Thread: yesterday off the goldy..

yesterday off the goldy..

Just wondering if anyone else struggled out of the goldy yesterday.. I trolled for 5 hours and didnt get a touch nor did i see any bait other than the hoards of mac tuna focused on 3cm white bait.. There seemed to be a mass exodus of all the little slimy mackeral and pilchards from the 15meter line out to the 50..
    Anyone else have the same drama??
    Nath.
    dont knock on deaths door... ring the doorbell and run... death hates that!!

Re: yesterday off the goldy..

No, not alone there............
    Don.
    "Magpie Navy." VHF 73.

It was a Woman who drove me to Drink......
    ....and I never gave her money for the Petrol......

Yeah mate I went trolling down coomera river and did fishing off stradbroke for 5 nights. Caught one fish which was a moses perch and it was undersized. Broke and lost more gear then we caught fish was very disappointing. Must say our neighbours on straddy caught a few taylor but all of them weren't legal. Had one bloke catch a 30cm flatty and he was lucky at that.

P.S. We ended up using pilchards as bait to catch that perch if that helps...

Yep just got back from an arvo troll off the tweed in 15-20 knots...tough going we had flying fish galore so stuck it out hoping for marlin but only managed 4 stripies in the end...still no marlin for us yet either...have caught a few decent dollies and a couple of small yellowfin and apart from the stripies thats it for us so far...hopefully back out sunday to do it all again.....

spent 4 days and nights on the water this week... zip at the pin all bar small stuff... hope island produced some just legal lizards and an elbow slapper whiting.. spent last night at Dux and apart from me being hammered by mozzies as big as Kim Kardashians butt i spent a nice 5 minutes battling a huge cattie on bream gear.... put up a huge fight...

have been some small blacks up the top end of north stradbroke jumped one off yesterday.heaps of mac tuna slimy and bait schools but no fish feeding on them have to put in the hours trolling,there was a few fish caught up there though

The week before xmas was really good though the bait was everywhere (not the tuna) and people where hooking the little blacks left right and centre.. hoping to get out again soon when his damn winds buggers off..
    Paulee did you get out today mate?
    By the look of the weather patterns the wind wont stop till next friday

We went 8-4-2 on little blacks yesterday.
    Also ended up with 3 dollies and 2 yellowfin.
    Our mission was to get 2 small boys their first marlin each which we ended up doing.
    Great effort for an 8 and 9 year old.
    I bet they slept well last night,lol

8 hours trolling slimies, gar and lures around Cochrane arti and 2mile reef off Bargara, plus the leads out of the Burnett R for not a single touch. Plenty of flying fish around (in fact first time ive seen them here since moving here 3 odd yrs ago) and plenty of shwos on the sounder - both of bait and big arches - but couldn't tempt a single one.

Plenty nice day on the water though so still better than best day working.

had a troll off straddie yesterday for zip so we ended up playing around with the enormous schools of small bonito just off the point. good fun and plenty of bait for next time though.

Quote Originally Posted by Aussie123 View Post
    We went 8-4-2 on little blacks yesterday.
    Also ended up with 3 dollies and 2 yellowfin.
    Our mission was to get 2 small boys their first marlin each which we ended up doing.
    Great effort for an 8 and 9 year old.
    I bet they slept well last night,lol
    sounds like an awesome day!! did you cast slugs at the yellowfin or did they grab the skirts?