Thread: Stationary Hookups Pop Cherry

Ausfish Platinum Member tenzing's Avatar

Stationary Hookups Pop Cherry

We decided to go the early mark again today, arriving at Hutchies before 5am to beat the crowd. Not much happening so we trolled south for a while . Our plan was to then head south of the Cape where there had been lots of reports of Blacks.
    We decided to stop and pull in the gear. My son was retrieving the last lure when almost at the transom this fabulous little black screams up from underneath and smacks it and continues putting on its aerial display just metres from the boat!
    Fifteen minutes or so later we had it boatside and decided to lift it out for a few pics. - Cherry Popped!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image-1copy.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	55.5 KB 
ID:	87122Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image-9.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	54.4 KB 
ID:	87123

We hooked another in traditional fashion a few minutes later but humanely released it before getting it boatside.

Again we stopped and pulled in the lures , This time a dollie decides its not time for us to go and jumps on to the long rigger as we sat still !

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image-2.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	52.8 KB 
ID:	87124

We lost a dollie which took a slug thrown while we were jigging up livies. ( couldnt give one of those away unfortunately)

All up one and a half blacks ( you know what I mean ) one and a half dollies, striped tuna and HEAPS of fun and laughs.

Listening to the radio it sounded like our intended destination was going off, but we never did get there. Thanks to Will and Steve for a cracker morning on the water

Brendan

Attachment 87119Attachment 87120Attachment 87121

Well done boys

Re: Stationary Hookups Pop Cherry

Good work Brendan looks like 2012 is the year of anglers catching their first marlin.

Joizus that is a bit of alright. Well done fellas

Awsome stuff Tenzing it was a great day to be out on the water.

Cheers Mick....Oh and Thanks for helping me get my boat off the trailer last weekend mate.

Just spoke to Steve Brendon he had a smile you couldn't knock off his face with a shovel
    Well done guys
    Dick

Quote Originally Posted by fisho8 View Post
    Awsome stuff Tenzing it was a great day to be out on the water.

Cheers Mick....Oh and Thanks for helping me get my boat off the trailer last weekend mate.
    No Worries at all mate.
    Looks like you had a brilliant outing!
    Brendan

Goodstuff mate. That is a great shot of the dollie lit up

Congratulation guys great effort .Now im no expert but that looks more like a little striped marlin to me ,billfish all the same for the tally though.

It is definately a little black marlin. Striped marlin dorsal fins would be as high as the body is deep. This fish also has swept back pec fins. Stripers have convex leaf shaped pec fins that can fold back against the body. Blacks are rigid. On little black they may fold back a bit but as they get older they get very rigid and stick out like plane wings. A fair few of these little lit up guys are being mis-identified so far this year.

Good stuff. I think I was just outside you there a couple of times yesterday.

Quote Originally Posted by Smithy View Post
    It is definately a little black marlin. Striped marlin dorsal fins would be as high as the body is deep. This fish also has swept back pec fins. Stripers have convex leaf shaped pec fins that can fold back against the body. Blacks are rigid. On little black they may fold back a bit but as they get older they get very rigid and stick out like plane wings. A fair few of these little lit up guys are being mis-identified so far this year.

Good stuff. I think I was just outside you there a couple of times yesterday.
    Yeah thanks Smithy. When I saw the bright colours I looked twice, but was definitely a Black. Quite a bit more colour than some others about the place. We were certainly lucky boys , although we had gone with a definite plan
    I think you were wide of us about 8am Smithy, and we could hear you on 21, but it was still fairly peaceful where we were and certainly the smoke helped us to hide a bit too.
    We found enormous patches of bait , the full depth of the water column (40 odd metres) on the way back towards Hutchies , and saw marlin break the surface , but they seemed to stop playing the game ( for us anyway).
    We had a meander along the trench on the way home, but it was a total desert.
    Brendan.

PS the lure that got both marlin hookups was a little Pakula Zipper that had been "de frocked" by the razor gang last week. I picked up some skirts for it that were too big and couldnt get the colour I wanted . I had to use a bucket full of supa glue and some cable ties to get the skirts to stick and I fully expect to lose the skirt straight away. they were a black bart skirt and seemed to hold up well considering the misfit.
    In the last few outings all the fish have been on the smallest 2 lures, in the brightest colours , on the shotty or long rigger position. Coincidence??
    Next time I am going to run a couple of zippers and some mini sprockets and put some real colours out there.
    Brendan

PPS I would like to thanks Garry ( Spaniard King) for getting my steering sorted so quickly so that we could get out and enjoy the good weather. I have yet to meet him ( he came to my house twice while I was at work ) but can definitely recommend his services .