Thread: Crab Pot bait keeper what do you use??

Crab Pot bait keeper what do you use??

Just wondering what people use for there crab pot bait holder?
    Byron

Re: Crab Pot bait keeper what do you use??

$2 gutter guard and some zip ties will make heaps for you.

Yep, the gutter guard and zip ties, make up bags to your preferred size. I use some elect wire to tie them closed.
    Note to self: Don't argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience....

i bought a bit of the heavy duty gutter guard stuff from crab n gear. cost me about 10 bucks for a 1 metre off the roll and he threw in a handle of clips.
    Made about 16 bags from memory, will last forever
    Dad reckons fishing is 10% brains and 95% muscle, the rest is just good luck.

I run PVC pipe in my crab gear. 90mm wide by 250mm in length, one end has got a end cap the other a screw top, . Holes are drilled around the body and end caps, to let the scent disperse. The pipe is held in place by a bait keeper through the holes in the pipe and the mesh of the pot.

Never have to replace through damage, only if someone steels or runs over the pot.

cheers Darren
    IMG_20130417_133544.jpg
    Good things come to those who bait

yeah a mate in Ayr does the same and swears by it, protects the bait so the crabs keep staying at it. i've been planning on making a few up.

Quote Originally Posted by Agrav8_and_Lulu View Post
    I run PVC pipe in my crab gear. 90mm wide by 250mm in length, one end has got a end cap the other a screw top, . Holes are drilled around the body and end caps, to let the scent disperse. The pipe is held in place by a bait keeper through the holes in the pipe and the mesh of the pot.

Never have to replace through damage, only if someone steels or runs over the pot.

cheers Darren
    IMG_20130417_133544.jpg

Similar to Agvar8 but I use 1 kg Golden Circle sliced fruit or other large plastic bottles with screw on lids. They do get chewed a bit if the holes are to big but are cheap. They are easy to change the bait.

A Guy I work with work with a pro over christmas and he said that the pro uses the same set up
    Quote Originally Posted by Agrav8_and_Lulu View Post

cheers Darren
    IMG_20130417_133544.jpg

thanks for the replys looks like I off to bunnings

I use old trawl net (get it off any pro fisher) and make it into pockets of various sizes. Bit of nylon twine through the top to close it and a small
    piece of roofing lead pressed around the twine to make a draw string.
    Lasts for ever, well I haven't had one mangled yet, and cheap as.
    All the neighbours, Relies, Mates etc love em. Keeps me busy making em too