Traffic Compliance Officer
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Traffic Compliance Officer

Ausfish Platinum Member TREVELLY's Avatar

Post Traffic Compliance Officer

Just took the boat to Jeffers to have a couple of things done and was pulled over by traffic compliance officer about the boat on trailer.

He went from one end to the other and his concern to pull me over was the motor propeller not having a cover on it - just my luck had it on last trip and even launched the boat with it still in place

Anyway the officer said to let all I know be aware that failure to have something on the propeller with propeller more than 1200mm from back of trailer and that is where the backboard lights and number plate sits, not the end of the rollers and frame will attract an $80 fine.

The back of the boat must be held down - you can have as many securities at the front as I have with five, but the back must be held down or else you will attract a $200 fine for this too.

I have added tie down lugs to the back of my boat for rear securing but that is work in progress so for return trip home I will take these with me.

compliance.JPG

I described the cover I normally put on the prop and he was happy with that as he said it will protect the likes of children passing it and being cut when parked roadside

Trev

Re: Traffic Compliance Officer

Great......more crap I need to hang off my boat!!!!

Thanks for heads-up regarding a prop cover. Already use a ratchet strap to secure the stern to the trailer. It came with my boat! Cheers!
    LITTLE SKIPPER!

Have never heard of a prop cover.

Have just had a look at the Whitworths' website and they have a bright prop cover for $19.95. It looks like a travellers wet pack that might cost $4 at a $2 shop.

Copper doesn't know what he is talking about.

Ausfish Platinum Member ozynorts's Avatar

The rule is that you have to have a flag on a load that extends as Trev states. The text below is from the Transport website in Qld.
    Safety requirements
    Loads projecting from the back
    of a vehicle or trailer
    Clearly visible loads that project up to 1.2 m from
    the back of your vehicle or trailer do not need a
    warning device.
    Any load that projects more
    than 1.2 m from the back of your vehicle or trailer
    must display a warning device. (See box on
    warning devices.)
    Warning devices
    Some projecting loads require warning devices. (See 'Safety
    Requirements' for details.) Warning devices must meet the
    following requirements.
    During the day
    You must display a red flag or similar suitable object at least
    300 mm square.
    Remember to always log on before heading offshore.

Thanks Trev good to know what they are trying to ping us for.

Is this where the boating world is heading.......

-Fluro safety stickers on tyres (caution tyre under pressure)
    -Safety sticker on wheel nuts (check everytime, wear gloves as bolts could be sharp)
    -Safety sticker on cleats (caution sharp edge, will bite you one day)
    - Loud siren, flashing lights and automated recorded message yelling caution trailer reversing
    -All props must be fluro and a flashing light that goes off when you start your motor
    -Must have towing license with you at all times
    -Anchor must have saftey flags to prevent injury to head
    -Hitch stamped with test date and filled with proper grease
    -MSDS for grease and other chemicals
    -Safety glasses to be warn at all times while winching,
    -radio in vehicle disabled while towing
    -No more than 2 fishing stickers on boat at any one time, these must be no taller than 20mm and no longer than 50mm

I dont know anyone that has cut themselves from a prop, yet I know heaps that have tripped over curbs and slipped on ramps.

ARE WE TARGETING THE RIGHT THINGS HERE?????

Marty

little bit pissed of mood while this was written FYI due to the heat outside, and I hate this kind of mindless Shite
    Living the dream, Barry

Ausfish Platinum Member Boat Hog's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Captain Seaweed View Post

Too right we are targeting the right things ........ people who tow big boats around and (obviously) have deep pockets!

Thank you,

Your Government

My boat hasnt arrived yet but when it does I am painting it fluro orange !
    Living the dream, Barry

You don't need a prop bag. A $2.50 plumbers flag from Bunnings or Plumtec or the like will do the job.

Maybe some Ausfish flags???

http://www.admart.com.au/Long%20Load...ty%20Flags.php

I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

i have a cover like Trev showed, they're great for those late nights/early mornings too as they've got some reflective parts, another way to help drunken motorists see your boat before they park around the motor.

Ausfish Silver Member Prowl n Wolf's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Captain Seaweed View Post
    Thanks Trev good to know what they are trying to ping us for.

Is this where the boating world is heading.......

-Fluro safety stickers on tyres (caution tyre under pressure)
    -Safety sticker on wheel nuts (check everytime, wear gloves as bolts could be sharp)
    -Safety sticker on cleats (caution sharp edge, will bite you one day)
    - Loud siren, flashing lights and automated recorded message yelling caution trailer reversing
    -All props must be fluro and a flashing light that goes off when you start your motor
    -Must have towing license with you at all times
    -Anchor must have saftey flags to prevent injury to head
    -Hitch stamped with test date and filled with proper grease
    -MSDS for grease and other chemicals
    -Safety glasses to be warn at all times while winching,
    -radio in vehicle disabled while towing
    -No more than 2 fishing stickers on boat at any one time, these must be no taller than 20mm and no longer than 50mm

I dont know anyone that has cut themselves from a prop, yet I know heaps that have tripped over curbs and slipped on ramps.

Marty

little bit pissed of mood while this was written FYI due to the heat outside, and I hate this kind of mindless Shite
    totally agree marty,but i do put a poofy fluro prop bag on mine only because once filling up at the servo (the big green and yellow one at burpengary) a young toddler ran from the opposite bowser running full steam behind the sig and came within centimetres of headbutting the prop. regards, tony.

Quote Originally Posted by sig632f View Post
    a young toddler ran from the opposite bowser running full steam behind the sig and came within centimetres of headbutting the prop. regards, tony.
    What is a young toddler doing running around a servo?
    Where were the parents?
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Quote Originally Posted by sig632f View Post
    totally agree marty,but i do put a poofy fluro prop bag on mine only because once filling up at the servo (the big green and yellow one at burpengary) a young toddler ran from the opposite bowser running full steam behind the sig and came within centimetres of headbutting the prop. regards, tony.
    I see the problem!!!, how do you check a prop for irregularities after a toddler hits it with his head?!!!!!

I will have poofy bags on my props too for the record.
    Living the dream, Barry

"I dont know anyone that has cut themselves from a prop, yet I know heaps that have tripped over curbs and slipped on ramps. "

While all these regulations irritate me also you can now say you have heard of someone who cut themselves on a prop that was not spinning......not my best moment..