Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 'Brisbane City Council V Pimp A Shrimp' - parking on the street

'Brisbane City Council V Pimp A Shrimp' - parking on the street

Hi All

I've had my boat parked on the street, out the front of my house, for only 4 weeks and was told in no uncertain terms to remove it from Brisbane City Council. A neighbour, or neighbouring property (I have a gut feeling I know who it is) called council and complained they were inconvenienced by having to slow down, or whatever their original complaint was, when driving past the parked boat.

A representative from Brisbane City Council’s ‘Rapid Response Group’ knocked on the door a couple of days ago to inform me that I need to move the boat as it exceeds Councils ‘Trucks & heavy long vehicle parking’ regulations. This rule states that if a vehicle or trailer is longer than 7.5m in overall length it exceeds the max length allowed.

Fair Dinkum!! I’m really p!ssed off about this. Moreso that the neighbour in question just didn’t approach me to let me know of their concerns. But council have stated that the boat will have to be moved or face a $550 dollar fine.

So, the question begs, if you have a say 5.5 to 6.0m plus boat, this is likely to exceed the max allowable length when you take into consideration the overall length on trailer!!?? Having said all that, I would guess most cabin style boats, are larger CC trailerable boats would exceed this limit. 7.5m isn’t that long!! My old Hilux measured 5.5m from head to toe!! This would extend to Tradies with a box trailer left hitched to the car parked on the road!

My boat is registered, has full comprehensive insurance, falls within the max wide load restrictions and can be legally towed by any vehicle with a 3.5t towing capacity...but it can’t be parked in a residential street in the Brisbane City Council catchment! WTF

Has anyone else been on the end of this regulation?

Re: 'Brisbane City Council V Pimp A Shrimp' - parking on the street

If I was you I would be finding a copy of those regulations and seeing for myself what they actually say. It may be as simple as having to put out a couple of witches hats either end of your trailer to comply with the councils parking laws.

I just checked the regs and it doesn't look real good for you pimp a shrimp I think you have to make a call to the council to see if you can get a permit of some kind.

Here are the regulations.
    http://www.brisbane.qld.gov.au/traff...icle/index.htm
    no mention of permits or exemptions other than broken down vehicles, deliveries and emergency vehicles.
    bugger
    Remember to always log on before heading offshore.

Mate, you are crazy parking any boat on a public street good way to have it stolen, vandalised or stuff stolen out of it. i would be looking for alternative solutions - ie a mates or family memebers place, paid storage, marina etc.

If you pay the $550 fine, how long can you keep it there?

I am so sick of councils and governments destroying our way of life. It is unAustralian. Who ever it was that complained obviously has no life and is a parasite sucking the life out of anyone who interferes in their pathetic existence.

Rant over.

Ozynorts has found the correct regs. I was trolling through this yesterday looking for exemptions,permits anything that might be of use.

The boat was in dry storage in that big Marina we all know at Jacobs Well, but I wasn't real happy with the service, cost and inconvenience factor, so it went to a mates commercial property and was then broken into the very first night it was there. Having it parked out the front under lock and key is the best solution i've got. Paying the $550 fine might be the best solution, as ridiculous as it sounds. My guess council would keep sending infringment notices if i was to go down this path.

The crazy thing about this is that Council would be none the wiser and probably wouldn't care if it wasn't for some disgruntled neighbour. However given they have received a complaint i'm guessing they have to see it through. It's a shame this same neighbour didn't think about the 8 x cars, 2 x box trailers (including his own car)and 1 x tow truck parked on the grassy medium and footpath that will also need to be moved!

There must be others that have been affected by this? Anyone?

Quote Originally Posted by SunnyCoastMark View Post
    Mate, you are crazy parking any boat on a public street good way to have it stolen, vandalised or stuff stolen out of it. .

I see a few boats parked in prominent positions and wonder the same. A couple of streets up from my place, I have noticed that someone has started parking a Cruisecraft on the street and have said to my wife that it might only be a matter of time before it gets pinched. It is outside a high fence also. If the house occupants also both work (no idea if they do), the thieves could easily tow it away in the middle of the day as no one would probably notice. As Pinhead has indicated in these pages many yonks ago, an 18V cordless angle grinder will cut through any chains, locks or wheel clamps within 20 seconds.

not long, they'll probably issue you with a compliance notice too stating that the boat must be moved by time/date or straight away.. it sucks but find somewhere else.

Quote Originally Posted by Zippidy View Post
    If you pay the $550 fine, how long can you keep it there?

Is it just the draw bar taking you over the 7.5M limit? Can you cut it off and make it a bolt on / bolt off or hingable drawbar? (Prolly not looking at the size of the boat in your avatar but thought I would ask)

As said just above is it pssible to modify the draw bar to get under that 7.5m limit. If not i guess you have little choice but to move it. For me i would also be making sure that the council were made away of any other vehicle in the street such as a tow truck which would be far longer than 7.5m and then illegaly parked on the medium strip or any car parked on the footpath were in breach of the councils laws. Make it just as hard for them and be persistant.

Mate i couldn't fit my boat in the shed so i bought a fold away draw bar from dunbier and saves nearly a metre. Has two bolts and usually i only remove one bolt and swing it out the way. However if you took two bolts out and stored draw bar in garage it would be the ultimate anti theft device. Only issue would be brake cable. And it would be under the specified length. Don't think paying the fine once will stop them fining you in the future ie every time you move it is a new offence

Quote Originally Posted by Nicko_Cairns View Post
    not long, they'll probably issue you with a compliance notice too stating that the boat must be moved by time/date or straight away.. it sucks but find somewhere else.
    Or they will have it towed.

If your leaving a boat like that in the street, I wouldn't be to worried about the council and parking.

Without a shadow of a doubt some of the local lads are at this very point planning on finding your pride and joy a new home where you'll never have to worry about parking it again.