wello pt boat blockade - Page 4
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: wello pt boat blockade

Ausfish Platinum Member netmaker's Avatar

Re: wello pt boat blockade

Quote Originally Posted by Muddy Toes View Post
    So is Karen Williams getting an invite to the BBQ?
    anthony. i emailed karen this morning suggesting removal of the playground equipment on the south eastern side of the point and building parks for cars there. i also let her know of our plans but if push comes to shove the media will know about it but i will not be informing council in advance for fear of them finding some way to thwart our plans. hence the reason for requesting mobile numbers instead of posting openly on the forum. you haven't sent me yours yet?
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

G'day Dave,

I use Wello regularly both for boating and family gatherings. Its a popular spot, and it can be just as difficult getting a car park or a trailer park at times. I've been frustrated by having to park on the road in, and other times I've seen the trailer parking bare, due to rough conditions, where it doesn't really matter who parks in trailer spaces.

On busy summer days it can be a nightmare. Wello needs more parks for both cars and trailers. I agree with your suggestion of extending the parking to the South East, if you look at the photo below, there is heaps of room here, and the playground could be relocated further south.

Attachment 82629

I reckon if you block cars out you are just going to piss people off. If a family is coming down to the point to celebrate a special occasion and that is ruined by a bunch of redneck boaties, they are going to be very peeved and remember it for a long time. We need to get the public on board, not offside. You may get some publicity, but is it the kind you want. Do we have to worry about our cars getting keyed while we are out fishing. We will gain no support and empathy from the public.

If we have a well organised rally, where we fill the trailer spots first, have a BBQ breaky and rally, before departing in convoy around 10am to take the protest through the streets of the Redlands, with banners and signs on boats. We could spread the message further, get more support and reach more people. Also it will clear the point for families to have their lunchtime gatherings.

No need to make it a private undercover operation, us against them. Make the date public, get it written up in the paper and let people know, I reckon you will get more support, and more empathy, heck you might even get the public involved protesting for the same thing. More parking spaces at Wellington Point!

Just my opinion, take it or leave it, well done for getting something started.

Attached Images Attached Images

Matt what your saying makes sense but there is something else to consider...

150 car spaces is enough for that small area, given an average of 3 per car that's 450 people all wanting there own area on the grass....
    There are many parks within 15min drive with swings and grass for picnics. They don't have boat ramps which we need to be able to enjoy our chosen activity.
    Or have a council bus run from the train station to the point..

Making more parking spots to me sounds crazy, all that is going to do is heighten the problem by bringing more people into a small area ...
    All the council needs to do is make parking in the Boat & Trailer parks a fine able offense if you don't have a trailer on and be down there on weekends and public holidays to write the tickets, this process should happen at all boat ramps. It won't take long for then to stop with an $80 fine each trip.

We all pay Boat and Trailer rego's so we should have designated parking areas at boat ramps for us to use and they should be accessible to us...

Of course this is just my thoughts over the problem and how I see a simple fix.

This issue was always going to get a divided opinion and rightfully so, we all see things differently.

Matt.
    You put up a very intelligent and thought out opinion and I agree with a lot of what you had to say, you made a lot of sense and I don't really want to piss a heap of innocent families off, however I also have to agree with Fishfeeder in that we don't need more people on the point on the good days as this I believe will only exacerbate the problem. The crutch of the issue is that it needs to be policed again so that people get the message.

BINGO

Fair enough, it'd be good to see parking fines introduced, well signed and policed.

The times I've had to park back up on the main road, I didn't notice cars in trailer parks, they were all full with boat trailers. There aren't enough parks in the joint to cope with busy weekends for both boaties and cars.

hi matt. i agree, a very well thought out post. i too, dont really wish to upset innocent day trippers. this is really to make council consider their options before releasing any kind of proposal that will be detrimental to us boaties, to let them know that we may actually be cohesive enough to upset the apple cart. i have no problems amending original proposals and welcome all input. thanks for yours. i'm all up for voting on a course of action before any is taken.

Agreed Davo

Ausfish Platinum Member honda900's Avatar

I think Matts Idea is a good one, we get in, make our point, leave them to it, as we want the public onside. One other thing I might add, "you are welcome to bring your kids over for a look at the boats" (not on the water but in the car park) encourage a bit of support. Definately ring a few radio and Tv stations, you never know it might be a slow day..

"please respect our right to park our boat trailers as we have limited facilities"

HOnda.

Nice touch Honda, great idea.

BINGO

29072012 017.jpg29072012 016.jpg29072012 015.jpg29072012 012.jpg29072012 011.jpg29072012 010.jpg29072012 009.jpg..

29072012 008.jpg

wello pt at 12.30 today. every trailer bay taken, one boatie parked on the median strip. last pic is 6 cars parked in the rigging bay, not one spot left for a bloke to rig up. passed two boaties heading down the point on my way back. buggered if i know where they will park, let alone rig up. canned my arvo fishing plans - rude, ignorant, selfish pricks - nicest thing i can say.

Great shots Davo, Absolutly shows the bloody ignorance of these people and I don't believe anyone on this or any other forum can defend the actions of these people, this is a great example Davo.

BINGO

emailed the pics to cleveland police and to the mayor. surely they cant see this as acceptable?

also rang the police and complained and was told a car would be sent down. hopefully they upset a few of those muppets.

Well done netmaker stick it to them mate, if the cops sent a car down there they would have there xmas party paid for in no time.

I dont use the Wello point ramp (or should I say I havent I may one day) however if I am not at work on the day of the blockade I'll certainly bring the boat down to help out.
    Cheers Axl

Thumbs down Re: wello pt boat blockade

I live in the redlands but unfortunately work away as a. FIFO worker so not home all the time am currently away but E mail my my local councillor over 2 weeks ago about this reply got back from councillor said there was "No petition for more car parks there & they actually have put more boat trailer parks in over the years "
    "YEAH RIGHT NOT "
    Mitch
    In life, start off wrong and you'll finish wrong. Put just one skeleton in the closet and you'll have to put another one in to hide the first, and so it goes.
    But start off right and you'll finish right. There's no comeback when you stick to the truth - and no skeletons!