-
before and after pics of coomera river overnight soaking
after going a bit stir crazy with the weather a mate and i got the bright idea to throw some pots out overnight in the coomera river - paradise point area to see what we could come up with.
being down to six pots (after a bit of thieving by others the week before) we hit woolies for the special seafood supreme cat food tins at 69c each and set them out on sat evening in very little wind and rain.
being a bit worse for wear this morn after a couple of quiets at the neighbours place we hit the water a bit late this morn at 8.30 in teeming rain but little wind) and got 2 large bucks in the first pot - yeehaa here we go. Then we had trouble finding the next 2 pots cos the werent we had left them on the gps hmmm. Finally found one and guess what, no zip tie, no can of cat food and no crabs!!! couldnt see the other anywhere bugger.
Around the corner up the river we go (still hosing down but little wind) and pickup the next 2 pots for 4 big jennies and the smallest little buck ive seen - only about 30mm across the shell. On to the last pot and only one in it but its another big full buck so happy with that.crab before.jpg
Cruising back around the corner to paradise point and smack bang into the face of the wind and rain now blowing like hell and with rain hitting like little needles not that pleasant but happy with crabs on board. Almost back to the ramp and have a closer look at a float we didnt see before, get a bit closer and its ours yes all pots recovered.
Not the best numbers but happy to finally pull some keepers out from under the noses of the share farmers. Its hard to believe they even operate in these conditions. I dont actually like eating them but catching crabs is a good laugh and they are appreciated by those that cant get out there themselves.
CRAB COOKING.jpg
I hope everyones making as much as they can of the long weekend and staying safe.
Cheers Ryan
-
Ausfish Addict
Re: before and after pics of coomera river overnight soaking
well done mate,headin down to my local creek soon to pull mine out,put them in yesterday arvo off the bank...hope to get a few for dinner tonite...will post up when i get back home