Thread: Great 11 day trip to Fraser

Great 11 day trip to Fraser

Attachment 84056Attachment 84012Attachment 84011Attachment 84009[G'day

Just returned from a great fishing trip to Fraser last week. Good numbers of tailor even if you fished away from the crowds at Maheno, at places like Happy Valley. We also found the fish "on" earlier, say 4pm when we chose a gutter with not only a closer backbank, but also a higher dune behind it to cast a shadow earlier in the arvo on the gutter. We'd have a dozen fish before our neighbours in a sunny gutter had any.

We also got 3 big hauls of whiting to 37cm on western side, and caught a number of fat flathead to 69cm (released), plus a number of bream and dart but we don't count them. Interestingly, the whiting preferred yabbies rather than worms this trip, usually it is a mix, or bigger fish on worms. Only 1 big Jew, lost just behind the shore break.

Saw a number of big sharks, so don't wade out too deep! Also be aware of 3 dangerous dingos at Happy Valley, twice we were approached within 1m worming with our backs to them. One night 3 of them fought, chasing 1 of them beyond the second breaker in the surf!

Despite the stories, we had no problems catching worms or wongs/eugaries/pippies.

For more pictures feel free to check out and LIKE my fishing club's facebook page Ontour Fishing Club http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ontour...36800799748411- we are purely a social fishing club and always welcome others to join us for a chat.

Sean

Re: Great 11 day trip to Fraser

Good haul of fish there.

Very nice Sean.

I am heading over on Sat 22 Sept for 2 weeks in paradise. Assuming if you were staying at Happy Valley, then the whiting at flatchaps came from Moon Point? We will be doing a few sessions over the Western side whilst we are there too, but probably a bit further north, so good to see the whiting on the chew.

We'll be at Orchid so concentrating more on the top end of the island and hoping the fish migrate north in the next week or two...

Kev

Yes Kev, moon and the creek further north. Flatties were very fat. Interestingly they took yabbies with more gusto then the plastics and worms which is unusual for us over there.

If you want to try something different for the tailor, I was using a dropper rig, with pillie on one hook and small surf popper on another dropper. When I used this paternoster rig, 8 out of 10 times the Tailor took the surf popper first. It was also good insurance when you lost your bait, they'd attack the popper straight afterwards.

We tried up orchard way for whiting from the surf, in some beautiful low tide holes, but got jack! Using live beachworms and pippies. Was almost like it had been stripped by netters, but not sure they can next Fraser this time of year anymore.. So we gave up on eastern side whiting, and got plenty on the western side. Attachment 84091

Folks, forgot to add that there is a long channel at Fraser, so apart from the high dune at the back, look for where the backbank is closest to the shore for the tailor to be feeding in that area. Worked for us, no need to join Maheno crowd.

Some nice fish there mate. Well done.
    Cheers, Doug.
    Love to use Preditek or Kingfisher lures or Viva Lures when I am out fishing.

Thanks for the tip about the shadow from the sand dune. It might come in handy as I'm heading to Fraser for the first week of October (7 nights).
    Hopefully it'll be a good time of year to go. I've been to Fraser about five times before. The first few were in the 1990's camping. Then I tried staying at Eurong Beach Resort in July a couple of years ago (bugger all fish on that occasion).

This time I was lucky enough to get a holiday house available in the second week of the school holidays. It'll be a good base to test out my new Jeep grand cherokee diesel from. Anyway, looking forward to Fraser and hopefully to catching some decent tailor and whatever else bites.

I reckon that the rising tide in the late afternoon, accompanied by a full moon should help get results.
    "...a voice in my head keeps telling me to go fishing..."

Well good luck PNG1M

While you are there, suggest you get over to the western side, very early in the week to chase whiting (and flatties). I've collected data for the past 12 years of the 16 years our Ontour Fishing Club have been going there and the results stand out that the four days before the new moon are the best time (see average catch per person in the graph attached). In 2012, we also found the quality was best before up to the full moon, fish up to 37-38cm, then the quality fell away qucikly after the full, although numbers were still good. The flatties were the same, great up to and including the full moon day, but poor after.

Attachment 84770Attachment 84771

We have a website if you are interested too and a Facebook business page (http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ontour...36800799748411) with heaps more facts, photos and a few funny photos of the boys a bit puffed). We are just a group of keen fishing nuts and friends.

Sean

Nice work guys and what a place to get away from it all....
    TEAM F.C.R.