yes
no
what policies
Dan,
NO.... ya missed the point.
LNP stated registration fees would not increase, as it had in previous years, hence " saving the family car rego 15 - $20 ".... and that it did, but as pointed out, the traffic and CTP costs rose, hence the " overall " rego costs increased. I , at no time stated I saved or would save money as I do not have " family cars "... that is, all ( bar 1 ) of my vehicles are not " privately registered ".. = commercial vehicles and i dod not expect to see a freezing of rego on these because it was clear that the LNP stated " Family Car " which I interpreted as " privately registered vehicles ".... cars.... not motorcycles, etc
Think ya need to re-read what was said. There was no ' arguement ' from me in this regard.
" no one saves money " statement is a tad off the mark too. With tax incentives etc I make money out of my vehicles....... it's something my accountant works out within the boundarys of the ATO laws. It's a big picture thing......
I doubt your accountant could do much with a $20.00 rego fee which equates too a percentage (% of business use) of a percentage (think they cap it at 25% of total rego can be claimed back if 100% business use) of what you can actually claim back,
I think with one car your looking at making an increased grand total of around $7.00 reduced from you taxable income.
Unless you claim back 100% of registration costs which I am sure you cannot do.
Missed the point again Dan.
Not the rego fee, but the vehicle.
100% claimed... and I can.
LP
No worries.
That is why ya pay the bucks to the book keeper and the accountant.
We are off topic a bit.
if you buy a vehicle on chattel mortgage you do not pay GST on the financial contract, as you do in a lease.
You get the interest charged on the loan as a deduction............( chattel mortgage & HP only )
You get the gst component of the purchased vehicle back in your next BAS
You get a 21% ( from memory, not sure ) depreciation / year on the purchase price, and that figure comes off your pre-tax income
You get 100% vehicle costs as a deduction. insurance, rego, fuel, maint, accessories etc.
There are a few ways to account for this, including the " log book " system.
If you trade or sell the vehicle at a price that is less than the " balloon " or depreciated value, that difference then becomes a tax loss = deduction.
Hence a vast majority of business's buy new vehicles every 2 - 5 years, depending on their accountants advice.
But this is all Federal stuff.
LP
I reckon Phill ( with 2 ll's ) you should hit Can Do up for a job next election as a spin doctor. He will be needing someone with your tenacity to point out all these fine print loopholes to get some marginal seats over the line.
DoNotFeedTheTrollsAandBelligerent
I'll send my CV in.
Bugga... there are no marginal seats........... in fact there are bugga all seats up for grabs.
You see, a little knowledge is dangerous thing........ Danger Will Robinson... Danger !!!!!
I'm still waiting for Phill's loop-hole that lets you negotiate down the CTP on your rego bill, and also use a multi policy discount on the CTP. With 3 regos to pay I'll save heaps. Phill you should be Campbell's next Attorney General for finding a way around those laws.
~~~><))))*>
That means I have to go through all my paperwork.
Might be easier to call my ins co and ask them. stay tuned.
LP
Phill ...... I think you'll find that the definition of marginal seat in Qld has changed under this LNP government .
With the arrogance and contempt shown by Cando during their first 9 months , they're going to cop a pasting at the next election (very much like federal labor did)
So Phill ...... Ashgrove could be a good start for you
Gosh, it irks me to write anything that might in any way support something that LP has said.
However, whilst it was not because of a multi-policy reason, I have been able to get a lower price on the CTP on family cars occasionally.
If you pay your rego on line, you are able to change your CTP insurer at the relevant Transport Dept website. The prices are not usually published side by side so it is a case of picking each CTP insurer and seeing what that does to the total rego + CTP bill at the "checkout" stage.
For a couple of years, by swapping and changing CTP insurers online, the CTP component became a little cheaper..... but you would not be able to do a "Rhonda" and establish a relationship with a "Ketut" in Bali on the difference.
The bottom line politically is that the average people in the street will not engage in the fine print detail of whether "Rego" is meant to include the CTP component in an election "promise" - or was that "commitment", "possible intention", "we would like to influence", or some other squirmy, vague term that the party pedantics will waste their time trying to justify? That squirmy stuff is just the same as the airlines advertising air fares and then adding a fuel levy on top...as if the normal fare price did not include the cost of fuel to fly the damn plane.
Nah - when we think of paying our "rego", we all think of paying that once per year sum of money that we pay to the state government. That sum of money has gone up this year. How much squirming do the party pedantics have to do before they realise that they are wasting their time trying to justify whether it went up because the cost of biros in use in the Transport department increased or the cost of the electricity in use at the transport Department offices increased, or the CTP component increased? The end effect to the consumer is the same. The cost of "Rego" has gone up. End of story.
And that is the truth of it ........
PS ...... Dont forget - Cando promised to save every family $300 pa
And btw , please dont try telling me that by not putting up Tax's / Fees ..... you are saving
So far Cando has done nothing for me - except put up the SIP fee , my trailer registration , car registration .......
opps.... I'll try again.
~~~><))))*>
Thanks Charlie, negotiating down your CTP and having a multi policy discount applied to your CTP does sound fishy, but I don't doubt Phill has found a loop-hole. After all, I'm sure a site moderator wouldn't intentionally mislead us all for his own political motives.
What the the Gov actually sets is the min and max amounts the Licensed CTP Insurers can charge. Because of market competition it's been some time since the 6 licensed companies havn't charged the same amounts. Each insurer reviews their CTP fee every 3 months and occasionally adjusts (mmmm...no collusion here).
This is the CTP insurance calculator from the Motor Accident Insurance Commission (Qld Gov)
http://www.maic.qld.gov.au/ctp-premi...lculator.shtml
It shows you the current CTP price of every licensed insurer side by side.
You'll find in every case, each insurer will have the exact same CTP price for your chosen car. The Motor Accident Insurance Commission also state on their web site, "Insurers may offer some add-on products or incentives with CTP insurance". This refers to the offers of gift cards, ect, to swap companies, but importantly doesn't allow the negotiation of the CTP component of a registration bill. RACQ has a comp to win $5,000 if you swap insurers, Suncorp is a $25 gift card, Allianz has a $25 fuel card, and I believe QBE currently offers a $20 donation to Crime Stoppers if you swap to them (interestingly when in opposition the LNP canned Labor for allowing this but now the LNP promote it on their own LNP web site, that's politicians for you).
The terms of multi policy discounts may vary between insurance companies but in general, a CTP policy can be counted as holding a policy with a company to make up the required amount of policies, but no discount can be applied to said CTP policy.
BTW anyone who chopps and changes CTP insurers should look at the fine print rather than simply scoring a $20 gift card. Currently the maximum claim pay-out offered by different CTP insurers ranges from $200,000 up to $1,000,000.
~~~><))))*>