Left work early last Friday and headed to the Logan River in my Bermuda with a mate. He was told that morning his job was no longer. We hit the water by 3 pm and had the 8 pots out by 4 pm. Mullet frame and chook as bait. We had not been to the Logan since the flooding and a few areas have changed shape and a few trees not where they used to be. At 4.30pm my mate got a email from a mob he had an interview with and they advised he had a job with them. So he was chirpy now and said all he needed was a good fish to make his day. Headed to a usual spot after getting some fresh sardines and herring in the cast net.
I used live sardines and my mate sliced up the herring. After about an hour and on dusk my mates sliced herring went off. We called it a shark but when we got it to the boat we saw it was a ripper Threadfin. By the time we got organised and complained about the small net I had it had thrown the hook. Spewing!!! Both excited now and we both got hook ups but again one spat the hooks at the side of the boat and mine cut the line when it did a run from the boat. Both seen and were Threadfin. Mate got another run on the slice herring and finally we landed one. Not much room in my net after its 93 cm frame. My mate was stoked after having such a rotten morning to land a great fish. Bite went off at 7.30pm after a few more small runs on my livies as well as 3 eels landed.
So decided to call it and checked the pots on way back to ramp for 2 decent muddies. Not many crabs at all. A few small bucks and jennies in some of the pots.
Left pots out overnight and next morning went out with kids for a quick fish to the top of the tide and collect the pots. Only a few eels were landed with very little biting. Saw a guy land a decent Jew. But then saw him put it back in the water. Must have been close to the 75 cm mark. Only got another muddie. Not much in the pots and bait hardly touched so I don't think it was share farmers.
Ran into Duncan from Reel Repairs near the Alberton boat ramp. He services my reels and hears what is going on around the place. He said the reports he has is that the muddies are still out around the Pin and not back in the creeks yet.
Lunch yesterday was crab sandwich and last night it was Threadfin. Yummo!