Thread: Colorado - V- D-Max

Colorado - V- D-Max

Just some observations.

Colorado.

Isuzu Duramax 2.8ltr diesel. 132Kw and 470Nm ( 6 speed auto )

Isuzu D-Max

Isuzu Euro4 3ltr diesel. 130Kw and 380Nm ( 5 speed manual )

I just thought it funny that the Isuzu is called a D-Max and the Colorado uses a Duramax ( or shortened to D-Max ) motor.

FYI. Isuzu have sold over 13million engines in the last 10 years alone. They must be doing something right.

Also noted is the Colorado now has 3.5 ton tow and 1000kg payload
    D-Max is....................................3.0 ton tow and 1035kg payload

Colorado LT 4 x 4 crew cab. $42,990 drive away
    D-Max SX 4 x 4 crew cab. $45,890 drive away

just looking.

LP

Re: Colorado - V- D-Max

phill dont tell me you are thinking of getting rid of ya collie mate??? I know the new ones have more grunt but are they as good as what we have ? Time will tell! I love my collie, 8 litres/100 round town and down to 6.8 litres on the great open road. Bet the new ones cant beat that and mine is an auto as well. When I tow my work trailer full of paint and crap I drop down to 10 litres /100. As you say the isuzu donks have proven them selves.

Too much money Phill - too many options....

Quote Originally Posted by sunchaserbf90 View Post
    phill dont tell me you are thinking of getting rid of ya collie mate??? I know the new ones have more grunt but are they as good as what we have ? Time will tell! I love my collie, 8 litres/100 round town and down to 6.8 litres on the great open road. Bet the new ones cant beat that and mine is an auto as well. When I tow my work trailer full of paint and crap I drop down to 10 litres /100. As you say the isuzu donks have proven them selves.
    No, just thinking. Don't like the idea of going back to 2.8ltrs after having the 3. But I have clicked up 145,000 in 3 years now. doh !

Funny thing is...

I get about 9 -10ltr/100 around town and 10 -11.5 on the highway. What's with that ?

LP

Have you considered the Amarok?

Why we are Ute of the Year

• Judged winner of 4x4 Australia’s Ute of the Year 2011 against all major competitors
    • Outstanding off-roading
    • Comfortable car-like driving
    • Brilliant load carrying - whether your tools, dirt bikes, camping gear or your family
    • Great towing capabilities, a tough 2.8 tonnes
    • The only ute in its class to accommodate a pallet between the wheel arches
    • First in its class to be awarded 5-Star ANCAP Safety rating
    • Gross Vehicle Mass of 3,040kg
    • All Amarok have 3 years unlimited km warranty, 6 year anticorrosion warranty and 3 years Volkswagen Assist membership for extra peace of mind

Both look like nice truck id be happy with either, just dont like the amount of coin they cost, i agree with the observation on Isuzu engines except for the one thats in my Jackaroo, the 4jx1 3litre diesel, technology bought from caterpiller by isuzu, sold by holden, huge fuel injector problems that none of them really wanted to know about, guys that had injectors replaced in recalls have had them fail within 10K again. I think the common rail technology is pretty sorted now.

Wading depth - 500mm

Are these engines running a DPF (diesel particulate filter) we are having a few issues with these on some of the isuzu trucks at work.

I've found it worthwhile and a little frightening getting on the dedicated 4wd forums. I was going to buy a triton until I read of their problems so I went with a Hilux, then I read of their problems. Can be scary stuff. The six speed auto sounds good. A mate just brought a demo collie with 20k on for 33.5 k with lots of extras.

Quote Originally Posted by wags on the water View Post
    Have you considered the Amarok?

Why we are Ute of the Year

• Judged winner of 4x4 Australia’s Ute of the Year 2011 against all major competitors
    • Outstanding off-roading
    • Comfortable car-like driving
    • Brilliant load carrying - whether your tools, dirt bikes, camping gear or your family
    • Great towing capabilities, a tough 2.8 tonnes
    • The only ute in its class to accommodate a pallet between the wheel arches
    • First in its class to be awarded 5-Star ANCAP Safety rating
    • Gross Vehicle Mass of 3,040kg
    • All Amarok have 3 years unlimited km warranty, 6 year anticorrosion warranty and 3 years Volkswagen Assist membership for extra peace of mind
    Nope..... still can't get my head around 2ltr motor. It also runs at about $45k.

What happened in the last couple of years...

The equivelent Colorado I bought cost me $33k,,, now same model is $43 ????? Jumped 10K in 3 years... ?

Volkswagon are now offering 2.8% finance on all commercial vehicles............. ( HP over 48 months )

LP

Quote Originally Posted by Jarrah Jack View Post
    I've found it worthwhile and a little frightening getting on the dedicated 4wd forums. I was going to buy a triton until I read of their problems so I went with a Hilux, then I read of their problems. Can be scary stuff. The six speed auto sounds good. A mate just brought a demo collie with 20k on for 33.5 k with lots of extras.
    Yep,

there are bad cars in all models,,,, lemons every where... built on Friday's or Mondays.,

If I had my time again, I'd go the auto and have cruise control. That may be a consideration for the next truck... 6 speed sounds good.

Funny thing about these " tests " for car of the year etc.......... they only drive for a very limited time. The long term outcomes never get tested. Like the Colorados Indian built leaf springs which flatten out( and shockies ) after 30K...... Holden, " we'll replace these with genuine ones ". what those crappy things again !! no way. Dropped all Aussie made gear under her and STILL as good as the day it went in...... 110k later.

I challenge ANY make or model to stand the test of time..... as a tradie ute. Drive train, yep.......... suspension,,,, that's another story. Seems these vehicles are built for Suburban Drivers or Euro conditions.

Having said that, I am more than happy with the Colli and will keep it. Might look at new vehicle when accountant says so.,

" You bought a Jeep ? "........... strange ad, that one !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

LP

Quote Originally Posted by truth stretcher View Post
    Are these engines running a DPF (diesel particulate filter) we are having a few issues with these on some of the isuzu trucks at work.
    The new isuzu is the same old 4jji from the dmax/colorado model prior. It did not have a dpf.
    The new Colorado - I don't know.
    nil carborundum illegitimi

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post
    No, just thinking. Don't like the idea of going back to 2.8ltrs after having the 3. But I have clicked up 145,000 in 3 years now. doh !

Funny thing is...

I get about 9 -10ltr/100 around town and 10 -11.5 on the highway. What's with that ?

LP
    Phill I have a mate with a collie with a tray on it arse and from memory you have the same, you will get better fuel around town because of the less wind drag from the tray, if you are going to run around with the tray empty pull at least the back tail gate off so the air can flow through the tray and not get cought in it. If I tow a open box trailer with the back tail gate left in I use 2 litres more per 100 klicks. If you have hight sides and can put a cover over the tray to keep all the paint and crap under wraps it will save you heaps in the long run. Brad.

Quote Originally Posted by GBC View Post
    The new isuzu is the same old 4jji from the dmax/colorado model prior. It did not have a dpf.
    The new Colorado - I don't know.
    I know all the trucks with euro 4 run a DPD/DPF I was unsure if this is also the case with the new d-max.
    I'd be pretty sure the new collie has a DPF or the like it seems like the done thing now.

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post

If I had my time again, I'd go the auto and have cruise control. That may be a consideration for the next truck... 6 speed sounds good.

LP
    My 5 speed manual Hilux has after market cruise control and its great, I use it all the time. Worth considering for yours Phill if your keeping it for a while yet. I don't switch it off to change gears, just change quickly.