Thread: what is the best Jewfish rod blank?

what is the best Jewfish rod blank?

Hi Guys im wanting to build a custom jewfish rod but am unsure of rod blank to build it on. im going to be using an alvey 7 inch loaded with 40 pound mono so the build would have to be a low which mount height. i was thinking of a Butterworth 9177 but they dont make them anymore and are as rare as hens teeth. what would be the next best blank availiable?

Re: what is the best Jewfish rod blank?

A 9177 friggen hell mate you better get to the gym and start pumping iron because your going to need your strenght to hold that beast for more than an hour. You will find blanks of that weight have no carbon in them, old designs and ideas right there. They are heavy because not only are they 100% glass they needed so many wraps to increase pulling power, its not an effisciant way to designe blanks in this day and age. If your going to be standing on the beach, freezing your knackers off waitin for a jew to come along then you may as well be holding a light outfit rather than a besser block. Have alook at the Exell composite FSU G blanks. For jew I would use a FSU5144G and if you need extra lenght buy a parallel extension section for the same blank.

You have such a great way with words Stu......a besser block...classic. All jokes aside, Stu is right on the money...a mate of mine I used to fish with a lot out at SW Rocks and Hat Head had a 9144 whilst I used a FSU4120 with 20 cm cut off the tip. You needed a crane to carry that bloody telephone pole- you were half shagged by the time you had walked out to the spots carrying that beast....long before you even started to fish!!!!!! I cant even imagine another 33" on top of a 9144......My 4120 had heaps of grunt but really light.
    Along the same lines as Stu,a FSU4120G with extension would be my choice.

Meant to say 5120,not 4120.......
    Didnt realise they made a FSU5144G...hence my suggestion of the 5120 + extension. How long have the 5144's been around?

How do you fish and what casting weight are you talking about?
    eg, if your fishing worms on a spit at night you dont need the same style of rod as if you are casting slabs to the far side of a gutter 80m away.......different again if you're using lures I'd reckon....might even be able to get rid of the 7" Alvey too. As Stuart said, holding that monster for hours ain't going to be fun....

thanks guys for the input i have built the 9177 and it had its first work out this weekend caught a stack of tailor and three small jewfish to 65cm and i found the weight manageable. i didn't hold onto the rod all night though i had it in a rod holder but i am more than happy with it.