Would have to be a pretty good day offshore to get it up to 48knots.
mate my head is far from being in the sand. i have been in the new model on several occasions. is the ride different yes drastically no. the new pods are longer and heavier and rated for the heavier 4st engines. so more weight further back its a no wonder they ride different. more weight further back counter levers the ass of the boat down closing the tunnel gap to the water in effect limiting the boats ability to exhaust the turbulent water entering from the front. i am by no means an expert but im far from having my head in the sand. we could sit here an argue about high tunnel, low tunnel, square tunnel, round tunnel,wave breakers in tunnels asymetric non asymmetric hulls all day but in the end we will get no where because in the end its all based on personal opinion. so i think we can agree on one thing we both like kevlacats and if frosti wants to purchase one then i reckon thats a good thing. cheers dan
Would have to be a pretty good day offshore to get it up to 48knots.
I had a 5.2 for 8 years and put 1500 engine hours on it fishing out of mooloolaba. Sold it in 2010. I always thought it was the 1700 and the 1900 was the 5.8. A mate who worked at kevlacat and spent at bit of time in the 1900 seemed to think the 1700 was the better boat, I've not been in the 1900 so not sure. Mine had 2001 2 stroke yammies 90's and topped out at 37 knots, and cruised at 25knots at 4100 rpm. Can't remember the exact fuel figures but it was thirsty. Bit more than 2 liters per mile (50 ltrs per hour ). If I still had it, I'd be looking to put light wieght 4 strokes on it, 80 hp I'd recken would be perfect. When we set the boat up the 2 stroke yammy 90 was 128kg and the 4 stroke was 189 kg. That extra 122kg swinging off the pods would have been to much. I think the 80 4 stroke yammy is now 125 kg which would match the 5.2 perfectly. Mine had 340 liters of fuel but I think most had 220-240? liters, and I had the big fish esky taking up the whole box under drivers seat, and a half size one under the other seat for piss (don't want fishy beers) and the other half of the box for safty gear. We put the live bait tank in the center of the rear cockpit wall which worked well too. Was a great boat to own and had no problems from the hull whatsoever. Had 2 starter crap out, which leads to a 6 knot trip home by the way. Handles the sea well, I'd regularly go to northern banks and fish till the northerly would blow me in and never saw the bow dig in (then roll) like some of the small cats can. Basicaly handles the sea like a 23 mono in my view, but I am biased.
How Big,
who even mentioned 48 knts offshore. I think you should get your hand off it and change it too HOW SMALL. What size cat do you own or are you just one of the tyre kickers that knows f#uck all but love the sound of your own voice and your keyboard.
I don't own a cat i could never be man enough to drive one of them
why dont you enlighten me on where this mysterious 48k was made then champion.
I want to see the major upgrades that make these 130 yamaha 2 strokes in recent years, sooooo economical considering they haven't changed in years and are still carb and loop charged. why doesn't grand marlin back you up and say that you are spot on, better economy from larger carb 2 stroke than a smaller 4 stroke on the same boat. You are saying that he set it up aren't you, get him to put the figures up. I have spoken to yamaha Australia and they want you and your boat to do a power report as there new 70 4 strokes on 560 series only just uses less and they can't believe your figures and they are shattered they have spent billions on technology when their 20yo tech is more efficient.
http://www.yamaha-motor.com.au/sites...%20F70AETX.pdf
Also That boat became known on the coast as "the shark cat" and the name stuck. Then Harbours and Marine asked for one for survey work, so Bruce built one. Then someone else ordered one. When he sold the company in 1978 Shark Cat's 42 employees built 300 boats in three models - the 23-footer, the 20, and the 18. The 23 and the 18, particularly, became classics. (A 5.5m was never built??? glad you know boats especially your own!!!) aloneatseaphotography.com.au/9650. but I guess you'll say he is wrong and bruce harris is wrong also.
over ten sets of outboards my cat has had (was commercial use all have been worn out).
I love peanuts that know nothing but know it all.
Frosti,
Off on a tangent, if you are thinking of buying new check out one of Al Broughton's 5.9m Seatrek cats. Al is a pattern maker and does all the mods to the KC moulds for them but produces his own boat which is the 5.9. Top bloke, top boat. Worth sussing him out. Dunno what they weigh on a trailer though. He has fitted everything to them from Etecs to Suzi and Yammie 4 bangers.
Everyone else,
on the 560 Shark Cats, I'd say the 80-100 Yammie 4 strokes are the best thing for them going on what Richie Freeman, one of our local spanner crabbers has found. In the life of his 35 year cat he could have circumnavigated the globe 12 times and has put 30 pairs of outboards on it. His last few motors have been either 80 or 100 Yammies from my observations and on his site. http://aloneatseaphotography.com.au/9650
CATchinEm
Give it up mate. Once again you cant read and have your facts wrong. I did say as quoted on page one(The new two strokes feul consumption ISN'T as good as the four strokes of course.)Grand Marlin did not fit the motors or do any work to them however he had twin 90 etecs on the back of his. As for the fuel consumption they were quoted by rosco who has not only been in my boat but has been behind the wheel just to see how it performs and i guess
to kill his curiosity as to why i chose the stick with two strokes. If you doubt what someone has said, how hard is it to say sorry mate but i would have to see it to believe it or simply ask for some pics next time you take the boat for a run showing speed and fuel consumption. It might just help people to stop thinking that you are a know it all d#ckh##d. Or perhaps when you see the pics you might not feel like one. Theres nothing worse then haveing a chop at someone that you have never met but then again there are some keyboard heros out there.
How Big
I can enlighten you on 48knts. That was the wot speed i had when the twin 130s were fitted useing original yamaha three blade props. I had a set of four blade custom stainless props made and when fitted i have now lost a few knots at the top end, however i gained better fuel economy through a wider rev range. They have been modified not straight off the shelf and i am know prop expert however they made a difference.
Hope you fellas have a good day.
Cheers Mick.
You cant help yourself can ya. 5.5 metres equals 18.0 feet, 5.6metres equals 18.3 feet. So is your boat 18 foot or 18foot three?????????????
As for peanuts if they gave them out as a reward for getting mathematical questions right, you would F##KN starve.
As i said above give it up mate.
Cheers mate.
Nothing better than a good cat-fight but listen up Noelm, everyone hates the bloke that breaks them up.
A little cat nostalgia, a lifetime ago someone told me the very first Bruce Harris Sharkcat was a 16 Footer made of ply, has anyone heard of that story?
Couldnt agree more Noelm, I would like to think of this site as being helpful and informative not a big pi##ing comp. Its good to have so many blokes from so many backgrounds and industries but the criticism should be constructive and tact full. I am by know means a one eyed cat owner as i also like some monos and plate boats as well even been in a few inflatible ribs off the western australian coast up at exmouth. The name wave dancer was actually the name of a 6m cruisecraft seametre.
Cheers Mick.
IT was lead to believe that it was a christmas present for his father inlaw. The plywood sheets come in 8ft by 4ft so his father inlaw ended up with a 16ft long 8ft wide boat as a present. Not wanting to hi jack this thread i will put up a new post with an old article. Its a bit long but not a bad read also covers the rebirth of the sharkcat.
Cheers Mick.
you're right wave dancer your boat is bigger and more economical and you call names way better And of course you catch more fish.......
and everyone knows the truth.
don't know what I ever did to you except question you??(getting awful upset over something)