Bogans on beaches - DI / Teewah

Thread: Bogans on beaches - DI / Teewah

Bogans on beaches - DI / Teewah

Why is it that this area seems to be a mecca for bogans intent on damaging their vehicles, themselves or some innocent bystander?

Blokes doing donuts, driving up dunes, speeding through families with little kids, and the old classic of towing their bogan mates on skimboards through the edges of the lagoon at DI, fine if you have the place to yourself (at your own risk obviously), but when you need to share the area with other pedestrians and vehicles, not so bright.

We went up to Inskip for our annual father/son camping trip on the weeked with about 15 odd dads and 20+ kids ranging from 4 - 13 and took a drive down to DI via the Kings Bore road for the day on Saturday. We stopped by the DI lagoon and waited for the tide to drop out to return to Rainbow The track around the edge of the lagoon between the dunes was pretty narrow, down to a car width in some spots with others impassable with trees etc.

We watched on in disbelief as a multitude of vehicles continually sped through narrow sections of firm sand only to reach an impass of fallen trees 200m further up the beach. From here they would turn around and fly back through again, all with metres of young children playing at the waters edge. It's not like we were the only group, there were people scattered along every section of the lagoon, all minding their own business enjoying a warm weekend in the sun all subjected to the same idiots.

There was no need for the speed in these instances, the sand was hard and easy to drive in any type of vehicle so no need for any momentum etc. Our group are all mostly well seasoned beach drivers and would not have put the kids anywhere near an area where cars needed speed on their side. But these clowns just ignored everybody despite quite a few groups protesting at their pace and barged through regardless.

Oh well, it seems the permits only slowed the rednecks down for a little while, but now they are returning in numbers and driver behaviour on the beach is bordering on the ridiculous again. Everybody bitches and moans about the cops on the beach spoiling peoples fun, but with dickheads like this in such abundance they are an absolute necessity.

I just hope it doesn't take a tragedy to see this type of behaviour curbed in this beautiful places, more restrictions are not what anybody wants to see.

Kev

Re: Bogans on beaches - DI / Teewah

Get some footage on your Iphone, making sure you get the rego number, & see if the cops are interested in pursuing it.

Ausfish Platinum Member mylestom's Avatar

Well posted,

Common sense just ain't so common with some of these people.
    Fish for the future, enjoy the present but think of your children.

Makes em feel like big men.

Ausfish Gold Member

I wonder if these clowns even bother to get the permits.

That's why I stopped going there years ago. Moreton, Straddie and Fraser are to expensive for the tosers in their clapped out hilux and patrols. Costs me more but at least i relax. DI is just to accessible.

Ausfish Platinum Member Mr__Bean's Avatar

When we go over to Tangalooma for the day with kids I always take a shovel.

First I dig a hole to bury the stern line anchor, then I dig a speed hump channel in front of our camp / set-up, about 2 shovels wide by 1 shovel deep. Doesn't have to be too deep and only for about 5 metres in front of the gazebo and chairs etc. It is enought to keep the dills away from where we are standing / sitting / drinking etc.

It slows people down as they see it, and if they don't it provides entertainment.

Teewah has been like that for a long time. When I lived on the east coast I would generally try to only get up there well outside of school holidays and mid-week, sometimes there would only be a handful of vehicles getting around, and no morons. Not everyone has the luxury of doing this of course but I learnt my lessons many years ago over long weekends and the dreaded Easter break, a trip that still gets mentioned in my circle of friends to this day (people lining up for campsites to be vacated like shopping centre carparks, there was even some campsite rage action happening).
    I take it that the f^&king beach tax didn't keep punters away like some advocates were pointing out? It's unfortunate now you have to pay for that sort of experience....I wonder what the money is going towards?....
    Vegetarian - Ancient tribal slang for the village idiot that can't hunt, fish or ride.

Hi Just Chips, just interested in the condition of the beach around in the bay on the northern side of DI? Can we pass the rocks at Rainbow on the low tide at all? Is there much other obstructions on the way around? Thinking of doing a run up there on Saturday.
    Thanks for any info
    Lee
    The wait is finally over.........was worth every minute..........let the RIPTIDE rip..........hell yehhhh

Quote Originally Posted by Any_Weather View Post
    Hi Just Chips, just interested in the condition of the beach around in the bay on the northern side of DI? Can we pass the rocks at Rainbow on the low tide at all? Is there much other obstructions on the way around? Thinking of doing a run up there on Saturday.
    Thanks for any info
    Lee
    Yeah we had no problems with any rocks at Rainbow they look well and truly covered at the moment. A small lagoon that had formed up near the beach entry caused more problems than anything else with nobody willing to cross a section of water that was probably about a foot deep with many morons trying to drive into the flagged area of the beach to keep their tyres dry. We waited till about 2 hours before low to make the journey from DI up to Rainbow but in reality we probably could have left a couple of hours earlier with no real visible obstructions and plenty of sand along that stretch.

Quote Originally Posted by Back In Black View Post
    Get some footage on your Iphone, making sure you get the rego number, & see if the cops are interested in pursuing it.
    I don't think that stretch from the Leisha track up to the point is signposted with a speed limit which would probably give these guys free reign up to 80klm. Whilst they weren't doing 80klm they were certainly exceeding what we deemed an acceptable speed within a metre or two of kids playing in water. I would estimate up to 60klm, but it always seems like it's fast when they pass so close to you and everybodies screaming at the kids not to move......

So if their not exceeding the actual speed limit I'm not sure if the coppers could do much, but it's a worthy suggestion and something that I will do in the future if needed. Thanks.

Kev

Cheers mate, just the info I was after.
    Lee
    The wait is finally over.........was worth every minute..........let the RIPTIDE rip..........hell yehhhh

Ausfish Platinum Member bennykenny's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Just_chips View Post
    I don't think that stretch from the Leisha track up to the point is signposted with a speed limit which would probably give these guys free reign up to 80klm. Whilst they weren't doing 80klm they were certainly exceeding what we deemed an acceptable speed within a metre or two of kids playing in water. I would estimate up to 60klm, but it always seems like it's fast when they pass so close to you and everybodies screaming at the kids not to move......

So if their not exceeding the actual speed limit I'm not sure if the coppers could do much, but it's a worthy suggestion and something that I will do in the future if needed. Thanks.

Kev
    they should have restrictions like jetskis, within 30meters of people a 10 km/h speed limit applies, it would make sense on the beach.

...of all the liars among mankind, the fisherman is the most trustworthy. ~William Sherwood Fox.

Quote Originally Posted by bennykenny View Post
    they should have restrictions like jetskis, within 30meters of people a 10 km/h speed limit applies, it would make sense on the beach.
    Hahahaha, don't even get started on that. The jetskis in that lagoon are mad, towing skiers & wakeboarders, racing, joyriding etc, all the while sharing the small amount of space with numerous swimmers, kayakers, kiteboarders etc. It gets pretty crazy up there.

But slowing down when so close to people could just be considered common sense but as has been noted already in this thread, common sense is not as common as you think....

Ausfish Platinum Member Mr__Bean's Avatar

Especially if the noise of the surf is drowning out the noise of vehicles fast approaching.

It is sooooo easy to turn around and be surprised to see a vehicle going past you didn't even hear.

Last edited by Mr__Bean; 24-10-2012 at 07:09 PM. Reason: Speeling