Some silly bloody Galah broke my UHF aerial off

Thread: Some silly bloody Galah broke my UHF aerial off

Some silly bloody Galah broke my UHF aerial off

B@stard of a thing.....
    I was just driving along to see my old mate and some bloody stupid kamikaze friggin' galah flies straight in my aerial and snaps it clean off. Sh!t
    That aerial seemed to have a death wish for ages now. It nearly got broken off by a truck wheel hitting it on the Gateway about a month ago.
    Now the hard job....finding the spare aerial.

Bugger
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Ausfish Platinum Member Boat Hog's Avatar

Re: Some silly bloody Galah broke my UHF aerial off

OMG how terrible! I hope the poor bird is Okay.

Wouldn't happen to a city lad like me - no Galahs here - well, except for those in the local council chambers!

Ausfish Platinum Member netmaker's Avatar

spare a thought for a truckie client of mine who was smacked in the head by an owl which flew straight in the drivers window. resulted in 1 truck full of chooks laying on it's side. poor bloke is now known by his workmates as hooter.
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

I have been smacked in the face by a bird one nght driving my boat!!! but back to the aerial, flamin' Galahs, stone the flamin' crows.

I'm kind of surprised that it was a Galah. Thought it would be more likely an owl or a hawk - aren't they more into aerial combat?

Believe it or not but that same aerial was nearly wiped out by a semi trailer wheel a little whiles ago.
    I was cruising up the Gateway and a wheel literally fell off the back of a truck. It bounced and sailed over the front corner of poor Mrs Palmer and then sailed over the guard rail. I reckon it missed me by about a foot.
    I tried to radio the truck but he/she must of had the radio off.
    I had to sit on the side of the road for a while after that as the nerves and undies were shot and then I thought....bugger this....I'm having that wheel....so over the guard rail it went and into the back of Mrs Palmer it sat.
    When I got home that arvo I found out those suckers are heavy when your not all pumped up on adrenalin.
    So now my wog mate has a real shiny (as it was a Durabrite) hose reel.

I've hit a Kookaburra on the motorcycle, a crow in the WB 1 tonner (head through the indicator) and a flock of Galah's with about 2 ending up in the ute. Apparently ladders on the roof stuff their safety calculations a bit.
    I've also hit a carrot and a mouse (not at the same time) in the windscreen.
    And roos. Don't start me on bloody skippy's

Oh...I found my spare aerial. It's one of those heavy wire tyoe aerials instead of the fiberglass one that was on there. Break that ya dopey buggers.
    Last edited by finga; 22-10-2012 at 04:48 PM. Reason: more to gabber about

Ausfish Platinum Member netmaker's Avatar

quite the greenie
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

There's no doubt about it Scotty - you're a chick magnet!

Too much vibration - rough roads in central Qld - will render a stainless aerial useless in 12 months. 2 in 2 years before I had mine beefed up. Scotty, I have a spare fibreglass one in the shed if you mow those galahs down again.

Thanks for the offer Mike.
    I have a spare fibreglass one somewhere too but the wire whip was the first I came across.
    I might as well use it until it breaks and then use it to prop up a tomato plant
    She'll be right until it breaks otherwise it'll be another bit of rubbish that'll sit in the shed until someone has to clean it out when I'm dead and thrown off the north wall at Evans.

I just had a thought...
    Now that I have a wire whip on the front.....if/when silly bloody Galahs try to break it off they'll become a quick shish-ka-bob.
    All I'd have to do is chuck the aerial on the BBQ when I get home and wait.

or.... just tuck the aerail complete with Galah behind the exhaust manifold and your lunch will be cooked by the time you get home!

Years ago out past Theodore on way to Moura we came across a camira that had lost a disagreement with a massive wedge tail eagle. Hit it at 100km/hr just at the top of the wind screened it had collapsed the front half of the cab down. One very scared and lucky driver