Well done DT with a change of light gear and you see why we do it every week. Good fun on light gear and they fight for longer when not from the deep and you can feel everything. Good catch to and solid fish. Cheers DD.....
So I'm not much of an inshore Fisho !
Last time I fished a creek my nuts hadn't dropped
So after reading continuous reports of fish caught on light gear combined with a mate buying a Tinnie the seed was set.
Down the Lollie shop for a light outfit, what weight Dick 6 or 8lb ? Gee that's heavy for a small combo no the line class ! Looking at the 8lb my dental floss is thicker so this will do, spooled onto a 2500 Rarenium and bolted to a 1.5-3 Daiwa itchy twitchy where off!
So we hit the pin this morning armed with every Flathead killer money could buy, first hr spent flicking this and that for no results "Light Bulb Moment" I announce I'm gunna try my fav offshore plastic "ATM" 1hr later 6 lizards ranging from 45-60 later, a 46 Choppa and a 69 Trev yeh I suppose it's fun sort of
Well done DT with a change of light gear and you see why we do it every week. Good fun on light gear and they fight for longer when not from the deep and you can feel everything. Good catch to and solid fish. Cheers DD.....
You know it DT, Go light enjoy the fight! Now your ready for a trip on my tinny.....
good stuff dick. now have a go pulling in the 70+ snaps on the same outfit
fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!
Nice going DT, gotta be happy with that mate
Dam. Take me fishing. Im getting bored catching undersize whiting and bream smaller than my hand from the bank
Horse the hand of God came down when I went for the drag knob "Don't Touch it boomed over my shoulder" The big Fella then fired up the electric and gave chase, I'm glad we turned it as the bar was getting closer.
I set the drag the night before to 1kg wasn't enough to turn it but a little sly finger on the spool worked a treat.
I do agree horse the Trev do run harder & longer than a snap, personal experience snap have a quick blast then float to the surface compared to Trevor's
Dick
Nice one Dick and good move to the lighter gear. Sooooo much more fun hey!
Been fishing a bit with a mate in his Tinny in the Passage using the light gear and ZMann grubz and getting hammered by all different species but my fav is always the trevs as they just don't know when to stop pulling.
We have been near spooled on the light gear at anchor by 45's so I hate to think what a 69 would have pulled like??
Also, ....well done on not tightening the drag!
I have lost my best 2 fish in the last couple of months to 'tightening the drag during the fight syndrome'.
With half a spool gone and the fish still running hard though its a tough choice....
That's where fishing with a lecky comes in so handy as you don't need the anchor and can give chase if required quickly.
So having given up mine, may I ask what is your fav plastic is at present? If you prefer just PM me the answer but I'm very keen to track down one of those 79 models!
Awesome!
Mal
No worries Mal I dont mind sharing Just not with Davo he doesnt need help
My current flavor of the month is 3.75" Baby bass Zman using either 1/4 or 3/8oz Dayoo jig head.
I have caught Snapper up to 78cm School Mackeral, Tailor, countless flat head, 68cm Spangled Emp !! Having said that they work better in the bay than offshore, last trip to Shallow Temp I tried them with a 3/8oz head in 20-30m of water and lost more fish to bite off's and straightened jig heads than I landed
Every time I swapped plastics at the Pin they went off the bite !!!!!!!
Definatly worth a go mate.
Dick
Thanks heaps Dick, Sounds like another addition to my already ridiculous collection of plastics. I checked them out on the net and they look a fair bit like the old 4" powerbaits that were one of my fav's till I got sick of buying packs for only one bite each time.
Zmans definitely produce the goods and outlast the Bekeley's by a mile hey. Similarly the 2" grubz in brown or watermelon have produced for me in fresh water, salt, caught Jacks, flatties, bream, trevs, catfish and Telapia...so far and a mate even caught a blackfish on one the other day in the Pine?
Again thanks for the tips Dick. I have a 5.05mtr Cruise Craft Reef Raider and am keen to try plastics fishing out at Shallow Tempest but have no clue where to start when I've been out there as have no marks and don't know anyone who heads out much. Is it still good out that way now or is it really a winter option only and how much water should I be fishing in?
Mate winter you can plan a trip a week out, summer you plan it the day before then be ready to change it on the day.
For you the run from Bribie to inner freemans chanel isn't that far you just have to pick your day, I have punched 60k's from sangate to the cape in 1m slop to round the cape to glassed out conditions, like wise i have ran across the bay on a mirror to find it standing up 2m+ offshore.
Be aware Inner Freemans on a run out Tide and a NNE onshore wind is as ugly as any coastal Bar do pick your day.
Any of the shoals from Hutchies to shallow Tempest will fish well on soft plastics,20-30m is the magic depth to stay light with3/8-1/2oz jig heads & 5" plastics.
I still can't pick the best day ?? I have had the boat bag out on 60-80cm + snapper in a howling northerly & not caught a fish on a 5knt SSE ?
Somedays you dont have enough people onboard to catch fish other day's 2 is one 2many
Will be tied up fitting out new boat most of Jan but will hook up for a quick cape session if you keen when I have the big girl sorted.
Dick
I have fished a few of the reefs you mentioned and think I've struck that bar pretty bad also and had no clue about the run out tide (or thought about Nor Easters) as never really thought of it as a bar per/se so will keep that in mind for future trips. My efforts at Hutchies have mostly been in 15mtrs and choppy as with 1st mate throwing up more than once. Will move out to 20-30mtrs and see how I do.
As re a Cape Session I'd be keen so just sing out when you're sorted.
Thanks again,
Mal