Thread: barra trolling speed and how far beind kayak to troll

barra trolling speed and how far beind kayak to troll

well ive been trolling for fresh water barra at approx 3 miles per hours with heaps of line behind me using lure such as rob gardens classics and z man swimmers.

How ever i have my lures miles behind me.

what are your ideas on this people

Re: barra trolling speed and how far beind kayak to troll

Having just been chasing barra in my yak I would think you are trolling way to quick, you need to keep the lure in their face as long as possible. I was trolling at 2-3kph just enough so that the lure is working and about 15-20 metres back (depends on what depth you are amining to troll at, further back will allow the lure to run deeper), also use a big twitch while trolling and then let the line go slackso the lure pauses for a second or two. Just keep trying different techniques until you find something that is working on that day.

Anthony

Due to the overcast all the fish were 18-25ft on the week end so I had extra line out as I had no deep divers on me. Yea it just seemed to be my natural pedaling pace (hobie pro angler)

How did u go? I also just put the rod in the holders and just went for it.

I hooked 1 fish but he went stright 2 the snags and I lost him

I would be using a heavier head to get down deeper on a shorter line length from the yak, probably running 15-25 metres max out and trolling slower. The barra have the advantage of being able to quickly tow the yak plus you have to turn the yak about from trolling to fighting attitude. The more line you have out the bigger the advantage to the barra. The yak is not going to put fish off like the sound of a boat does.

Yeh the more line you have out the less control you're going to have when you hook a fish, a shorter length of line out will make it harder for the fish to find the snags.
    ~~~><))))*>

I have the advantage of having an electric powered yak, so just hit the lever, steer with the feet and drive away from snags! Lots of 60-70cm fish around, I think I have got about 20-25 in 4 arvo sessions, both trolling and casting at snags, sometimes you need to troll past them a couple of times to get them to bite once marking them on the sounder. Been a few good jacks around as well.

Been testing a few hard body lures for PEtackle as well and they have been catching as many as my favourite $30 lucky craft.

527290_421195267942496_619191464_n.jpg

557181_421197061275650_2068369706_n.jpg

559536_421197097942313_355259636_n.jpg

550841_421194831275873_1291357451_n.jpg

Mate nice work !! some great fish there ,
    were you just fishing the upper boyne ? if you dont mind me asking ofcourse ! im hanging to get my yak up there trying for a barra