Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: I think I killed my Touareg!!

Re: I think I killed my Touareg!!

Cormorant- Its $1600 parts & labour & the car has 180K on it, not a huge amount.
    I agree about the 2 week wait. In this day & ago of being a global village, a carrier pigeon could get it here quicker. We have an Italian car as well & its 8 days minimum with virtually no parts kept in the country. Very frustrating.
    I would have thought a fuel pump would be a fairly stock standard item kept on the shelf, but obviously not.

Picked up the Touareg from Brisbane today, 2 weeks after its died. $1600 for a new fuel pump, & she didn't miss a beat on the way home to Noosa. So now I've got my boat & car back, just need some calm weather!

Definitively a Range Rover Vogue TDV8 (or eventually a Lexus 570 but I think it is less comfortable - I had one when I was in Middle-East)
    I had a Touareg V10 TDI (first model in OZ and i sold it after 6 months as many bugs in electronics and VW could not fix them at the time) but it was really comfortable. My wife has the same problems of spinal surgery and the RR Vogue is the only car she likes to do long trips.
    The only problem is that it is quite expensive and you need to expect a minimum budget of 120/130K$ for a recent one with few kms.
    I know RR has not a good reputation for reliability but it is the second one I have (before I had a RR vogue petrol) and I had never a serious problem.

For towing 3.5 T, no problem and it is very good on any ground.

Frog123, I reckon I'd wait a few months for the v8TDI Touareg, as its only a few months away, & its meant to come in at 120k+, so if I had to pay that for a 2nd hand RR, I'll wait. New vs 2nd hand at a similar price- no brainer in my eyes.
    I heard the V10 was a dog world wide.

Quote Originally Posted by Back In Black View Post
    Picked up the Touareg from Brisbane today, 2 weeks after its died. $1600 for a new fuel pump, & she didn't miss a beat on the way home to Noosa. So now I've got my boat & car back, just need some calm weather!
    Good to hear it didn't require major surgery. $1600 for a fuel pump still makes my eyes water so I hope you get a good run from it here on. I'd frame the old ne and hang it in the pool room so i felt I got my moneys worth. I think Greece and Spain should send you a nice thankyou letter for helping bail them out via Euro.

Cormorant, I still find it hard to believe that with all the electronics & diagnostics these things have that it took a total roadside failure before they could diagnose it. Like I said, $1600 stings but is WAY better than 100K + for a new vehicle.

Gotta say I was a cynic regarding the 2 weeks but your dealer has delivered and the price over the life of the car and trouble free Km you have achieved already ( as long as it doesn't happen again ) is steep but OK. As for sensors there would be lots on the high pressure fuel pump side but nothing on the low pressure lift / circulation pump. There is enough bloody electrics on that car already and last thing you would want is another future problem. Guess if enough dealers realise the issue in the future and the forums note it they will work out just how long the pumps last and if it is common they die from age, use or fuel issues and doa early pick up of the issue with a flow rate or pressure test? It may have just been a worn out ?

Good to hear mate. Make sure you test drive the LR Disco 4 with the 3.0 twin turbo v6 tdi. There is a reason they keep winning tow tests for grunt, towing safety and comfort. Good prices too in the bracket you are looking at.

Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing

Noticed no one recommended the Audi Q7. Any reasons?? Taking a 4.2TDI Q7 for a test run on Friday. 250kw & 800nm.
    Also trying a Range Rover Friday, but it only has 180kw but 600nm
    I'll let you know the outcome.

Quote Originally Posted by Back In Black View Post
    Noticed no one recommended the Audi Q7. Any reasons?? Taking a 4.2TDI Q7 for a test run on Friday. 250kw & 800nm.
    Also trying a Range Rover Friday, but it only has 180kw but 600nm
    I'll let you know the outcome.
    Was just about to post that , then read your post above me.

Wouldnt want to get any salt on it though. My Audi (only a3) has been a dog. So was my 7 series bmw and the 7 series before it. I will never go euro again. Toyota only.

Depends what you want but the d4 hse interior is very close to the RR and 7 seats with class leading off road ability. The q7 gives you very little off road in comparison. It is also 20 per cent uglier than a Troll (per J Clarkson). My Bro in law has one and they look pretty good actually. The only trouble for towing with x5 and q7 etc is the fine print in towing capacity... Have a close look at that.

I have seen some discrepancies in towing figures for Q7, but Audi has assured me it is 3.5t It should be with 250kw & 800nm. Find out tomorrow,

keep Q7 on side for now
    your the best choice would be hard to beat Touareg V8 TDI
    Armed with 250kW of power and 800Nm it will plow
    and luxury and confort 10/10

good luck

ps; I knew it was fuel pump
    Last edited by MyWay; 01-11-2012 at 11:27 PM.

Tony its about number of passengers and gradients - you nee to get a hold of the owners manual while you are there and have a dirty chook cause it will say what the max tow weight is under various conditions. Cheers

Took a RR 5 litre V8 Luxury Sports for a test run today. Beautiful to drive. Then took an Audi Q7 4.2l TDI for a run. Went well, no doubt, stiffer but not overly comfortable. Juna upset the salesman when she said the seats looked like they came from AMart!
    RR went 276kw & 510Nm vs 250kw & 800Nm for the Audi. The Touareg is 228kw & 500Nm, & it towed it easily so confident the RR will do the job. We are only 12min from Noosa boat ramp, so its not too much
    Back to look again at the RR & signed up for it.
    Pick up next Friday.