Off Straddie Today

Thread: Off Straddie Today

Off Straddie Today

Was meant to be holding an offshore trip with my fishing club but thought the weather would be a bit ordinary so we canned it. A few of us decided to have a crack in one of the bigger boats (Haines 680) with the view of an early day if need be. Left Viccy Point at around 3.45 and crossed a bumpy bay. Went through the Amity end of SPB with not much swell but very bumpy conditions. Gathered a few livies and headed south in rather crap conditions. Glad I wasn't in my boat! Just near shag rock I saw a couple of fish cruising on the surface with dorsal and tails out of the water that I swear were big cobia. Unfortunately we were doing 20 knots at the time and the skipper didnt see them until they exploded and went under. Turned for a look but they were gone. Continued to punch our way south to our spot only to be greeted with washing machine like conditions which made each drift a different direction. Fishing was tough with only 1 squire boated in the first hour or so.
    Eventually the wind started to ease and we got another fish or 2 in the box. I decided to send a small live pike to the bottom on a floatlining rig and no sooner got to the bottom and got smashed. Nice Maori Cod in the bin. This is alright I thought so I strapped on a little yakka and sent it down next. Reached the bottom and bang on again. This one was a bit bigger but still felt coddish. Nice goldspot hits the deck.
    We moved around a fair bit and eventually scraped up a good mixed bag.
    Wind had backed right off by lunchtime and conditions improved for the ride home.
    Done and dusted by 1pm.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Straddie Sunday.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	74.2 KB 
ID:	85770

Re: Off Straddie Today

Thats a great day out.

A really nice mixed bag of fresh fish for you.

Well done mate.
    Cheers, Doug.
    Love to use Preditek or Kingfisher lures or Viva Lures when I am out fishing.

Nice feed there Jason, you have to love Maori Cod and Snapper, how was the launch at Viccie Pt in the big Haines?
    Tangles KFC

Yeah not too bad Mike. Launched on the northern side of the pontoon. No dramas. Bit deeper that side I reckon.

Good going there big fella......Karma was it?

Good on ya for braving those crap conditions macca and you got some nice fish as well... Sort of glad we stayed in the bay... with that 30kg wahoo boated on wednesday we were keen to get out and get one ourselves ..oh well next time.
    Cheers Perry

Nice work macca, great mixed bag there, did you guys do any trawling at all? Or here any chatter re pelargics being caught. Mark

Quote Originally Posted by Muddy Toes View Post
    Good going there big fella......Karma was it?
    It was Muddy. How do you know of that vessel? Dave?

Quote Originally Posted by madmackrel View Post
    Good on ya for braving those crap conditions macca and you got some nice fish as well... Sort of glad we stayed in the bay... with that 30kg wahoo boated on wednesday we were keen to get out and get one ourselves ..oh well next time.
    Cheers Perry
    Thanks Perry. You guys sounded like you were having a good time anyway mate. You didnt miss much.

Quote Originally Posted by Stansy View Post
    Nice work macca, great mixed bag there, did you guys do any trawling at all? Or here any chatter re pelargics being caught. Mark
    No trolling Stansy and not much chatter other than a lot of blokes talking about going to Tangas for a beer!

Quote Originally Posted by the lump View Post
    It was Muddy. How do you know of that vessel? Dave?
    Was it the Viccy Point launch that gave it away? Nar!
    Was it the 680 Haines that gave it away? Nar!
    Was it the RBAFC trip that gave it away? Nar!

Am I just a crazed and obsessed stalker of yours that tracks your every movement?

So the question begs to be asked now......which Dave?

Quote Originally Posted by Muddy Toes View Post
    Was it the Viccy Point launch that gave it away? Nar!
    Was it the 680 Haines that gave it away? Nar!
    Was it the RBAFC trip that gave it away? Nar!

Am I just a crazed and obsessed stalker of yours that tracks your every movement?

So the question begs to be asked now......which Dave?
    As stated in another thread your an observant bugger. The Dave thing was just me making an asian connection. Daves bait and tackle. Asian dude. Muddy Toes asian dude. You all know each other or are related somewhere aren't you

Dave.......Ex BCF Capalaba, new resident to 'Failed business corner' at Viccy Pt/Pt Halloran?

You know what it's like...............we all go back to the same house at the end of every day.

nice feed there Jason ,, I went around the top end for a look at about 8.30am but as you say it was a '' washing machine'' we turned around & stayed in the bay .. my crew wanted to go out but I said next time,, anyway mate well done
    Cheers Bill

Well done Jason nice little feed there mate..
    Chris.
    TEAM F.C.R.