have sent this email to scott emerson, bushnbeach and fishing monthly:
my name is dave anderson. i am on a crusade. i am trying to obtain
what is rightfully boaties and that is trailer parking availability.
wellington pt reserve has 6 lanes of ramps (1 x 4 lane & 1 x 2 lane).
msq guidelines recommend there be 135 bays for trailers there. there
are 75. on every fair weather weekend it is usual to see half of
these bays filled by cars without trailers. fathers day just gone was
a great example. 6 bays taken up by boat trailers, 69 by daytrippers.
2 of those 6 trailers had been boxed in by cars. some bays even had
3 cars parked in them. cars and boat trailers were parked on median
strips and there were 2 cars parked on the 2 lane ramp. the worst i
have seen there was on 29/07/12 when there was no room for boaties to
rig up as there were 6 cars parked in the rigging bays. i have
attached some pics of that day. council committed its' officers to
doing a report and the officers recommended that the parking
allocation status quo remain and enforcement be increased with
emphasis on weekends and public holidays. at councils meeting this
week, councillors saw fit to vote against these recommendations and
instead have proposed a "trial period" of "shared parking" whereby
they are effectively legalising parking in a further 11 trailer bays
for daytrippers. these changes by council somewhat contravene the
conditions msq puts in place at the design stage and will see us with
less than 50% of recommended. as we contribute via registration fees
to the costs of ramp and parking facility upkeep are we not entitled
to receive a reasonable level of service?
fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!
also receieved reply from sunfish who cant do much but did suggest i contact the above magazines.
I intend on living for-ever....so far so good
Trev
well i did recieve an email back from the mayor today. i have not posted any up here that have privacy disclaimers on them. in short, she was disappointed with the tone of my email, advised that council will not be intimidated by threats and told me about the good stuff they have done at the point in recent years. also requested all parties "act honourably" during the trial shared parking period.
my reply:
dear karen.
i hope you are not as disappointed in my tone as i am with your decision to vote against your officers' recommendations. my last email simply stated facts. 1. you have lost my vote. 2. there will be trouble brewing at the point. in fact there already has been. i have received reports of abuse and near fist-fights from fellow boaties in the past.
as your officers advised you, penalty enforcement is the only viable solution at the point. stealing another 11 trailer bays from boaties will not solve any problems. so another 22 cars can park legally. so what. last sunday there were more than 120 illegally parked cars there. your 1 officer for his 2 hour stints has been managing in the vicinity of 25 fines. council could do a lot more here. bays could be road painted as "trailer only" at minimal cost. signage is barely noticeable. if you want to share trailer parking with cars on windy days, no boaties will object. however on weekends it should be the responsibility of council to provide a traffic warden to keep a reasonable number of bays available for the purpose of their design.
you mentioned previous upgrades. the numbers i have seen indicate last time we lost another 2 bays whilst 44 new car bays were created. i know a "beach" was installed and i also know a good amount of that funding was contributed by msq. i can understand your looking for compromise as you dont want to upset anyone. nonetheless your actions (or lack thereof) has upset a lot of people, myself obviously included. i am not trying to intimidate or threaten. i am simply letting you know that boaties are fed up with being treated as second class citizens. we pay our rates. we pay our rego. why do we have to suffer at the expense of tourists and a reluctant council? and there is absolutely nothing dishonorable in holding a peaceful protest. it is an ordained australian right.
I have heard of this before mate and the mind boggles, If you want a spot, get up early and get one, however this may see people camping overnight to secure a gazebo, in short mate, and I know that we all know it and it has been said before, BUT, the population has far outgrown the greed of councils and government who are happy to collect rates, rego's, permit fees for this and that and other associated "TAXES", But as of yet, haven't, and are not providing the total infrastructure to cope with the very same population they are collecting from, they are happy to open up more land (where they can) for housing (More Rates) yet fail to provide the common areas needed to accommodate the extra population.
Do I have the answer..No
Do I have the solution..No
Just being honest.
Will I fight.....YES
BINGO (Dave)
How about passing the hat around to raise funds for painting the trailer bays yellow with a big boat symbol and big words on the asphalt? Also increased/better signage mentioning fines with the left over money.
The council can even select the contractor or do it themselves so it complies with the standards and whoever paints can be paid directly from the funds. Might be a bit of red tape involved but offer it up.
I'm in for 50 bucks and I don't even launch there but I might do one day. Let me know where to send the money.
If council funded a parking officer with authority to fine then she could apply the common sense that seems so uncommon.
On bad boating days she could allow parking in trailer bays and on busy boat days keep the lot for boaties.
If she fines offenders she can probably pay her wage. How about it Redlands Council?
Define a bad boating day, some blokes will launch when I wouldn't, Not being a pain in the arse, but it's not as simple as that...
Just like the suggested 1pm to 10pm, because most boaties will be done with it by 1pm apparently , what a joke, who's gonna tell the wind to only blow between those times. not sure how that will work.
BINGO
All Good Linedropper, however the offenders are either blind or ignorant as they don't see nor do they care if they do see the 14 signs already in place at Wello point. ...
So even though painted yellow lines or other painted symbols make sense to you and I, I think they would have little effect on these people, however I would love to be proved wrong.
Thank you for the input though mate and keep it coming.
BINGO
I understand your point Bingo but I reckon if she is there regularly she will get a sense of when there will, or won't be, enough trailer parks.
Some days are good enough for sunday drives but won't see many boats launched. But don't forget she is also issuing fines so she will improve matters just by doing that.
But I understand your reservations... It's not a simple matter, and isn't easily solved by some arbitrary rule like after 12 noon etc. That's why a person (or really sophisticated software) is needed to make decisions and is the only really viable way to 'share' parking.