Straddie tailor

Thread: Straddie tailor

Ausfish Gold Member

Straddie tailor

Spent a few days on Straddie (15th to 19th) and the tailor were around most of the time down towards the 'pin. Great conditions most of the time and by the weekend heaps of people were on the beach - I guess word got around about the tailor.
    Most were average size with a few going 45cm or so ... but I did also manage a nice one at 65cm which was a PB for me.

One older guy I was chatting to was fishing the bottom end for jewfish each low tide in the middle of the night. He got one at 6.5kgs on Wednesday night and then 2 more (one at 9kg or so which was too big for his esky) on Thursday night. I didn't catch up with him after that but I wouldn't be surprised if he got some more.

Re: Straddie tailor

Thanks for the report chisel a 65cm Tailor that would have been a cracker well done.

I love a feed of fresh Tailor but I have had no real luck this year as yet Ill have to keep trying I guess.
    Cheers Axl

Chisel,

Well done mate, looks like you had a great time. Would have been nice to see that large saddleback tailor. I wonder how the eaing would be like on a 6kg?

Was that a multistrand wire job or mono leader?

Bondy

Ausfish Gold Member

The 6kg fish the guy caught was a jewie, as was the 9kg. He was using double-up 60lb mono trace for those.

My fish probably went close to 3kg, not that huge, and was caught on typical gang hook with 35lb mono trace.

Not that you really need to see my ugly mug but here's the tailor

Chisel,

Nice tailor, nothing to be sneezed at and the conditions look goode in the background.

Cheers, Bondy

Send em north to Fraser, Im heading up this Sunday for a week!

How long are the Tailor around North NSW SEQ for?

Nice fish there.

Just wondering.

Just wondering if the guy your talking about Chisel, was driving an Old F250 he is the Jew Guru.

Ausfish Gold Member

Quote Originally Posted by manta man View Post
    Just wondering if the guy your talking about Chisel, was driving an Old F250 he is the Jew Guru.
    Nah, his name was Scott and he drove a Patrol ute. He said he had caught 69 jewies off the beach over the last 17 years but mentioned some other old timer that stopped counting at 100 many years ago. I presume that 100 included a lot of jewies under the current 75cm limit.

Hey Cheisel is Scotty a bit overweight, also the other bloke Scotty was referring to, is the Old Fella im referring to. Oh and by the way the numbers he was talking about are true, and believe me not many have been under 75cm

Ausfish Gold Member

Quote Originally Posted by manta man View Post
    Hey Cheisel is Scotty a bit overweight, also the other bloke Scotty was referring to, is the Old Fella im referring to. Oh and by the way the numbers he was talking about are true, and believe me not many have been under 75cm
    Yep, a bit overweight :-) Can't recall the other guy's name ... maybe starts with B?
    I didn't doubt the numbers at all - just was wondering about the size. Good to hear they were mostly larger. I guess years ago the bag limit was higher so in theory you could take a few home in a night. Don't get me wrong, I'm still impressed. The hours these guys put in must be massive...

I'm very impressed about the 9kg tailor. sounds like an arm puller, I wonder how the eating quality would be?

Might have to look around for an old 4X4 thats not falling apart.

Bondy

Ausfish Gold Member

9kg jewfish, not tailor. I probably should've split this thread up into tailor stories and jew stories ...
    4x4 is essential, either way.

Quote Originally Posted by chisel View Post
    9kg jewfish, not tailor. I probably should've split this thread up into tailor stories and jew stories ...
    4x4 is essential, either way.
    No worries Chisel,

My error, all good either way

Anyone been over there of late heading over sun-wed for some bonito soaking and that jew guy your talking about lol i fished with him over there couple weeks ago. Not to say 60+jewies in 17 years is bad but come on its really not that good to be honest avg just under 4 a year lol. Not bragging but i would be over 100 in the last 3 years easy. My old boy who is a regular down iluka and well known jewie hunter i would hate to think how many lol. Anyways nice size tailor in the picture and well done on your PB congrats.