PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 The Pin area Tues 27th
Went for an arvo/evening run for fishing/crabbing to The Pin from Cabbage Tree Creek Boat Ramp.
Loaded up with 12 pots (3 in boat) and had them in the water by 4 pm with mullet and chook frames. The tide was quite low and we noticed a few pots around on the bank and in front of gutters completly out of the water. Annoying that they are left like that as it can kill the crabs that are in them, especially in this hot weather - and it is illegal as far as I recall.
Had a troll from the deep water in front of Short Island to the front of Swan Bay and then around the front of swan bay with only one hit but not converted. The wind was OK and with an in-coming tide I thought a few trevs might be around. The weed got too much after a while so we went off to cast net for some bait. Got 4 nice mullet about 3 inches long in a creek coming out of short island and then pumped some yabbies.
Checked the pots around 6.30 pm and picked up a keeper sand crab and a keeper muddy. Apart from those 2 keepers the other 10 pots did not have a crab in them. Very quiet......
Fished some deep water towards the eastern end of short island for 4 bream total on yabbies (2 keepers). My ratchet on the ABU ticked over slowly a couple of times at high tide and I picked it up and let some line out. After about 5 mins I wound it up and found only the top half of the mullet left, just under the hook. For my live bait I put my hook in front of the tail on the back. Looks like I should change the position. The second livey was out for about 20 mins but no runs.
Went back to check the pots for a second run at about 8.30 pm with high expectations of a few keepers as I always have done well in the usual spots. But not one pot had a crab in it, not just keepers. It was not share farmers as the bait was not chewed. Although one pot did have an octopus in it, quite large the scared the crap out of us as it was dark and with the legs flying around. With an old torch it was hard to put it back in the water. Plenty of weed covering the pots also.
Cheesed off after a major no show for crabs and pulled in the pots and went home - was going to leave them in for another hour. One mate kept the bream, another the muddy and I kept the sandy. At least it was full and had it in crab spaghetti.
Always good to get out but would have preferred a few more muddie for the effort.
Bloody slooooow by the sounds alright! Fair bit of effort gone to there for bugger all. Still better than sitting at home watching the idiot box though. Ben
mate, I spent a few hours around the banana banks and then near the red beacon at the back Coochie last Tuesday for 1 keeper Sandie too. I'm wondering if the Northerly has something to do with the poor results. I might have to give it another go when the SE is back in. At least you got out for a while. Cheers