Thread: Small boat for rivers, is $300 enough.

Re: Small boat for rivers, is $300 enough.

Yeah I just wasted a few minutes of my life reading his old posts. Doesn't matter how much he saves he won't catch anything except moray eels and catfish anyway. Better off spending your 300 at the pub mate, put some on keno and you might have a win......

Quote Originally Posted by Si View Post
    hey mate, i have a homemade 2.6m timber/ply punt that i have used about a dozen times fishing. it's a great little boat, very stable and safe. I use to stand up in it and cast lures around. It has a proper transom for bolting a small outboard or electric on it. I use to have my minn kota on the back. I'm looking to sell it soon for real cheap t you if you are interested but i think it may be too far away for you. shame. i dont have any full photo's of it unfortunetly but one partial one to give you an idea.
    I'd really like to see some full centre-spread shots of your boat if you ever get a chance.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Found a 3.7 tinny at Roslyn Bay, going down Saturday. Fingers crossed.

Please post some more pics of the 2.6 punt Si. Looks like a little ripper.

This might be a bit rude, but what do you do for a living?

I just can't understand why it's taken 2 years to save up $300..

Up until recently customer service roles. I have a new more technical role for an electrical engineering firm which I hope will pull me out of this hole.

But for the last 6 years been in a rotten place financially, hecs debt, a mortgage I can't afford, child support and big medical bills.

But I believe there is light at the end of the tunnel soon.

Quote Originally Posted by Chamelion View Post
    Does no one else remember this bloke? Debates on whether or not he was merely taking the p1$$ occurred back in the day.

Shouldn't you have saved $5000 by now? - http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...ing-for-a-boat
    thanks chamelion. I dont know what to believe now. What a waste of time. Are you for real Aus? Whats going on?

It's never a waste of time when someone asks for advice. I got some, and looks like it may pay off, here's hoping. Thankyou to those who assisted me.

I conducted myself poorly many years back when I first joined. I'm a different person now, not physically, but mentally and emotionally. Please dont crucify me for being a knobb then. That was a bad bad time for me. I've left it all behind, I hope others can too.

Goodo Aus. The past is the past. You're asking for info and getting it here so all is good I reckon.

I know there are situations where disposable income is next to nothing and there are few options for change. You might be there now but as you said you may soon see an improvement.

I like the way you've owned up to being a knob earlier. Shows maturity and gumption. Good luck to you.

I hope your daughter and you have many happy hours together on the water.

Hands up all those who have never acted like a knob-head....ever.
    No hands up??

Mate...If I was you I'd wait a little while longer and see how things pan out.
    You never know. You might be able to buy a real decent boat in the near future.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Quote Originally Posted by aus2045 View Post
    It's never a waste of time when someone asks for advice. I got some, and looks like it may pay off, here's hoping. Thankyou to those who assisted me.

I conducted myself poorly many years back when I first joined. I'm a different person now, not physically, but mentally and emotionally. Please dont crucify me for being a knobb then. That was a bad bad time for me. I've left it all behind, I hope others can too.
    ok, fair enough mate. Will take some photos of the beast soon and i will post up.

Thanks for the response.

I guess I should never take my luck and good fortunes for granted.

Keep your head up, it'll all come to fruition in the end.

Fair enough from me too. Good luck with your search, I'd hold off til I had a gorilla in my hand and keep an eye out on boats that don't move out of driveways. I picked up my little boat by knocking on door and putting a grand under the nose of a bloke with an old 14 ft pongrass with an old evi and a near new trailer, and a carton sealed the deal. 20 pineapples in the hand is hard to refuse for something you don't use or need..... Now its my boat that I never use, but I will one day

A couple of years ago I was in Cairns working for a recruitment agency getting bugger all work at minimun wage battling along with just enough money to get me pissed on the weekend, I now have a 5m plate boat paid off and a decent job.

Chin up mate if I can do it you can to. Work really hard you will get there if you really want to.

aus2045 sent me a PM.. I'm happy to give the benefit of the doubt and conclude that he's legitimately seeking guidance.

Plenty of us are no more than two months from bankruptcy in reality, all it takes is bad luck or bad health.
    Good luck with your search and good luck with your future.