I can tell you first hand that the bay is full of mud flew over it this arvo. Couldn't even see the line between the good and the bad like last floods. Don't reckon I'm putting my prop Eric at risk
Planning on heading out Friday weather permitting, and whilst I plan to head over to the Rouse (well away from the river) for a feed of Whiting after dropping some pots at Green, I would like to know what people have seen comming out into the bay if they have been out?
After some good reports in the last couple of weeks from fellow Ausfisher's about Mud I would'nt mind giving it a go but if there is to much rubbish comming out from the floods I wont bother.
I normally head out before first light so as to get my pots in early but, I will be waiting till sun up this trip just incase there is someting out there that I need to see after all this fresh running into the bay.
Weather looks ok ATMrgg.png
Cheers Axl
I can tell you first hand that the bay is full of mud flew over it this arvo. Couldn't even see the line between the good and the bad like last floods. Don't reckon I'm putting my prop Eric at risk
check these pics out from space all up north but but will give you an idea what the bay would look like....we really are at the hands of mother nature and feel for all those that have lost ........... mick
http://www.sbs.com.au/news/article/1...aken-from-spac
...........GOOD THINGS COME TO THOSE WHO BAIT.........
I was out today in the bay performing sea trials and my advise is to steer clear for a few more days there was some very large trees floating around and the water was full of mixed debris.
cheers Jim
two lots of water skii`ers went past me today @ work down the mouth of the brissy and they were not driving miss daisy !
shipping in and out of the port is back to normal and the river has gone from a rich chocolate mix to a watered down brown probably due to the release of wivenhoe .
when the tide is on it`s way in it`s still heading out about 2 knots.
yes there has been some big logs etc float past but it has not slowed any of the regular boat traffic.
personally I wouldn`t be out @ night in my boat but at daytime it`s manageable if you are sensible and keep a good lookout and travel at a safe speed.
a few pods of bottle nose dolphins have been sighted the last two arvo`s heading up the river , maybe to rid themselves of lice or nasty cling on critters in the fresh and there has been some big boofs and splashes under the lights at night which I figure is bullies or larger fish feeding .
one good thing is all those jellies should now be way out of the river and in the currents of the bay instead of being trapped in the river tidal flows that don`t seem to work after all the reclamation.
the dirty water is apparently all the way to curtain.
be careful if you go out !
Thanks for the info FG. You sound as though you live or work down near the mouth?
No worries , glad to pass on any info for my fellow ausfishers !
I`m a crane driver down the port Walruslike.I get a birds eye view of the mouth of the river. and blooey`s fishing spots !
Cool job... Your walk/climb to your workplace would be a doosy.
I always look for the cranes from out on the bay..., I will imagine you hard at work in them from now on whenever I see them.
we have a lift to get up to the cabin.
when I`m feeling fit I`ll take the stairs.
ps , sorry for jacking your thread Axl