Thread: Kinchant dam, bank fishing

Kinchant dam, bank fishing

Hey guys, just wanting to know whether it's worth my time getting a permit to have a go at Kinchant dam. No boat etc so was wondering whether many locals have been catching fish from the banks? Or should I just not waste my time. Very open to suggestions. Cheers guys

Re: Kinchant dam, bank fishing

Quote Originally Posted by shincism1 View Post
    Hey guys, just wanting to know whether it's worth my time getting a permit to have a go at Kinchant dam. No boat etc so was wondering whether many locals have been catching fish from the banks? Or should I just not waste my time. Very open to suggestions. Cheers guys
    G'day mate, the banks that are accessible are all covered in weed so I suggest that you use top water lures such as hard legz frogz and scum frogs. Make long casts to the outer edges of the weed beds.
    My son caught 2 barra, 95 and 93 cm in the weeds using the hard legz.

Re: Kinchant dam, bank fishing

You can also get Owner weedless jig heads so you dont get snagged so easily. I am goping up there on Saturday and camping but I will be taking my kayak.
    BOAT really does mean Bring out Another Thousand

Quote Originally Posted by FishHunter View Post
    You can also get Owner weedless jig heads so you dont get snagged so easily. I am goping up there on Saturday and camping but I will be taking my kayak.
    Yer I'm wanting a yak pretty bad now haha. Just don't Want spend heaps of money. Thought it would be good for up near Dumbleton way as well. Let me know how you go up there. Good luck!

Sent from my HTC One XL using Tapatalk 2

Quote Originally Posted by BobbyJ123 View Post
    G'day mate, the banks that are accessible are all covered in weed so I suggest that you use top water lures such as hard legz frogz and scum frogs. Make long casts to the outer edges of the weed beds.
    My son caught 2 barra, 95 and 93 cm in the weeds using the hard legz.
    Thanks mate. I've gotten into the snagless. They work quite well in normal circumstances as well. Will give those options a shot!

Sent from my HTC One XL using Tapatalk 2