New Suzuki DF140a Lean Burn - Page 2
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: New Suzuki DF140a Lean Burn

Re: New Suzuki DF140a Lean Burn

took it for a run today, put an hour on it just putting around and cruising nicely at 3,000rpm on the plane. will finish the run in on saturday.
    feels like it definitely needs alllott more pitch, snaps onto the plane super super easy. scarily easy in fact. sooo much nicer than the '06 honda it replaced.
    At 3,100rpm it was doing about 9ltr per hour at a hair under 30kph, so what does that equal, 3km/ltr?
    i'll hook up the GPS to the GM10 prior to the weekend to get some more exact figures - looks promising though.

IMAG0235.jpg

Ausfish Platinum Member honda900's Avatar

My boat is a glass boat. Yalta 555HC, so will be heavier and has a four blade.

Solas 14 1/8 *18 - 4 blade
    RPM , Speed, Fuel LPH
    1000 6.8 1.4
    2000 10.9 5.8
    3000 16.4 11.4
    4000 36.3 17.4
    5000 49.6 26.8
    WOT-6000 63.5 40.1

Best econmically running around 4700 RPM, getting approx 2.2 Km's per litre.

HOnda

just back from running it in. what a balltearer.
    love this thing, still not sure what the most fuel economical spot is but i can confirm it does 3kms to the litre, which is sensational if you ask me.
    only does about 67kph WOT but needs a 21p as i have to back off the throttle to stop it going over 6200 - and that is with a full fuel load, 2 up and a full esky.
    will swap this prop over in the next couple of weeks and see how that goes.

Forgot to mention - since this is a fishing site afterall.. we got a couple of small brassy trevally and a cobe while running the motor in.

DSC_0175.JPG_s.jpgDSC_0172.JPG_s.jpgDSC_0169.JPG_s.jpgDSC_0178.JPG_s.jpgDSC_0193.JPG_s.jpgDSC_0192.JPG_s.jpgDSC_0184.JPG_s.jpgDSC_0197.JPG_s.jpg

What prop size is on it at the moment?
    Cheers Chris.

hey mate, got a 19p std. suzuk alloy prop on it at the moment.

Can the boys at Quality get you a lend of a 21? I had a 21 on my 140 unloaded it did great! Top end speed up around the 67km mark,but with weight no good got a 4 blade 19stainless prop from solas wich is good but im still not convinced with it.How quiet are the Suzi's ay!
    Cheers Chris.

Yeah no probs there prop will get swapped at its first service. If the 21p works good ill prob invest in a stainless one. I think I'll stick with a three blade tho, what top speed do you get with the 4 blade?

Gday bud,top speed around the 60 mark,thats with 200l fuel all the gear and three humans on board,great for the long distance trips,i guess its a trade off top speed for a better economy and better hole shot,she gets up on the plain real quick also the use of permatrim helps to know end.Would not mind looking at a 20 stainless 3blade,dan5 has a similar style boat to mine is very happy with its performance so might look into that at some stage.
    Cheers Chris.

after jet setting around the country for the past few months finally got around to testing out the a 21p prop.
    quite happy with the results, about 4-5kph faster across the entire rev range at the same RPMS.

71kph (SoG at slack tide today) at 6200rpms.
    fuel economy is awesome, 0.3l/km from 3000rpms (min. plane speed) up to 4300rpms (nearly 50kph!), it increases from there up to redline obviously.

fantastic little motor !

wouldn't mind trying out a 22p staino one though.

Thumbs up Re: New Suzuki DF140a Lean Burn

nathofuel.jpg

very happy with this !

had a few PM's now about how this is going, just thought I would update this thread to say that i am still wrapped in this new little motor!
    (slightly over)due for it's 100hr service now after putting 60hours on it over the past week and a bit - up to just under 160hours total on it so far.

no complaints at all. would buy another one tomorrow. still haven't put a stainless prop on it, still umming and aahhinng over what brand to go for.. stilletto/turbo or solas.. leaning towards a stilletto/turbo 14x22p one rather than the solas.

Quote Originally Posted by honda900 View Post
    My boat is a glass boat. Yalta 555HC, so will be heavier and has a four blade.

Solas 14 1/8 *18 - 4 blade
    RPM , Speed, Fuel LPH
    1000 6.8 1.4
    2000 10.9 5.8
    3000 16.4 11.4
    4000 36.3 17.4
    5000 49.6 26.8
    WOT-6000 63.5 40.1

Best econmically running around 4700 RPM, getting approx 2.2 Km's per litre.

HOnda
    Sorry for hijacking the thread. Honda, did you get that prop directly from Solas? I'm looking for a similar prop. BTW, I thought the maximum size for the DF140 was 14"?

Quote Originally Posted by myusernam View Post
    Dont etec have the lowest emissions?

Of course they do. Pretty hard to get emissions from something always broken down and even when they are operating only half the injectors are working.

More importantly glad to see you are happy with the new donk SF.

DoNotFeedTheTrollsAandBelligerent

Ausfish Platinum Member honda900's Avatar

Yes the prop was direct from solas, think it was called an overdrive.

HOnda.