-
Ausfish Addict
Re: Fish of a Lifetime!
Hi Craig
Yes, it was a female - immature roe present when we filleted her, dont think she had spawned recently. Was in very good condition, solid and fat. The other smaller model was a male.
We kept the frame and wings from both fish. The frames were cooked on the BBQ that night and easily fed 5 blokes, and that's not because we are crook filleters, its just because no matter how good you are, there is always a lot of meat left on the bones on big fish!
I reckon the wings from the big girl weighed at least 1 kilo. I will be grilling them with some lemon pepper and white wine next weekend.
My friends in Japan would be spewing though because we threw the heads away........ Snapper heads are considered a delicacy there, in fact they were one of the special courses at our friends wedding reception in Miyajima a few years ago.
ML
Note to self: Don't argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience....
-
Ausfish New Member
Brilliant fish mate, cracking PB going to be hard to beat that now even in South Aus.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Crackin fish there mate, and on 20lb gear, awesome.
I might have to make my next trip out from Evans.
-
Thats what i like to hear no waste the best parts are up around the head, and the heads make great soup. I suppose all fisherman dream of catching one like that. Well done mate
-
Awesome fish well done Moonlighter sure is going to be hard to beat that big girl.
Cheers Axl
-
Ausfish Addict
That's a fantastic fish, incredible to keep it out of the kelp etc on a 30lb leader! Congrats!
-
Great fish Moonlighter - you need to catch those whilst fishing in a comp though.
Beast
-
Ausfish Addict
Thanks all! It certainly will be hard to top that fish, I will never forget seeing it reach the surface and seeing just how big it really was. I may have said words to my deckie Pat like "wow, gee that's a nice fish, could you kindly put in in the landing net", or something to that effect.
Of course, catching such a fish is extra special for a Queenslander, when you get to take a trophy like that out of NSW.....
And yes, Beast, it would have been better if it was a Club comp weekend. I would have jumped in the car and driven back here to weigh it in, that's for sure! Would have looked good on the honor board next to my Pearly from a couple of year's ago, hey!
ML
Note to self: Don't argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience....
-
Stud fish ML very impressive - you won a lottery there - congratulations!
-
Ausfish New Member
Bloody Cracker mate well done that would have been an awsome fight on that line great stuff and well done.