Thread: Best bait for muddys

Best bait for muddys

G`day,

What is the best bait for muddys ya reckon? Also, Gumby question. Along the bank there is a greenish guttery looking thing. What is it?

Re: Best bait for muddys

overnite soaks i use big reef fish frames and chicken frames but if you want to check them in bout 1hr time use mullet or tailor frames

Gday Glenndarryl, have a look through this thread that i posted a few months back. theres some good ideas in there.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...erimental+crab

FYI, the final plan i had went geart! i got more crabs than usual and ended up putting the home made 'chum' in little bags made from the plastic mesh that you get around a swap and go BBQ cylinder!!

zac.

The best bait for crabs is CATS

Quote Originally Posted by timddo View Post
    The best bait for crabs is CATS
    True but they are a bastard to get in the pot- scratch shit out of ya!

Trying leaving your pots baited in your boat over night before you go. Maybe the moggies will crawl in there for you

I've found the cheapest tinned fishy cat food works as well as fish frames, strange I know,
    I say the cheapest as it has more oil and juice to spread the sent,

Just take a screw driver with you and stab 6-8 holes in the tins, cable tie them into the pot.
    must be all the juice, jelly and oily stuff that comes out but it works a treat.. great for camping also as it wont stink ya esky out,

Don't use red meat if you are crabbing in croc country or you will increase your chances of losing your pots 10 fold ..So I hear anyway, cant say I ever wanted to risk pots to prove a good mate wrong..

In saying this I still use fish frames as I've generally got to get rid of them anyway.

Cheers Dave