Thread: long time between reds

long time between reds

sorry for the late report, but i was so looking towards the yeppoon clasic but bailed outa that due to bad weather,so i was looking at the the weather thursday and friday the 16th 17th, looked to good to pass up. Rang around gee it was hard to find someone short notice but went well. loaded boat on wed arvo for a over nighter thurs, droped kids at school and bang we were gone and on our way to yeppoon, fueled up and on water by 11 am .called up jt we on our way to meet up for the night,
    so we putted out of marina into flat conditions (forcast was right for a change) so puched in the wide WIDE marks for 90k red grounds....awsome conditions sat on 27 knts all way out . reached mark at 1 pm drifted at first and man there was some currents,corvered some new areas with baits on bottoms and few reffies commin abord all was good..Mey Deckie beany rod bends like no tomorra with the fight he land a 11kg red , in the new esky it went then we moter back n drift again ,My turn 10 kg red in the box Hehe we are yelling now lol. few more passes and no reds but a mixed bag thoughflowing in.So it been like a millpond all this time 0-5 knts ene winds .Anchor up for the evening tide to slow and sure as i thought 2 more big reds in the boat. night was still good breaze picking up and slopping around a bit but its ok..JUST..... my rod has hooked up a horse of a fish and beany sayin a big red and im looking and just as i saw it below the boat i saw a masive white hammer head shark take my prize ............wound up my drag and braid went bang,and then the bugger chewed it up at the back behind my moter slashin around like a shark does...... wind really cranking by now 11pm layin down for some shut eye and jt calls up and we decide to do the run back to the shelter of the kepples up anchor at 1130 or so and on our way ,reached islands safe n sound at 2 30 am drop the pick in some reef and tatar we went.......woke at 6 am cleaned the boat and had u cuppa and to the harbour we went.......In all we bagged 4 huge reds and RTE's and husser.....caint wait for the next trip.....
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0769.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	64.5 KB 
ID:	83647   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0772.jpg 
Size:	77.2 KB 
ID:	83648   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0775.jpg 
Size:	80.8 KB 
ID:	83649   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0777.jpg 
Size:	86.1 KB 
ID:	83650   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0778.jpg 
Size:	82.9 KB 
ID:	83651  

Re: long time between reds

Some nice fish there. They will go well on the dinner plate. Well done.
    Cheers, Doug.
    Love to use Preditek or Kingfisher lures or Viva Lures when I am out fishing.

Good report, thanks for sharing.
    What boat do do have, looks pretty big.
    Maturity is not when we start speaking BIG things,it is when we start understanding small things

Quote Originally Posted by Goodoo haven View Post
    Some nice fish there. They will go well on the dinner plate. Well done.
    yer mate they were very nice lol.......

Quote Originally Posted by tropicrows View Post
    Good report, thanks for sharing.
    What boat do do have, looks pretty big.
    yer its 8 mtr+ custom plate cruiser good out wide.......

Nice fish mate.

We were 65 k out on the Thursday, also with a flat, fast run. Does 90 k get you out to Douglas?

good stuff mate well done on the reds! great eating

The best type of colour to have in the esky, well done. Sorry that u had to go out with Jt though, spose it could have been worse he could have been in the boat with u

Cheers from boony
    Fishing can be defined as "A jerk on one end of the rod, waiting for a jerk on the other".
    "Fishing was around along time before you darling"

Great red stuff there well done