Thread: Fishing apps for iPad??

Fishing apps for iPad??

Guys,
    I've just moved into the 21st century with Juna buying me an iPad, so I was wondering what sort of apps would be good to download. I've got BOM & Seabreeze, but a few others would be handy.
    Fish ID would be good, as I always seem to take pictures & send them to Gavin (Hookinin)
    It rings a bell about an app that you could take a picture of the unknown fish, & this app would tell you what it is, bag & size limits in each state etc
    Stuff like this would be a great help.
    I reckon with the bigger screen, my fish photos should look bigger as well!!
    Thanks,

Ausfish Silver Member Swanie1975's Avatar

Re: Fishing apps for iPad??

Apart from navionics ( bit exxy but good ) have a look at tidesplanner, briswind and marinenow. Hurleysurf has links to coastwatch webcams as well as wind conditions.

Cheers Ryan

Hi Tony, I'm still getting used to this one on my iphone but I like it because it has the following selection on the first page.

• Map View - shows you exactly where you are according to GPS and GREEN zones are shown exactly how I want to see them - shaded in green! Not a faint pink line such as what is on Navionics ( which I also have)
    • Marine weather - have not used yet, cant comment but I use other websites before leaving anyway
    • Fishing Guide - here are all your size and bag limits - easy to search for what you are looking for.
    • Fish Markers - a big list of common gps coordinates. If you want to know for instance where Cathedral reef is, type into the search bar and hit "get route" and a little compass comes up and tells you the distance with an arrow as you are on your way.

This is the link https://itunes.apple.com/au/app/thef...441724565?mt=8

Good luck.

Quote Originally Posted by Scalem View Post
    Hi Tony, I'm still getting used to this one on my iphone but I like it because it has the following selection on the first page.

• Map View - shows you exactly where you are according to GPS and GREEN zones are shown exactly how I want to see them - shaded in green! Not a faint pink line such as what is on Navionics ( which I also have)
    • Marine weather - have not used yet, cant comment but I use other websites before leaving anyway
    • Fishing Guide - here are all your size and bag limits - easy to search for what you are looking for.
    • Fish Markers - a big list of common gps coordinates. If you want to know for instance where Cathedral reef is, type into the search bar and hit "get route" and a little compass comes up and tells you the distance with an arrow as you are on your way.

This is the link https://itunes.apple.com/au/app/thef...441724565?mt=8

Good luck.

Thanks Scalem,
    Got on & had a quick look, but I notice its an app for iPhone, not iPad. I'm a technical idiot, but it seems some apps are for iPhones & others iPads. I thought they'd work on both?? Whats the difference??

Thanks,

Look closer Tony definitely says iPhone, itouch and iPad and I am pretty sure you are safe to download via iTunes and give it a go.

Not expensive at all

Just my 2 cents worth. - I bought this app last year, and was very disappointed with it. The Catagory listing the crustations had only 2 in it. Surely there is more than 2 types of crustations in the water. I'm not asking for all of them, just a reasonable list. I also had a problem with my tides refreshing. It would not update my tides for as long as a week, at times.- Very annoying!
    I must've got a bad one, I don't know.
    I deleted it eventually.

I use

AU tides pro
    Launch pro lists boat ramps in your locality and gives them a rating.
    Windfinder
    Moon calendar
    Rain - direct link to BOM rain radars.
    I also use navionics but think it could use some improvements and will have at look at the one scalem mentioned.

I agree about having an app to identify species and provide bag limit info, it would be great but I don't think there is anything out there for our local waters. Sadly the best apps are USA based as this where the market is, there are opportunities for some good Aussie based fishing apps but I just don't think they are going to be profitable enough to get the attention we think they deserve.

EDIT: this app that scalem put up seems to tick all the boxes above that I thought wouldn't get looked after in oz. good find! It's now on my phone too!!!
    Kev

Also go to http://www.daff.qld.gov.au/28_3042.htm and open the size limits pdf in ibooks and you have a copy then saved on it without need for internet connection to view it.

Quote Originally Posted by Back In Black View Post
    Thanks Scalem,
    Got on & had a quick look, but I notice its an app for iPhone, not iPad. I'm a technical idiot, but it seems some apps are for iPhones & others iPads. I thought they'd work on both?? Whats the difference??

Thanks,
    Most (maybe all???) apps for iPhone work on iPads. But due to the ipad having a bigger screen size, some apps are only for iPads... They wouldn't look ok on the smaller iPhone screen.

So sometimes there is a iPad and a iPhone version of the app. The iPad one will take advantage of the extra screen size to have more bells and whistles on screen.

But basically any iPhone app will work on a iPad.

(Using Tapatalk on iPhone so can't easily 'thank' or 'like'.)

Ps... If you run a iPhone app on a iPad it is generally just in a iPhone sized portion if the screen with the rest blank or you can expand it up bigger to fill the screen.

If you do that the text is all big which suits old farts like me...

yep navionics to start with there's heaps of boat app in iTunes
    Six of One Half a Dozen of the Other

Just had a look at the fishing mate app. I like the green zone info but I don't think it's quite right.

And green zones is the main reason I wanted it unfortunately. For instance at the pin it seems bigger than the actual green zone. Also the north east of peel seems wrong to me. Rats... I really want a easy to see in or out app.

Navionics is ok but not easy at a glance. Stupid submarines everywhere but no shading of marine green zones.

Quote Originally Posted by WalrusLike View Post
    Just had a look at the fishing mate app. I like the green zone info but I don't think it's quite right.

And green zones is the main reason I wanted it unfortunately. For instance at the pin it seems bigger than the actual green zone. Also the north east of peel seems wrong to me. Rats... I really want a easy to see in or out app.

Navionics is ok but not easy at a glance. Stupid submarines everywhere but no shading of marine green zones.

Same here. If Navionics had the green zones shaded it would be the ducks nuts. IMO only.

iPhone app works on ipad for navionics and is 14$ instead of $60. I use the iPhone app on ipad as I am a tight arse.