quote Originally Posted by snapperdan View Post
    If going away i never plan on eating what i catch as i might not catch any. Better to be full than hungry.
    Understand it's definitely better to plan to have to go without, but what are you hoping to catch and eat when you go?

Around CQ that would be catfish & stingrays

Quote Originally Posted by aus2045 View Post
    LOL... thanks! And we kill them both on site, right?

very similar to nummus Dan, I do that too sometimes... yummo.

I sometimes take some soy and wasabi in a screw top jar in the esky, put some strips of fish flesh in and have instant sashimi..

Quote Originally Posted by snapperdan View Post

Saying that if we get on em we will always have second course.

a bag of limes and some garlic and onions , chilli and fresh coriander and coconut cream always comes on a trip with me to make ceviche/ kokoda. Just dice fish add the rest put in plastic container in the esky and eat the next day

when you buy scallops that don't have the orange roe sometimes they're actually stingray flaps that have been hole-punched basically, lovely eating the old stingrays if you can be bothered doing the hole punching and removing the skin.
    Quote Originally Posted by aus2045 View Post

I try to catch Mcdonalds before they close and head back to the ramp or camp.

Quote Originally Posted by Nicko_Cairns View Post
    very similar to nummus Dan, I do that too sometimes... yummo.

I sometimes take some soy and wasabi in a screw top jar in the esky, put some strips of fish flesh in and have instant sashimi..
    yep. Sometimes i do with coconut cream and sometimes with out. You lucky buggers in QLD with your cast nets add some fresh prawns to it and wow. Scallop as well.

Heaps of good books on ceviche on amazon or book depositary.

i catch nothing mostly , and i reckon im the best at it

Quote Originally Posted by Nicko_Cairns View Post
    when you buy scallops that don't have the orange roe sometimes they're actually stingray flaps that have been hole-punched basically, lovely eating the old stingrays if you can be bothered doing the hole punching and removing the skin.
    That is a myth trust me ive eaten stingray. There is cartelage in the middle of the flaps. And it taste nothing like scallops.

C c c c c c c c c c c c

You guys are hilarious!

I'm beginning to think, however, that nobody catches any fish to eat... It's OK to just fish for fun and have sausage sandwiches for dinner, but surely somebody goes out camping and says to themselves... "OK, we'll score some flathead in the shallows while collecting some bait, then try for some bigger stuff and see what happens" etc.?

Or not, as the case may be. ;-)