Our Taxpayer Dollars At Work - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Our Taxpayer Dollars At Work

Re: Our Taxpayer Dollars At Work

I'm a super market manager (department only) The laws have become so ridiculously strict since the new government came in... We just work with it, but I can see why so many small businesses (dyslexia kicking in.. is that the right word o.O?) are finding it so hard.. My liability has sky rocketed, and I'm the unlucky one who has had 3 work cover cases in 2 years... one lasting 2 years...
    Mostly though... for me it has become a very strict work for your money or the person willing to work harder for it will. I go went through many employees until I built my current team, and I think now the team must be whispering into all new employees ears about, work harder or say goodbye because I virtually don't have to any more.

I would also like to note... I have never kept a doll bludger long enough to pass probation... try as I might to instil good work ethics.. laziness always seems to prevail.

Quote Originally Posted by PatricsOnTheCoast View Post
    I'm a super market manager (department only) The laws have become so ridiculously strict since the new government came in... We just work with it, but I can see why so many small businesses (dyslexia kicking in.. is that the right word o.O?) are finding it so hard.. My liability has sky rocketed, and I'm the unlucky one who has had 3 work cover cases in 2 years... one lasting 2 years...
    Mostly though... for me it has become a very strict work for your money or the person willing to work harder for it will. I go went through many employees until I built my current team, and I think now the team must be whispering into all new employees ears about, work harder or say goodbye because I virtually don't have to any more.

I would also like to note... I have never kept a doll bludger long enough to pass probation... try as I might to instil good work ethics.. laziness always seems to prevail.
    Similar situation here. Juna thinks I am too hard at times, but I openly tell all my staff that when I put on a new staff member, if that person is better than my worst one, I will sack the worst one & hire the new one. This method, as hard as it may seem to many, mainly employees I would imagine, constantly raises the bar & the result is I end up with a great crew. My staff ride the new people to pick up the pace, or wave goodbye to a new job. The reason is, they work so hard, they don't want anyone on their team that they have to carry. It takes a long time to get to this point, but when you do, you get the best possible crew.

You blokes (except back in black) sound like the "who's who of who not to work for".
    Dodgy businesses that "arc up" when they get inspected, go through "lots of bludger employees" and whine about how its all the governments fault that they dont know how to recruit the correct staff or treat them right if they actually do manage to fluke getting a suitable employee.

Probably do a lot of "new" work in the business as well, not quite as many repeat customers as most businesses........

Quote Originally Posted by Feral View Post
    You blokes (except back in black) sound like the "who's who of who not to work for".
    Dodgy businesses that "arc up" when they get inspected, go through "lots of bludger employees" and whine about how its all the governments fault that they dont know how to recruit the correct staff or treat them right if they actually do manage to fluke getting a suitable employee.

Probably do a lot of "new" work in the business as well, not quite as many repeat customers as most businesses........
    yeah right...put a bloke on..was son in law at the time/. Gave him an apprenticeship..he could not seem to pass the exams..7 long years..and me pleading with the Dept to continue the apprenticeship..only to see him start taking damn near every Monday off..then add tuesdays etc etc..got stuck into the grog and drugs. Then a week off without a phone call to notify me of anything. Try completing projects witrh liquidated damages involved when one employee does not have the decency to even give you a phone call. Then he takes a week off without notice..deserted his employment...so end of his job. THEN he contacts FWO and claims he was unfairly dismissed. Not likely. After that I will never employ anyone again..subbies only. If I don't like their work or their ethics..gone.

as for new work..nope..been sub contracting to the same mob for 10 years now.

Quote Originally Posted by Back In Black View Post
    From a boss' perspective, it pays to look after your staff. The cost of retraining, hiring & firing, & the associated risks that come with it are huge. A business is only as good as its staff, & I have great workers. Juna & I work side by side with them, leading by example, & I do believe that is why we have great people, as we lead by example & won't ask them to do anything we wouldn't (not that we shouldn't be able to though)
    Brad, I am different from many employers in that I only employ older people. My youngest staff member is 30, but the majority are in the 40's & 50's. The reason is they have 20-30 years work experience behind them, they usually have a mortgage so they have to work, but they are also of a different vintage & attitude to the younger ones today who believe that just by turning up for work, or attending, is enough to earn a pay packet. The drop off in work ethic from even 10 years ago, let alone 25, is staggering. We have become a "benefit" based country where hand outs are the norm. I was brought up with "no work, no food" & I really like my tucker, so I learnt really early to work like a dog.
    I tell my guys very openly they will never lose their job with me. All they have to do is make themselves indispensable to the boss, so I can't do without them. We employ about 10-12 people, & I need everyone of them. They all start at least 10 minutes early every day & never leave until the job is done. These are the sort of things that will keep you a job.
    Putting your boss into the apprenticeship board & WHS was never going to be a career move for you. I don't know the circumstances, apart from your side, but I have learnt from experience there are 2 sides to every story, & it is amazing just how different they can be at times.

I understand how it may look, the apprentice got sacked and making a big deal out of it.. This is not the case, I had no option but to seek advice from the apprenticeship board ( that is what they are there for). The way I was being treated by my employer I would not wish that on anyone, I was told by the apprenticeship board to report the case to workplace health and safety due to risk of asbestos and working in unsafe conditions.

However I might add that he sacked another apprentice at the start of the year saying he didn't have enough work only to hire another tradesman and when questioned on this his answer was oh well I had my first apprenticeship cancelled get over it... He has a grudge against apprentices..

But believe what you want I know I have done nothing wrong and it is his loss that he has lost a hardworking employer...
    CHEERS BRAD

Quote Originally Posted by Back In Black View Post
    Not sure where to post this, hence general fishing chat. I am a nurseryman & have been for 35 years, supplying Bunnings stores from Cairns to Canberra, & have employed hundreds of people over the years. My attitude to work is, no work, no pay, hence the hundreds of ex employees. You either work your ring off, or someone else will & they will get your job.
    I had a classic example here today of why our country is going down the tubes.
    We had 2 ladies here from Biosecurity Qld testing some stock for "Potato Spindle Tuber Viroid" (PSTV)
    They had to take samples from 54 plants, & when I mean take samples, physically cut a section of the plant off & bag & label it.
    For each plant, they had to change disposable gloves & clean the pruners with bleach. They ran out of gloves & bleach so had to leave & find a Woolies to get new supplies.
    This took 2 ladies from 10am to 3pm, a job we would have had done in 20 minutes max, one person. I had to walk away from them & bite my tongue, as I'm thinking this is my tax dollars being wasted!!
    Hate to think how much work will be involved in testing 54 samples in a lab. Should carry them through to the New Year the rate these ones worked.
    They would absolutely die working in small enterprise. I am classified as a production nursery, as we physically produce the plants. I keep reminding my guys, slow production = no hours
    We seem to be top heavy with govt, management & overly regulated, & it is us, the workers, that are paying for these clowns & I personally resent it.
    Ah, that feels better!!
    You have obviously never worked in a government department.

But then again the private sector is rife with ''would be if they could be'' and ''ring ins'', that somehow manage to keep their job.

Quote Originally Posted by BREAMBOSS01 View Post
    I am an Australian citizen and I think it's pathetic that the Australian government help the boat people get jobs and give employers incentive to employ them.. While a hardworking Australian citizen can't even get a look in from the government agencies...

That is where your tax dollars are being wasted...
    Believe me mate you don't want their jobs

Hopefully someone will pick you up sooner or later.

I lost two jobs over the last twelve months and I can tell you I can work as hard as the next guy, no ####er carries me unless its a team effort.

Lot of companies these days keep the "best ones", but you will usually find someone in the bosses ear telling who they think is the best

Its not about hard work its about sucking up to the right people, the ones that have their tongue firmly wedged between managements ass cheeks.

Personally I cant bring myself to do it, maybe that is what dad means by "eating crow"...

In the industry I work in, it's not hard to see who's playing with the dog (site's G rated so I can't use the correct term ). It's not about sucking up to the bosses - if you work hard and do your job, you get offers to work on other projects. If you continue to post on facebook, check messages, play games on iphones or smoke on a non-smoking site....you will get caught out. If you do the wrong thing you only have yourselves to blame....funny thing is they seem to think that a supervisor has it in for them when they're told to pack up and leave....it has nothing to do with race, sex, or religion. Do you job and what you're paid to do and there'll be no problems.

Quote Originally Posted by MudRiverDan View Post
    I lost two jobs over the last twelve months and I can tell you I can work as hard as the next guy, no ####er carries me unless its a team effort.

Lot of companies these days keep the "best ones", but you will usually find someone in the bosses ear telling who they think is the best

Its not about hard work its about sucking up to the right people, the ones that have their tongue firmly wedged between managements ass cheeks.

Personally I cant bring myself to do it, maybe that is what dad means by "eating crow"...

my most hated word in a work environment..with a team the output will soon decrease to match the lowest common deonminator. ie..everyone will only work as hard as the slowest worker. PLUS..when the proverbial hits the fan the "team" takes no responsibility and all duck for cover. Much rather work with a bunch of individuals.

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    my most hated word in a work environment..with a team the output will soon decrease to match the lowest common deonminator. ie..everyone will only work as hard as the slowest worker. PLUS..when the proverbial hits the fan the "team" takes no responsibility and all duck for cover. Much rather work with a bunch of individuals.
    Yes but wow, It must just be myself, I got sacked over the folk you speak of.

Yeah and I was branded "not a team player" because I arced up when someone was slouching away in their Iphone chat and wasting time.

I am glad someone has the view of work.

You are so right, at the time, being a team player meant slouching around a lot.
    Not saying all workplaces are like this but I have definitely experienced what you say first hand.

Mind you I am not perfect but I am old enough to see stuffing up when I see it.

At this place I worked management did not come out of the office much and they had all these young guys running round each one being a self appointed leading hand, ha you gotta love when everybody assumes they are a leading hand then assumes that their job is to allocate work to everyone while they do nothing, the place was a whole system of self appointed leading hands trying to do as little work as possible.
    Problem is if you worked then someone would come and give you orders because they were obviously above work.
    You would have 5 guys carrying 15 bludgers.

It seemed management preferred to run the show like this, not sure if they were running the company at a loss on purpose or the lack of any real unity among the workers saved them money by not ever having to address any issues.
    Glad I got out really.

Ausfish Platinum Member Crunchy's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by MudRiverDan View Post

Management generally see through sucking up, eventually, it's not a good long term strategy. Attitude is number 1, we've advanced new employees over long termers in an instant when we spot the right attitude...which means don't winge / stir / shirk / undermine / put yourself first the job second etc etc...once proven in return we offer above award wages, safe working environment, welcome employee input into making the working environment better, "extras" for a job well done etc etc....pretty easy really.

[QUOTE=MudRiverDan;1439729]You have obviously never worked in a government department.

But then again the private sector is rife with ''would be if they could be'' and ''ring ins'', that somehow manage to keep their job.

You are right Dan, Ive never worked for anyone but myself. Started my business at 15 years of age, have employed hundreds of people in 35 years, & unlike most of those you refer to in the private sector, see right through any"would be if could be's" & "ring ins" in heartbeat. You know how????? Because I work with them, work longer & harder than them, & can pick up whether someone is a genuine contender or a pretender.

[QUOTE=MudRiverDan;1439732]I lost two jobs over the last twelve months and I can tell you I can work as hard as the next guy, no ####er carries me unless its a team effort.

Dan,
    You sound bitter, & maybe rightfully so. I can assure you not every business conducts itself like that. Like I said in an earlier post, work your ring out, make yourself indispensable, & you will never lose your job. Thats here anyway.

Somehow I mucked up my reply & ended up with some of Dans reply in my post- the bit about "eating crow"