Importing Yet Again! :)
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Importing Yet Again! :)

Ausfish Platinum Member mustang5's Avatar

Importing Yet Again! :)

Gday,

So the Proline sold a few weeks ago which was a sad day, and i bet the new owners are loving the good weather over the last few weeks.

Anyways, I have been saving quite a bit of money and thankfully had a bit left over after house deposit and in the savings, so I decided to go at the importing again given the good Aus $, and also the fact I will never buy an Australian boat again..

So, this time I am going for a VERY clean 2601 seaswirl Striper, with yammy 4 stroke 225.

Plan is to kit it with a brand spanking new Suzuki 300HP as the 225 I believe is too under powered for this boat.

The reason I chose this specific boat, even though it does not have the ideal power I was after, was merely because of the way the hull has been looked after being under full covers between trips, and also the added goodies that come with, including but not limited to : Twin E80 Raymarine GPS/Sounder, 4G Radar, Autopilot, Added Rod Holders, 2 sets of full clears/Canvas, Inverter, Solar Panels, custom 4 battery setup.... The list goes on.

So I have engaged Portsea Marine working with Carol who is very helpful, and it just seems far too easy this time.

Boats paid for and hopefully should be sitting on deck within a week to arrive within 30 days sailing time

Any Striper owners here?

user3811_pic1242_1242197163.jpgP1000423.jpguser3811_pic1243_1242197163.jpgIMG_0052.jpg

Re: Importing Yet Again! :)

can I ask how much? MIght look into something like that myself

Depends on what you are after mate. There are i/o models for the 2601 stripers for $25k US, then there are twin outboard setups for 50-60k US. then add 15k shipping, then GST on top of the lot.

yachtworld.com or boattrader.com is the place to go mate.

Good to see Mustang the stripers are one nice rig. I will have to look into this I think in the future me thinks. Well done mate.

wonder how many you can do before they class you as a dealer or need to declare some sort of income?

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    wonder how many you can do before they class you as a dealer or need to declare some sort of income?

It is a good question.. And I have thought about it. But couldnt the same be asked if I was to buy a number of different local boats at a steal in a short period of time, and sell them with a bit of profit?? I will have to look into it for sure.

I plan on keeping this one. I only sold the proline as I desperately needed funds for a house deposit to satisfy contract requirements.

My experience with a brand new 2012 model 2301 Alaska Pack is they are a very deep Ved hull like old school HHs etc. so therefore needs heaps of power and fall off the plane easy at like 4,000rpm. The one I went on had a new 4.2l 250 Yammie. That is just enough. You will love a 300 on it. I reckon my mate needs to play with a foil first and maybe engine wedges to let it plane down to say 3,500/3,600 sort of thing and a bit slower, that is with the trim tabs. Maybe bigger tabs would be better too. At 4,000 it is up and racing at about 20knots and just too fast for some conditions then go slower and it bogs in. To look at it the transom angle doesn't seem to have enough angle on it to let it tuck in. It is very good at rest for how deep Ved it is but the extra beam must help. Well built and setup boats. He has the windscreen demister, wipers, etc. He has since gone to town with a Stree Free winch, TV/DVD inside for the kids, Engel fridge, microwave to come, etc. He went this way as it cheaper than a 685CC etc. and he has an alloy trailer and through the NSW Striper dealer he has full Aus warranty on the hull and motor. He was still in front of an Aus boat so lashed out on cork cockpit, outriggers, bait station, cutting board etc. all through Captain Rednut on here.

Yeah in reading all the reviews on powering a 2601, a Yam 225 (Which has about an output HP of 208.) is never going to be enough, but will get me by whilst waiting for the 300. I think the performance figures are 33knts WOT & cruise at 22knts using 7gph. Those are figures in milk pond conditions though..

I was looking for a twin setup with twin 150hp Yamaha or the twin 140 johnson/suzuki for that extra stern lift and extra HP but I couldnt wait any longer and got this for a steal.

Is your mate glad he went the striper over the CC?

Hey Mustang, is there a reason why you couldn't have the 300 fitted over there and then have the 225 shipped with the boat to sell here to recoup some of the costs?

Quote Originally Posted by upstart View Post
    Hey Mustang, is there a reason why you couldn't have the 300 fitted over there and then have the 225 shipped with the boat to sell here to recoup some of the costs?
    Yep I have three reasons:

1. Although I can have a 300hp Suzuki fitted over there for $19k, I wont have warranty (Unless something has drastically changed in the recent past that I dont know of??).
    2. I dont have the money as of yet as I am a little shy after the costs associated with house purchase and importing this boat.
    3. I have a 6.5m CC project boat which I plan to fit the 225 Yam on to and then sell to cover full cost of outboard purchase.

Thats the plan for now anyways lol.

Yep Mustang 5. For the bang for your buck, the size of the built in eskies, he wanted an Alaska Pack after being sick of getting wet with clears and coming out in my Stabi and falling in love with hard top, etc. I don't think he can crack 40knots but it is certainly high 30s and cruises well at 26-27knots if conditions allow it.

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post

One a year I believe.

Quote Originally Posted by Smithy View Post
    Yep Mustang 5. For the bang for your buck, the size of the built in eskies, he wanted an Alaska Pack after being sick of getting wet with clears and coming out in my Stabi and falling in love with hard top, etc. I don't think he can crack 40knots but it is certainly high 30s and cruises well at 26-27knots if conditions allow it.
    I contemplated the Alaska setup, and if this same boat had the Alaska setup I would have been all over it. I suppose I have never owned a boat with Clears so lets just take it 1 step at a time haha.

Thats some great figures for that setup. The proline I had just cracked 41knts Top... But it took twin 200hp Opti's to do that.. And in my experience, a 200 opti outshines a 225 Yammy 4 stroke any day.

Nice rig
    When you want to sell it, I got first dibs

Ausfish Platinum Member Boat Hog's Avatar

Like Smithy said, they like the power. Need to be propped right or they will fall off the plane at much lower RPM and speeds than other boats, especially if you're trying to go slow through choppy slop/confused seas. I've got the 2101 with a 225 Verado - love it! The more weight (full tank, ice etc) the better the ride too.

Enjoy.