Page 70 of 110 FirstFirst ... 20606162636465666768697071727374757677787980 ... LastLast
Results 1,036 to 1,050 of 1641

Thread: 2013 Ausfish Annual Agnes Water / 1770 M & G.

Re: 2013 Ausfish Annual Agnes Water / 1770 M & G.

Quote Originally Posted by Giffo65 View Post
    The main difference between the Tyrnos 20 and the Tyrnos 30 ,is well ................10 !
    And a heap of tears and running mascara by the sounds of it.......

In the words of Pauline Hanson,please explain ?

Quote Originally Posted by Giffo65 View Post
    In the words of Pauline Hanson,please explain ?
    Phill's whinge...................

It's not a whinge I tell ya... it's an observation.

Not my fault you ferets can't read

It must be getting close.

LP

Thanks for the replies and advice.... Best price I have found for a 20 is $238 off eBay with free shipping.... Just looking for something to replace my tekota 700 seeing as the last red i caught destroyed it.... Tekota and tyrnos seem to be about the same price but the tyrnos seems to be heaps better, just haven't used an overhead with braid on it without a level wind.... Had the tekota for about 10 years so its done well....

20 days to go bitchezzz

Cheers from boony
    Fishing can be defined as "A jerk on one end of the rod, waiting for a jerk on the other".
    "Fishing was around along time before you darling"

Firstly Boony, a 20 or a 30 is waaaaayyy to big n heavy... I've seen those biceps brother... like knots in cotton... Good reels don't get me wrong, you seen my troll reel, its a 30... great for that but I garrantee you will be over using it on the bottom after a full day fishing.
    If you are set on a tyrnos then a 12 or 16 will be heaps for red fishing but there are plenty of better reels out there for similar coin IMO.

BTW... seen the weather for TL?? Better turn that phone off champ

Yep I replaced my tld25's with 30's about three years ago best move,I'd wreck a tld25 once a year.

mmm interesting views on the Tyrnos & TLD's. I have a TLD15 with 50lb braid that I have been using for the last 10 years or more. Still in great working order, light and great retrievel rate. I used this at Agnes / Muzzie, DI and off Fraser without an issue and is still one of my favourite reels.

The Tyrnos are a heavy reel, as others have said. Each to their own I say. If you have Greg's DVD ( wicked fishing ) , you'll note that Foxy ( pro fisher ) uses a TLD 20 for his Red captures, Greg uses a Tyrnos ( 20 or 30 ?? ) and Terry still plugs away with his Penn 114H. I will say the rod choice is paramount.... note <

I have a self built fast taper 15kg stick that makes easy work on deep water species, but slightly different rod married to the Tyrnos is a struggle... comparatively speaking.

A Diawa Sealine or Penn 114 or 116H on fleabay will set ya back under $100.

If you are after something that will last you a lifetime and is regarded very higly in the offshore fishing fraternity, have a look here:-

http://www.alutecnos.it/page.php?pageid=CATFA001

I know the importer and prices on the Gorilla are great .

cheers LP

I agree with KP......I'd be way more inclined holding a 16 all day as opposed to a 20.......16s are plenty for the reef, I haven't come up against a fish that it couldn't bowl over.

Failing that........I've got a Tekota 700 that has had minimal use that I'd be willing to sell to you for around $3 ono. I never much liked it and as soon as I bought Tyronos's it just started collecting dust.

Freight will be another $3 to Agnes Water.

just started to plan my work schedule to finish a couple of days early to allow for anything unexpected so have a couple of days to sort it out gave the boat a big clean out & put another coat of penetrol oil all over it, have just sent Garry a PM for a service on the Honda, have a Team meeting with Bruce & Dave next Saturday Arvo to sort through the finer details & to work out our assault in the Wicked Fishing Red Trophy so look out you ferrets Team Beeracuda is ready to rumble see ya soon Bitches

Quote Originally Posted by 2IC View Post
    to work out our assault in the Wicked Fishing Red Trophy so look out you ferrets Team Beeracuda is ready to rumble see ya soon Bitches
    I remember back in the days when this was just a friendly social get together with like minded fishos. Now its a brutal struggle for the best real estate and the Wicked Fishing Red Trophy on offer has brought the worst out in many. Mate against mate, bait against bait. Bring it on Ferrets

Oi boony, got the 30, way to heavy as stated, graves the diawa saltist in the 30, plus diawa monstermesh rod cost around $700 for the lot like hanging on to a kids outfit light as but both rated at 80lb. The tyrnos trolling only, magic for that. Dieter and JD, also have the diawa outfit.

The Annual Agnes/1770 M&G from my perspective .
    2011 ..... $770 tow from Fitzroy Lagoon . End of trip
    2012 .... Managed to get through bar once , only to find motor wouldn't rev past 1800 . Trip over before it began .
    2013 .... 3rd time lucky ?
    As someone else has said " Bring it on Ferrets "
    And just to really push my luck
    "Go the Mighty Mercs"

Without trying to jinx you Kev.....I've got the workshop manual for your motor at home mate. Maybe I could bring it up with me and we could pray to it and make offerings to it all week for good luck.

Hey Boony, I've gor a tyrnos 10 in the 2speed and its heavier than the gorgeous little saltist 40 i use - its 2speed aswell with 50lb braid hanging off it. So much nicer to use if hanging onto it all day.
    If i had my choice again i'd ditch the tyrnos and spend the extra hundred on another saltist.

Phill's right about rod selection too, but you probably are well aware of that.

The alutecnos are ok if you're worried about keeping up with the jones's, nice reels indeed, but for the price they want for em.......pfffft. Much better out there for the coin.

Damo
    Give a man a fish, and he'll eat for a day. But ,flogging him into submission will result in him taking up crabbing.... and once he gets a taste of that sh*t, well, he may never return again.