Thread: just wondering how those new bt50's are holding up?

just wondering how those new bt50's are holding up?

Hey boys just a quick touch base with those you own the new bt50/rangers, wondering how the trucks are going any dramas or problems to report? very interested in the 6 speed auto as my next one would be this. Just dont want to buy something with problems. look forward to the reports. thanks again.

Good question. Mine is 2010 model dual can auto and it's been great so far. Nearly 60000 km without a problem. Hopefully the new ones are great too.

Re: just wondering how those new bt50's are holding up?

the ranger is just 12 months old...65000ks already done a set of front wheel bearings which arnt covered under warranty as they have in their schedule check and replace if needed .....and already starting to rust around windows/screen ....really hard to get in first and second gear for about half an hour in the mornings bad enoough if you want to go from third to second you have to stop and go back to first and start again.....wouldnt buy another

Quote Originally Posted by astro66 View Post
    the ranger is just 12 months old...65000ks already done a set of front wheel bearings which arnt covered under warranty as they have in their schedule check and replace if needed .....and already starting to rust around windows/screen ....really hard to get in first and second gear for about half an hour in the mornings bad enoough if you want to go from third to second you have to stop and go back to first and start again.....wouldnt buy another
    Hey Astro ,

You must have done a lot of beach work ? ?

I have the previous model in auto . Done beach and outback ,continually towed an18ft boat up the hill from hell ! no probs just squeaking in the rear shackles.

Jimmy

mate...i work out of dysart/moranbah...never been on more than a dirt road...never on beach

Quote Originally Posted by astro66 View Post
    mate...i work out of dysart/moranbah...never been on more than a dirt road...never on beach
    that's not good with the trans doing that hard shifting . I take it is Manual ?
    I would threaten a dealer to fix it !

I will be looking at going the new model when the lease expires ....... not impressed
    Jimmy

my 2012 bt50 is just due for its 10 000k service,only minor issues with the bluetooth/radio...got the 6speed auto pulls the arse out of a 2400kevlacat all day everyday when towing..its just under 3t...towes it easy down the highway on the 110km/hr speed limite stopes it without any drama..had the 09 model b4 it chalk and cheese really...wont be upgading this one in the normal 3 yrs i normally turn them over...really happy with it...

Bloke at work bought one 12 months ago, so far he has done a clutch - 3 months in, last week he did a gear box on a western holiday. Had to pay to ship it from Cunumulla to the coast and dealer trying to get out of paying for the repair. With Astro's feedback they might have drive train issues in the manuals?
    At any rate, mate is definitely not a happy Mazda owner!

hey boys thanks for the replies, well i tell you what im glad ive held off on getting a new one the reports seems pretty average think i might wait and see what toyota do with the new hilux next year. Keep the 09 ranger a bit longer. im just about to do a clutch in it at 55,000kms but apart from that been good so keep her going a bit longer i think. Its a shame bout the reports on the new ones as geez they look the part! Plus i really need something thats going to hold up and cope with the tradie life and also many hunting trips out west, from what ive heard the ones that are driving out there are getting the main issues. Anyway ill keep my ear out thanks boys.

Bloody hell, clutches in the first year or 55k? Are they undersized or is the gearing wrong? I have the last of the couriers (06) and still on the original clutch, no rust or issues.

Its not just the Mazdas having clutch and gearbox issues. I think its the combination of very powerful motors coupled to lightweight clutch assemblies. They drive like a sportscar but don't seem to last if you are a bit heavy footed. Autos seem the way to go

20000 on mine and done some hard core stuff , flogged it , best dual cab ute on the market imo and im a toyota man through n through ( still own 2).... panels are very prone to dinting and paint seems to be very soft......im very happy with mine,other than the shitty paint an panel quality, very capable offroader

One of our 2011 work ones lost gearbox all together there was a problem with linkages but all fixed and running fine.
    Living the dream, Barry

yeah my clutch is about to go....peddle is really soft and sometimes the peddle slowly comes off the floor takes 3 seconds to come back to were it should be...
    Main problem is that first is like first in a car....when you have a load on and you slip the clutch to take off it over heats really quick......

Had mine about 12 months and all seems Good. It is the Auto model 2 x 4 dual cab and tows the boat 3T+ regularly. My only complaints which seem common in a lot of makes is the delay time in the transmission if you want to get going in a hurry and the GPS seems a bit useless but hopefully an update soon will fix that.
    Nice car otherwise but still early days. It is very economical to run both while towing or not, and amazingly quick and powerful.