2013 Ausfish Annual Agnes Water / 1770 M & G. - Page 23
Page 23 of 110 FirstFirst ... 13141516171819202122232425262728293031323373 ... LastLast

Thread: 2013 Ausfish Annual Agnes Water / 1770 M & G.

Ausfish Platinum Member ozynorts's Avatar

Re: 2013 Ausfish Annual Agnes Water / 1770 M & G.

Quote Originally Posted by feral cat View Post
    19 sleeps to go................................................

Oh sorry thats untill i'm up there for 12 days.lol

Any one at 1770 from the 28th onwards come say g'day.Will be 2 boats feral cat and full tilt.
    looking at doing double overnighters anywhere from broomfeild to lady musgrave.
    Does any one know if there are livies about just over the bar yet?
    And also whats the mullet fillets and squid like for size and price at the bait shop at 1770.
    justin.

Will see what I can find out for you today Justin.
    Ozy
    Remember to always log on before heading offshore.

Ausfish Platinum Member ozynorts's Avatar

Ok so there have been some bait schools around the 1 - 2 mile mark and we should start seeing more soon.
    Mullet is 4.50kg for whole and 4.95kg for fillets at tackle shop. Haven't checked servo.
    Remember to always log on before heading offshore.

I think he needs to rethink his pricing. with 50% wastage $4.95 per kg is really good. In comparison the whole mullet price not so much.

In the past I have been getting bulk at Aussie seafood house at Lawnton when it gets below $3.00 per kg. Then froze whole. Use an awful lot of vac bags though. This year I will be trying to get already filleted if I can get them. Save the mucking around. Lot less freezer space.

Your right Cheech, forget whole fish to much work involved unless to like mullet soup. Theirs enough work in salting and vac packing 30 kg of fillets.
    Maturity is not when we start speaking BIG things,it is when we start understanding small things

Quote Originally Posted by tropicrows View Post
    Your right Cheech, forget whole fish to much work involved unless to like mullet soup. Theirs enough work in salting and vac packing 30 kg of fillets.
    mmm mmm mmm mullet soup

just need a quick fish ID guys and wondering if anyone can help me out???

Caught trolling a big pink vibrator.....Any ideas what it may be?? Caught near the coowonga area

cheers from boony
    Fishing can be defined as "A jerk on one end of the rod, waiting for a jerk on the other".
    "Fishing was around along time before you darling"

and also a few pics from the secret mullet expedition with JT today.... His spot works believe it or not

The big mullet in the middle up the top went 16 inches just to put things in perspective

cheers from boony
    Fishing can be defined as "A jerk on one end of the rod, waiting for a jerk on the other".
    "Fishing was around along time before you darling"

That is a KickaBooneyinthemouthalotusthegaylornajanelovingho mosexual
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

change tack.............

New addition to ReBait.

Specifically for the night vision impaired deckies...

Attached Images Attached Images

Is the salting of mullet necessary? if you get fresh food grade fillets that haven't been frozen then what is wrong with packing them into manageable bags and freezing?

Nothing wrong with that Macca.

BUT................

There is usually fresh water ( from filleting process ) on the fillets.

Also, the salt makes the flesh tough. What this does IMO, is make it harder for the Hussar to decimate the bait, before the Reds decide to have a chomp.

Salting also allows the bait to stay together longer while not in the water due to the length of time it takes to de-frost sitting on the bait board.

AND, while cutting the fillets ( sometimes this happens ) there is bugger all " juice " coming out of the fillet.

AND, the salted fillets hold their colour longer.....

AND, they taste better when cooked for times a donut appears in the esky and one gets hungry

Muddy's answer wasn't good enough so I'll just ask everyone else then.......

AND...... salting of 100kgs of mullet fillet makes for a good excuse for a M & G....

LP

Quote Originally Posted by Muddy Toes View Post
    Just for that, macca gets to pull up the anchor next weekend...

Quote Originally Posted by Muddy Toes View Post
    That was a quick edit............ I saw it...

LP