I think I killed my Touareg!! - Page 2
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: I think I killed my Touareg!!

Ausfish Silver Member Swanie1975's Avatar

Re: I think I killed my Touareg!!

i think the lc 200 is the newish landcruiser 200 series and the y 62 is the new patrol. i know what you mean about some of the so called technicians at branded service agents
    we sent a newish turbo ford (after smash repair) to figure out why the turbo wasnt boosting and they charged for over 2 days work, replaced loads of bits and didnt fix the problem and returned the car half dismantled and scratched plus a whopping great bill.
    finally our pet sparkie found a crook sensor in less than a day and all was good.

if comfort is high on the list you would have to test drive a few ( a good long test drive and tow to the ramp maybe ha ha) i do like the jeeps but make sure you have a loan car inclduded in your insurance policy as parts can be a real issue if anything happens - mind you loads of makes are like that now

cheers ryan

What cruiser did you come from? A 200 series Sahara is a bit more comfy than a 75 series ute 5.7L Double cab tundra an option? Comfy seats and soft suspension are one thing but extra wheelbase always helps.

y62 patrol - 5.6 petrol V8, not much detail about the diesel yet

LC200 - landcruiser 200 series - 4.7 petrol v8 and 4.5 TD V8

So far leaning to the Range Rover, but I'd like to test drive the V8TDI Touareg when it hits our shores. Did Cruisers for 10 years, but I might need to revisit them.

What about the "M" series........386KW and 700NM.
    Confidence.......the feeling you get before you fully understand the situation.

Dan-is that Mercedes or BMW? Big numbers!!
    Thanks,

Ausfish Platinum Member TREVELLY's Avatar

New Cruisers are nothing like the old one's Tony - I had a couple of older ones FJ and 80 series and they are rubbish compared to the spanking stuff now - a mate of mine has one noyce! If you want to throw away money get the Lexus version.

Trev

Quote Originally Posted by Back In Black View Post
    Dan-is that Mercedes or BMW? Big numbers!!
    Thanks,

Its a Merc...AMG.........not sure on the towing capacity?........
    Confidence.......the feeling you get before you fully understand the situation.

Quote Originally Posted by team_mongo View Post
    y62 patrol - 5.6 petrol V8, not much detail about the diesel yet

LC200 - landcruiser 200 series - 4.7 petrol v8 and 4.5 TD V8
    Unfortunately no diesel for Y62 Patrol. V8 only at least until the next model cycle. Running cost not an issue in this market. Especially when the Toyota camp pay up to $10k extra for one makes any savings negligible. Just the torque I suppose.

How does the Touareg go off road? Can anyone give an idea of how it would compare to say a 200LC in both diesel models? Say for remote gulf country type offroading?
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

Lovey80-can't say as I have never done much real off road, but what I have done, well, its unstoppable. I have had it for 7 years now & until this glitch, I could not fault the car. Beautiful to drive, very quick off the mark, & pulled the 3.5t with ease (until Friday!)
    Did cruisers for 10 years, had the VW for 7, so Juna wants a change. Got a fright at the cost of the new Range Rovers that will hit Australia in 6 months- starting at 180-200K & topping out at 350K!!!
    I'd rather put that toward a bigger boat & moor it.
    The new V8TDI Touareg sounds awesome, & I believe it will be around 120K

Ausfish Gold Member

You won't find anything more comfortable than a 200 series landcruiser. Even my 100 (IFS) is quite comfortable. You just need to avoid stiff aftermarket suspension which can make them too stiff. And stick with IFS rather than solid axle in the 100, for mostly highway use.
    Anyway, sounds like your budget is not an issue, and you want big power, so there's no reason not to buy a 200 series.

Wink Re: I think I killed my Touareg!!

Hi Tony,

For the existing Touareg, try giving Bavaria Motor Tuning a call.
    They are at Brendale.
    I had few problems with my X5 recently going in to limp mode.
    Many mechanics looked at it without finding the cause.
    After a visit to Bavaria, they were quickly identified the problem relating to ABS computer.
    The owner invested a lot of money to latest diagnostic tools.
    3 months later my gearbox end up dying from an unrelated issue, Bavaria did the change over to a new gearbox.

Regarding to comfort on the seat related to Land Cruiser 200 Series.
    Generally they are average seats, not designed as good as European competition.
    The foam used is not the correct grade for long journeys.

We offer our Toyota customers TRD seat conversion. Basically using the existing frames/rails in your car and inserting TRD seat foams and custom leather upholstering it all. TRD foams are top grade.
    Headrests are softer density for resting whereas base and back rests are higher density for additional support and comfort.
    Pic below showing one done for a Camry,
    Toyota_TRD_1.jpg

I dont want this post to sound like advertisement, but rather information.

If you go LandCruiser way and not happy with the seats, give us a call.

Max Ungun

PROS- thanks for the info on the seats. Thats my main concern, as once you are used to European comfort, hard to go back. Thats how I got out of Cruisers. Juna had back surgery & I picked her up from hospital in the cruiser. By the time we got home, she told me to go buy a new car! Okay darling, if I have too. Thats how the Touareg came on the scene.
    Deano70- you nailed it mate. VW Austral just rang & confirmed the fuel pump has gone. $1600 & a 2 week wait to get one from Germany. Cheaper than a 150-200K Range Rover!!

Thanks for all the input guys.

I'll put the consumer hat on.

A fuel pump should last more than 7 years ? How many Km does it have on it.? If they pull it and it's brushes are done and dusted and it isn't on their service schedule of replacement every 5 years I'd be getting them to foot the bill and keep the old pump rebushed as a spare at those prices.

It was not fit for purpose when you bought it if a fuel pump is not a service item in stock in Australia. Worth them spiltting the costs at least and very lucky you wern't very remote . How much of the $1600 is parts and how much labor? Maybe fritz is flying out to fit a $250 bosch motor to your existing fuel pump. If t was a dodgy original are they upgrading you to the later design ones? Ther eis always a design upgrade with Touregs .

Other point is 2 week wait - what a crock in this day and age - at that money for a box the size of 3 ciggys it should be sent as a individual item oernight ( well 3 nights). Do VW keep any parts here - mate needed parts and everything was 4 weeks away and a real pain when the incorrect part showed up for a smash repair. They bought in USA I think as couldn't wait thé extra weeks- cheaper and here in 4 days for a heap of plastic clips and other bits.

I don't want to see ya dealer get screwed but speak to them about VW coming to the party - speak direct to VW if they don't want to participate .