Hi gang,
I was wondering what the best combo would be for $2k or less. Would be used offshore.
Currently have a hummingbird matrix 12 black and white with a shoot through transducer. I need to upgrade.
Ozy
Hi gang,
I was wondering what the best combo would be for $2k or less. Would be used offshore.
Currently have a hummingbird matrix 12 black and white with a shoot through transducer. I need to upgrade.
Ozy
check out the 750s garmin touch screen combo will end up with plenty of change with the current specials
wayne
garmin marine
Hey kitty, I see BCF has them for $1399. That won't have a transducer would it? Is there anything else that is needed and not included in the price?
Oh just found them for $1250 on trymax.
Ozy
Ozy,
The 750s comes with a 500W transducer included at that price.
Most of the big retailers have them running out around the $1300 mark as there is a new line up being released early next year I am lead to believe.
I have the 750 chart plotter only not the combo so can't comment on the fish finder side of things. It the 750 is a brilliant bit of kit can't go wrong I reckon.
fez
Thanks for that fez. Are they transom mount or through hull?
Ozy,
Transom mound would be the standard one supplied with the unit. Retails at $125
Whitworths have the plastic through hull for $179 and bronze through hull for $329 in their catalogue that arrived today.
fez
Last edited by fez; 22-11-2012 at 08:36 PM. Reason: Stupid predictive text
As a chartplotter the Garmins are great but I dont think the 750s is that good as a sounder compared to the Furunos.
You can get an fcv620 for about $1200 now and a garmin 551 for $750.
As above, the 750s in NOT a good sounder but a really good plotter. I'd spend my hard earned on the sounder as that will catch the fish - the newish Furuno 627 and whatever left over on a chartplotter such as one of the low end Lowrances.
7 inch screen too smal for combo.
What sort of fishing, depth etc... ?
furuno sounder. cheap plotter as others have said.
Go the Lowrance combo. The ability to mark a waypoint on the sonar screen is a great feature.
lowrance hds 7 touchscreen and either a 83/200 or 50/200 Transducer k e o g h s m a r i n e have them on their website for $1685.00 plus the transducer, so you will be on or under the budget and get the latest product on the market. I have a an old hds gen1 and have been very happy with it . definately a much better product than the Garmin gpsmap750
I agree with the posts above regarding the Garmin 750S - great chartplotter but the sounder function is average, especially compared to the Furuno 627.
What would Steve do?
fortes fortuna adjuvat
We fitted the Garmin 750s with the transducer that came in the kit. Nice unit for inshore, but have been asking around about a 1kw transducer, Whitworths quoted me $1500 for 1kw transom mount. They have the 750s on sale for $1250.
We get bottom to almost 300m and have observed fish being marked to 500 odd on the drift, but if you want to deep drop I reckon there are better units available.
The chart plotter and blt in maps are good, the touch screen is easy to use, but for serious offshore, from all reports, Furuno seems to be the way to go.
Strewth you had my eyes bulging, saw this thread in the recent posts list and thought, $2000 combo - thats going to be one heck of a rod and reel!
Oz put a Furuno 627 sounder in mate and Navionics app on IPhone or IPad to compliment your current plotter and you done for $1400
Dick