Hervey Bay M&G 23rd Nov. - Page 14
Page 14 of 29 FirstFirst ... 456789101112131415161718192021222324 ... LastLast

Thread: Hervey Bay M&G 23rd Nov.

Re: Hervey Bay M&G 23rd Nov.

FYI on the Spanish Mack ban ( no take ).

It is for Platypus Bay only.

Platypus Bay boundaries are from Coongul Point in a straight line north to Rooney Point and obviously all water east of that line.

Here is a map.

http://www.daff.qld.gov.au/documents...on/FRW-161.pdf
    Last edited by Lucky_Phill; 10-11-2012 at 12:43 PM.

Ausfish Platinum Member Boat Hog's Avatar

Was someone chasing up marks for the 4 mile and 13 mile crossing - hows that coming along?

Also, what does it mean when your deckie sends you a text asking if you've done Bill Corten's course?

Quote Originally Posted by Boat Hog View Post
    Was someone chasing up marks for the 4 mile and 13 mile crossing - hows that coming along?

Also, what does it mean when your deckie sends you a text asking if you've done Bill Corten's course?

Not fully sure, but I think it means he's packin' death.

Since when has Murf ever favoured safety over adventure?

I have a 4 mile route........ do you want it ?

pm me your email address.

RE:- Bills course .... he does a couple of different ones... depends on which one ya deckie is thinking about

cheers LP
    Last edited by Lucky_Phill; 12-11-2012 at 06:51 PM.

I will give VMR Hervey Bay a call in the morning. They may be able to give the latest crossing info

Fish report from Chris (Jerkandwined)who fished and won champion boat under 7.5mt in the comp on the weekend was just crazy! The 7mt ally boat he fished on had 67 strikes, 45 hook ups, and tagged 28 fish for the weekend. One yellow fin, one wahoo the other 26 fish were marlin! Most were caught over the spit, but also they got some close in in 2-6meters of water around Rooneys point area and in the Bay. Glad the info I gave you helped out boys. I think there were about 14 boats and they tagged 167 billfish on the weekend. Just need the weather Gentleman and the meet and greet to the bay should be a corker!

fair dinkum you guys, a bloke goes away for a 5 day weekend camping and extreme 4WDing and you all get a stab into me haha

now where did I put that diamond hone?

better go mow the lawn so I can go away early next week

cheers Murf

Tough life Murf, I feel for you.
    Maturity is not when we start speaking BIG things,it is when we start understanding small things

Weekend! Ha ha, pull the other one Murf! For most blokes a weekend is 2 days if they're lucky.

You should apply for a patent - Inventor of the 5 day weekend!!

Here is another update on the Hervey Bay Fishing from Fishermans Corner. I hope the Northerlies are kind to us

Fishing Reports

Hervey Bay – November 15th, 2012

Friday comes and brings with it yet another northwester. Unfortunately, it looks like northerlies throughout the weekend which will deny boaties access to our open bay waters and the great fishing that has been on offer out there lately. We could also be in for some heavy showers and storms, so be aware.
    The past week has turned on some sensational sportfishing for those who headed up the island chasing pelagics. The scores of tuna schools and arrival of big spotties up in Platypus Bay and towards Rooneys have offered great surface fishing eclipsed only by the sensational light tackle gamefishing for small black marlin. The tuna and spotties have tested anglers in many cases, proving to be quite fussy as they feed on schools of tiny baitfish, yet the marlin are aggressively attacking a wide variety of offerings, both artificial and natural.
    It’s not only surface-feeding pelagics up the island, with big school mackerel actively taking Flasha spoons, livies and pillies on many of the reef systems, and various trevally species falling to jigged plastics. Nice scarlets, sweeties, cod, blackall and squire have been found on some of the reefs in Platypus Bay, around Rooneys and the isolated central bay reefs.
    The northerlies will see those with smaller boats hitting the estuaries again this weekend, and although the big tides will be challenging for some species, afternoon sessions should be productive. Mangrove jacks are well-scattered throughout the Burrum system, and will be a good option for bait fishos using mullet fillets or small livies. Lure anglers will have to concentrate their efforts around the tide turns, and whilst the big run in the tide isn’t ideal, the northerlies and approaching storms should see them become quite aggressive.
    Other than jacks, the Burrum is producing good catches of grunter, some big bream and flathead. Big tarpon are feeding on the surface over the deeper holes for a bit of light tackle fun for the kids and fingermark are a chance at night in the deeper spots. Big whiting are possible from the sandbanks in the mid reaches, with the best coming at night.
    Big threadfin salmon will be the main target for lure anglers in the Mary system. The threadies have been moving upstream of late and Maryborough folk won’t have to travel far to connect to these great sportfish. Again, afternoon ebb tides will be the ones to work, with either vibes or plastics working in and around drains, small creeks and along deeper dropoffs. For those not into lures, soaking a live poddy or herring in similar areas will be the go.
    The lower reaches of the Mary, the Susan and creeks down the central Straits are all worth a try for flathead, whiting, grunter and jew. Fraser’s western creeks are firing well for jacks, small jew and good grunter when the weather allows access.
    A few sandcrabs have been turning up in the Urangan Channel recently and even moreso down towards Booral. Muddies are turning up in Fraser’s western creeks and the upper reaches of our rivers systems.
    Reef fishos were kept away from our northern reefs by the Coral Reef Fin Fish Closure this week, but produced a feed from our shallow fringing reefs in the form of coral trout, blueys, a few sweetlip, moses perch and blackall. Better times are just ahead for reef fishing as our deeper inshore reefs will start to produce as higher water temperatures see trout, cod, blueys and sweeties move onto these reef systems.
    Local beaches produced a few feeds of whiting during the week. Worms and yabbies are the best baits as always. The Urangan Pier has been quiet, mainly due to the big tides and the persistent strip of dirty water that is hugging the western side of Urangan Channel. Herring are thick out there, so once the tides are smaller head out looking for GTs, goldies, queenies, mackerel or flathead.
    Pencil squid are due to arrive any time soon. Small numbers have already shown up in the shipping channels. Squid don’t like dirty water, so wait till things clear up again after this latest northerly blow and start to look for them out on the Urangan Pier or out in the shipping channels under lights at night. The tiny 1.5 – 2.0 size squid jigs are the go for pencillies.

For the latest on what’s biting and all the tips and tackle to catch them, drop in and see the guys at Fishermans Corner on Torquay Road in Pialba, or join us on Facebook (http://facebook.com/fishermanscornerherveybay).
    Postscript: NEVER A BETTER TIME TO GO CATCH A MARLIN
    The Hervey Bay Gamefishing Classic was held last weekend (9th-11th Nov). A total of 14 vessels registered for the comp, but one had to pull out early. The weather was less than ideal, but the guys got 2 days fishing in and pulled the pin early on Sunday due to the strong southeaster.
    The comp was a resounding success. The best results achieved in our waters for many many years. From the 13 boats fishing, there were 167 fish tagged and released, that included a remarkable 158 black marlin and 1 sailfish, plus a handful of yellowfin tuna, cobia, wahoo and spanish mackerel. 10 anglers caught their first ever billfish.
    What makes the above results even more amazing is that with a mix of experience amongst crews, wherein some were able to achieve as good as a 50% conversion rate on hookup to tag, others were more like 10%, that may have seen as many as 500 possible hookups from billfish alone.
    Several vessels stayed inside Fraser and did incredibly well on juvenile blacks averaging around the 20kg mark. The guys that got outside over the Breaksea Spit encountered similar sized fish off the 13 mile crossing. Apart from one boat spending a couple of hours out wider, there was no-one “heavy tackle” fishing. However, just before the comp, there were boats out wide tagging blue marlin to 400lb and big striped marlin. Grand slams were achievable when these fish were followed up by small blacks back over the shoals.
    Another noticeable result was the general lack of other species encountered during the comp. There were no dolphinfish at all, a rarity for this event, and very few tuna. It may be possible that the competition from the aggressive little blacks has seen them dominate local waters keeping other species away. Time will tell.
    Congratulations to the crew onboard vessel “Black & Blue” skippered by Rob Wood for taking out the Champion Boat award for the comp.

There was stacks of bait offshore yesterday

Quote Originally Posted by cobiaman View Post
    There was stacks of bait offshore yesterday
    Lot's of bait but no one with a camera - where's the report?

One week to go till kick off for the Hervey Bay M & G. Woohooooooooo!

Lot's of bait but no one with a camera - where's the report?

One week to go till kick off for the Hervey Bay M & G. Woohooooooooo!

The camera was attached to someone's paternoster and dropped down repeatedly to 50m all day.
    On the fishing front there was so much pelagic life off Fraser on Wednesday it wasn't funny.More birds flying around than I have ever seen, heaps of bait balls on the sounder as we drove around, sharks on the surface, dolphin fish behind the boat, flying fish everywhere.......looks very fishy up there gents!!!
    Current out wide was around the 3kph mark at some places and up to 5kph at others, made it hard to fish the bottom but for the guys towing lures I reckon you'll go alright.

Quote Originally Posted by Muddy Toes View Post
    The camera was attached to someone's paternoster and dropped down repeatedly to 50m all day.
    On the fishing front there was so much pelagic life off Fraser on Wednesday it wasn't funny.More birds flying around than I have ever seen, heaps of bait balls on the sounder as we drove around, sharks on the surface, dolphin fish behind the boat, flying fish everywhere.......looks very fishy up there gents!!!
    Current out wide was around the 3kph mark at some places and up to 5kph at others, made it hard to fish the bottom but for the guys towing lures I reckon you'll go alright.
    Muddy did the underwater 50m footage work mate ?
    Dick