Sent an email to the parks and wildlife gurus for Fraser and got a phone call this morning.
I must say I was impressed with how helpful and friendly they were.
They basically stated that it is ok to use your own discretion if you are caught with low lying obstacles, to the point of ripping out a chainsaw and going haywire.
Havent read the whole post but i was up there 2 weekends ago, the track over was good a few big step ups you will need a tow up but a mate got a 4wd truck i think a 12 tonner up there with supper singles and only needed a tow by a landcruiser ute up the first step up at champagne pools
Mustang, with 3 good vehicles I recon you will do it fine with a bit thought. Take a decent length chain. When the shit hits the fan with a 3.5t rig you will want it. I recon your biggest hassle will be working in the gutter at waddy given that thing would draw some water. Good luck with it.
Cos Murf, when the shit really hits the fan and its time to be desperate cos you have your 3.5T rig half buried in and out of the waddy gutter on a rising tide and you have the parkies cat 950 loader hanging of the fron't you can keep all your snatchies where they are, out with a decent chain in my book. But i will admit i am "old school" on such matters where desperate times call upon a heavy handed approach.
I tend to agree.
Up there once we lent a hand to a poor bloke who had a Sierra so stuck up there launching a small boat that the massive 4WD tractor snapped two straps that were connected in parrallel. We then got 3 straps together and the tractor was wheel-standing massively despite shovelling frantically. Thought it was staying there that's for sure.
Wouldnt launching on Low Tide, and Retrieving on High Tide alleviate the issue/stress of getting stuck?
On a side note, I have 40K to spend on a new work car. Looking at 100 Series Cruiser, or a 4.2L Patrol. If anyone knows of any 2006 Patrols with the 4.2 for sale, please let me know.
Mustang, the thing about Fraser is that it is ever changing. Sometimes there are good gutters other times you are working with nearly nothing. Different gutters ok for Different stages of the tide. Often we will go out and come home in different spots. Sometimes you have the luxury of good hard sand on a great low tide gutter at other times like us lust year we had great gutter but access of a spit at low tide that was soft as buggery in close. Other times there is near lagoon situation if you can get into it. The point I would make (and not being a bore) is that your big rig will lose you some flexibility in working with what options the beach provides you with, there will be some options that blokes will be using with six metere platey's that just simply won't be an option for that baby of yours. Finding the right gutter combo with good hard sand and enough depth in close will be the key to you getting it out. Deffinateley not trying to put you off. Nothing like pushing the envelope but you are just by shear size of that thing. We snatched a 7.4 platey with a 200 series on it out of the gutter I talked about above last year with a cruiser ute and only just got it out, and the whole rig was only in the water for 30 seconds. Point being everything turned out okay but it could have got pretty messy fast with that biggish boat. As I said, I recon it's doable but your out there so make sure you are well prepped. I've seen a couple of big glass cats up there before but they were using tractor and sinking the trailers well back into the break. If you had access to a tractor up there allot of your risks would be minimized. We take 3 6m boats up there every year. All alloys the biggest a 6m stabie, so heaps smaller and lighter than yours, touch wood no big drams for us as yet but it's easy to see how things go wrong.
Cheer's Scott
Ps get yourself setup with a high speed surf winch so you can winch that sucker on in about 10 seconds max,
THanks Scotty.
Actually speaking of 200 series, there are a couple in my price range which I will be looking at in the coming weeks.
I will probably head up a week to 2 weeks before and check out the scenery. Other than that, I dont think i will be launching without the car snatched up to another.
Mustang, best thing you can do is go for a look see, that's what I did before our first trip. If the whole setup were my rig my biggest nightmare would be bogging that beast down on it's trailer whilst pulling out. If it got badly bogged you could have 3 cruisers hanging off the fron't and that sucker ain't coming out. Tractors rule for the big rigs.
Also maybe think about where your going to keep it. If your camping up near the pro camp no worries but if you are staying in orchid I dare say you will be using the snatch to get it up of the beach onto the boards a fair bit. Depending on why the sands like some guys leave big boats down at the camp ground so as to avoid the hassle of getting them back up into orchid everyday. We stay in orchid and take the boats back each night, heaps easier for fueling, washing up etc.
When are you planning on being up there? We go up for a week in early may.
The group will be camping at one of the grounds close to waddy pt. I'm still to figure out where is best.
I have from the 25th March off so I was thinking the 26th/27th departure.
Will probably go for a look mid march.
Put my deposit down last night
Has a lot of aftermarket goodies, including chip and exhaust. I dont think Ive felt Torque quite like it in a diesel.
Best part is, its good for the tribe of kids I keep adding to.
Going to get a cargo roof top barrier, snorkel and some nice meaty tyres and Im all set.
419853_10151809819051164_154030479_n.jpg
Nice cruiser! That will smoke any old 4.2 Pootrol thats for sure. That will be perfect towing that big rig of yours!
"Mystique" Haines Signature 580BR with 175 of Mr Suzuki's finest ponies