Thread: Scarbrough Snaps 4/12/2012

Scarbrough Snaps 4/12/2012

Headed out off Scarbrough yesterday afternoon after a mental day at work and had some time up my sleeve great conditions heading out a little bumpy but not bad pulled up at my spot X lines went in and ....Wack zzzzzzz 49cm snap in the eskey and another wack 45cm snap in the esky alot of undersized one's followed. Had 2 young blokes come up to me and ask me how I was going I pulled the 2 fish out of my esky and they said wow where did you get those I told them I got them further south and pointed to a random spot and off they went haha funny enogh he caught to keepers and thanked me for it at the boat ramp lol. Both these fish had my burleigh in their guts which was good to see they picked up on it had 2 massive turtles feeding on my burleigh to....buggers but I did not mind another good feed of fish tonight. Loving this warm weather.
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0351.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	41.9 KB 
ID:	86848   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0352.jpg 
Size:	44.7 KB 
ID:	86849   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0354.jpg 
Size:	62.4 KB 
ID:	86850   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0357.jpg 
Size:	71.8 KB 
ID:	86851   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0358.jpg 
Size:	62.7 KB 
ID:	86852  

Re: Scarbrough Snaps 4/12/2012

you got it sussed mick. well done
    Dad reckons fishing is 10% brains and 95% muscle, the rest is just good luck.

Some good snappers there.

well done mate.
    Cheers, Doug.
    Love to use Preditek or Kingfisher lures or Viva Lures when I am out fishing.

You got this place worked out Mick,well done.
    Life is short fish hard!!!
    21,6 Sea Fox WA Pro ....

Good work mick, you do well off scarby I have not even managed a legal up that way.
    tight lines - mossy

Best eating size. Good work mate.

you got out again you bugger, nice fish

well done

brett

Got it sussed, alright. Great work yet again, Mike. What do you use as burley, and how much roughly? Was thinking of trying some next time I'm around the scarby reefs, as I seem to get snagged a lot fishing right up tight. Also, you throw a paternoster down or unweighted bait? Well done again.

Cuzza

Quote Originally Posted by kingcray View Post
    you got it sussed mick. well done
    Thanks Dean they are there mate just gotta be there at the right time...An incoming tide is best.

Quote Originally Posted by Goodoo haven View Post
    Some good snappers there.

well done mate.
    Thanks Doug they will go down well mate.

Quote Originally Posted by MEG-A-BITE View Post
    You got this place worked out Mick,well done.
    Thanks Wayne just gotta be away from all the noise up on Scarby reef mate nice and quiet where I fish.

Quote Originally Posted by Mossy247 View Post
    Good work mick, you do well off scarby I have not even managed a legal up that way.
    tight lines - mossy
    Thanks Bud I will take you for a trip out and get you a few hopefully sundays weather hold's up and we can go get some twice the size lol.

Quote Originally Posted by the lump View Post
    Best eating size. Good work mate.
    Thanks Macca yeah they are mate 45-60cm are the best eating size I reckon got some good fillets off them.

Quote Originally Posted by littlemac View Post
    you got out again you bugger, nice fish

well done

brett
    Thanks Brett haha I get out there whenever I can mate

Quote Originally Posted by cuzzamundi View Post
    Got it sussed, alright. Great work yet again, Mike. What do you use as burley, and how much roughly? Was thinking of trying some next time I'm around the scarby reefs, as I seem to get snagged a lot fishing right up tight. Also, you throw a paternoster down or unweighted bait? Well done again.

Cuzza
    Thanks Cuzza I use a mixture of Squid and pillies I do not have a burleigh buckit so I just gently throw it off the back of the boat. I don't use alot as I do not want to feed them too much I just want to get them interested. I have not fished scarbrough reef in ages where I fish there is alot of shell beds and rubble it is a good feeding ground as far as the rig I use I use a 0-1 ball sinker single 4/0 gamakatsu octo hook with a flouro pink teaser on top of the sinker I use a whole Medium squid as with the weight of that with the sinker it floats down into the coloum just nice I don't want the bait to hit the bottom I just want it floating in the coloum I have always got goos results using that method.